We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finish bath culture in interesting building”

Yrjonkadun Swimming Hall
Ranked #2 of 28 Spas & Wellness in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Facility offers several varieties of sauna and a splendid art deco pool.
Lund
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Finish bath culture in interesting building”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

When travelling to different cities it is interesting to visit local baths and take part in the local tradition. In Istanbul you can try hamam bath, in Helsinki you can visit Yrjonkadun Swimming Hall.
Lucky me, I was there on a Sunday and Sundays are for women only. This setup with different opening hours for men and women creates a calm and relaxed athmosphere.
On upper level there are simple cabins with a resting bed to change in along a gallery with a view of the pool. Here you can sit and relax and order something to eat and drink.
Nudity is a natural part of the whole visit, you swim naked in the 25m pool which is a special feeling, but since some years swimming suits are now allowed. Then you can try different kinds of saunas, electric and wood heated dry ones and steam sauna with eucalyptus sent.
The architecture in 1920th classicism is interesting in itself. The rectangular pillars in two levels ending with a roman vault in a bluegrey stone has a harschness in its beauty which gives me vibes of fascistic architecture,

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Inake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    55
    24
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wooloomooloo
Level 6 Contributor
381 reviews
157 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“A classic.”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

This is an absolute gem of Finnish architecture and culture, and should not be missed. Every visitor to this part of the world should try a sauna anyway, it is such a feature of local life. The swimming is clothes optional (different days for men and women) but no-one minds if you keep your swimsuit on. During my visit most people did. One American reviewer noted that her husband felt there was a distinct gay vibe here and had to beat a hasty retreat; I detected no such vibe myself, and might I suggest this gentleman's discomfort may well say more about him than it does about this beautiful and uniquely Finnish experience.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank dr_iggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A little gift to myself...”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

In my free time in Helsinki i decided to have a little gift to myself... so i searched in Tripadvisor and found this spa. Great service and most of all i visited it cause i am a big fan of swimming. Also i enjoyed the sauna. JUST PERFECT!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimm M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahti, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
273 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Naked swimming”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Historical spa with service into private cabins.
Every other day for males and females.
Different kind of traditional saunas.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank PepiFinland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
471 reviews
202 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Beautifull”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

This is a old spa like public swim hall right in the centre of Helsinki. There is terms for men and women and yes, you can also swim naked. Nice saunas and really well located. Pop in, highly recommed!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank IrmaLiberty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yrjonkadun Swimming Hall also viewed

Helsinki, Uusimaa
Helsinki, Uusimaa
 
Helsinki, Uusimaa
 

Been to Yrjonkadun Swimming Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing