We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasteful and light lunch”
Review of Hoku

Hoku
Ranked #76 of 1,534 Restaurants in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: HOKU is a casual restaurant located in the Helsinki Kamppi district started by Ryan Shibuya. Ryan was born and raised in Hawaii and wanted to share some of the great foods from back home. Nothing fancy, just good food in a casual environment.
Espoo, Southern Finland, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
296 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Tasteful and light lunch”
Reviewed August 21, 2014

For quick and light tasteful lunch at Helsinki, Hoku is highly recommended. Place is small, so lucky to get a table during the lunch hours. Selected Salmon Teriyaki, which was brought to the table within ten minutes from order. Very tasteful and excellent crips structure, lovely spices.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jari-Pekka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    63
    15
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Rather ordinary Japanese”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

This is a unprepossessing neighbourhood restaurant that we would have loved to adore, given the fabulous reviews. But we found it merely adequate. The edamame were fine, with a bit of chile, but not outstanding. The pork belly was tender and flavoursome, with added cabbage that hardly seemed like kimchee. The gyoza my husband ordered could have been had at any number of Asian restaurants, and his salmon also merely average. It is good value for money, however--nothing wrong with the place, just not up to the hype. Or did we simply come on an off-night?

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LondonDeece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cham, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“For those who want more than the usual sushi ...”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Hoku is an excellent small Japanese restaurant in the design district of Helsinki. The restaurant menu is refreshing and unusual (e.g., beef neck and pork belly were on offer when we visited) with great flavor. For those looking for the normal and boring sushi experience, pleasure will be found elsewhere in Helsinki - it has plenty of sushi restaurants! The wine list although restricted was adequate - we had an good Austria white, which went well with the flavors of the starters and main courses. Service was efficient and pleasant. A Yamazaki 12-year old finished off a memorable experience.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good food with affordable price”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We were four people eating there. Luckily we had made the table reservation earlier because there was a lot of people coming in and otherwise the place would have been full.

We ate salmon teriyaki, chicken katsu and seafood&lup cheong stuffed kuha. Food was excellent and there was plenty of it.

I recommend this place if you want to eat good food but you have to make a table reservation in advance

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Purrepur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Finland, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Amazing flavours”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Hoku was recommended by a friend and did not disappoint.

I had booked a table a few days in advance for an early dinner with a friend and received prompt confirmation of it. On arriving to the restaurant it is in fact very small, but wasn't too crowded on Wednesday afternoon so that wasn't an issue.

We ordered Emame to start with and it was amazing. It's hard to imagine a dish this simple being so excellent but we really loved it. The little hit of chili was amazing.

My main course was the braised beef neck with ginger pesto and it was divine. The beef was very tender, the ginger pesto being the perfect accompliment to it. Especially impressive as it was a big dish and hearty one without being too sturdy.

My friend had the famed teriyaki salmon which she thoroughly enjoyed. I tried it but preferred my own dish, whereas she preferred hers so it's a matter of taste. Both were delicious.

Service was great and attentive. The wine was good and they had a good, small selection.

It rates well in Helsinki for serving quality food, having a unique and somewhat trendy niche and not having a waiting list of several weeks. I will most definitely dine at Hoku again and am happy to have discovered it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank theredone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hoku also viewed

Helsinki, Uusimaa
Helsinki, Uusimaa
 
Helsinki, Uusimaa
Helsinki, Uusimaa
 

Been to Hoku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing