We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good food in a small room” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hoku

Hoku
Ranked #44 of 1,453 Restaurants in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: HOKU is a casual restaurant located in the Helsinki Kamppi district started by Ryan Shibuya. Ryan was born and raised in Hawaii and wanted to share some of the great foods from back home. Nothing fancy, just good food in a casual environment.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
271 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“good food in a small room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

We booked a table here because of the great reviews at TA. First of all, the restaurant is really small, which has a impact on the atmosphere. We were seated in the middle of the room. It was a bit noisy to sit there when the surrounding tables were occupied with guests. On the other hand we were very pleased with the food. We had seafood for starters and main course and both were very good. Overall, I was left with the feeling that the place is a bit overhyped though.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Henrik M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    55
    13
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“High-quality offerings at an affordable price!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

I ate here twice in as many days and was blown away both times. The braised pork belly and the salmon were spot on. I am a potato salad snob and their version was one of the best I've ever had. Only wish I was longer in Helsinki to enjoy some of their other offerings. Service is solid, although it was a bit slow and inattentive late in the evening the second day I was there. Very few tables so make a reservation or get take-away.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nijlpaard68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Exquisite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

When most of the better restaurants seem to be taking the day off on Mondays, Hoku was open and with excellent food! Trying to get away from the trite offering at the airport hotel; I took a 50 minute bus-tram trip to the center to go to this restaurant. And my trip was not for nothing. The fresh salmon and whitefish tartar and the braised beef neck were both very well-prepared and tasty. I would recommend this restaurant without any reservations. Menu can be found online at: www.hoku.fi

Helpful?
1 Thank AGoktan
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
157 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Oxtail Adobo! That's All I Have to Say.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

One of the hidden gem in Finland and away from the tourist spot. This little restaurant offers a Pacific Rim cuisine that rivals any good restaurants in Hawai'i.
It is highly recommended to make a reservation if you want to dine here since it has a limited sitting. The service is far better than other restaurants that I been around Helsinki. The price is fairly reasonable and the portion is just right. You will never leave hungry if you try this restaurant.

One highly recommended dish is to try the Oxtail Adobo sprinkled with fresh herbs. It has a "broke da mouth" taste that takes me back to the island.

Thanks to Ryan for taking care of me and my wife. It was a pleasant experience and will definitely come back again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonnhyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Southern Finland, Finland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Best food/service/price ration in Helsinki”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Hoku has always been an enjoyment when it comes to food and service. It's laid back atmosphere invites to return yet again. Pork belly is definitely recommended dish. Make a reservation a to guarantee a seat.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Olli-Pekka P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hoku also viewed

Helsinki, Uusimaa
Helsinki, Uusimaa
 
Helsinki, Uusimaa
Helsinki, Uusimaa
 

Been to Hoku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing