We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional”
Review of G.W. Sundmans - CLOSED

G.W. Sundmans
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
nyc
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This restaurant was exceptional. Had the 5 course meal and everything was of the highest quality. Reminded me of a 5 star in New York City. Very expensive. Liquor is quite expensive in
this country so it adds up. Dinner for 2 with lots of wine = $500!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank maddie924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    15
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Simply fantastic”
Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

I have eaten at the world's most gloryfied gourmet restaurants, hereamong several with 3 michelin stars and top pellegrino places, e.g. noma - twice, el cellar de can roca, alinea, osteria francescana and the fat duck, along with a myriad of other more or less famous gourmet restaurants.. Unfortunately often with great disappointment.

My companion and I arrived at this restaurant rather coincidentially, but we immediately felt the story and special history of the house, old and rustic, glamorous, yet cozy. Beautiful view of the harbor, candle lights, and jazz in the background. Waiters were extremely friendly and helpful, they accomodated all our wishes, and quickly one appetizer more tasty than the other began arriving, as well as amazing bread. When our starter arrived, i was almost paralyzed - the taste was out of this world. The wine was amazing, and a perfect match. The following dishes were just as tasty, creative, full of textures, temperatures, taste of small ingredients, all cooked to perfection and beautifully decorated, yet hot, and served by the Chef personally.

I had never expected to find perfection almost matching the greatest dining experience I ever had - at Alinea, Chicago - here. It was truly a tasting experience above all, - something that you have to be very lucky to find. Only thing was that there was a bit cold in the restaurant, however, I sincerely reccomend it, its worth every cent.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Casper S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Southern Finland, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
275 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Memorable October Signature Menu”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This is one of the few places in Helsinki, where steward will take your overcoat and remembers eactly which is yours without giving you any token. Warmly welcomed with the option to take aperitif in the bar or go straight to your table, which was our selection after finishing one Champage prior the arrival.

One kitchen welcome was waiting at the table, three, four to follow. We took the easy road by selecting the 7 course Menu Signature a ala executive chef Matti Jämsen together with pre-selected matching wines. Even the restaurant has just won some awards on their wine menu presented by electronic tablet, we choose to let the personell to take care of this part. By choosing the pre-selected wine menu, we were never presented this electronic wine menu.

Bread and various butter were tastefull and excellent, though the "re-fill" was not automatic and we needed to ask for more. This was also true for water glasses couple of times during the long evening. To reach or keep some Stars, you would think these things are expected to happen quite automatically.

First course was beetroot & goat cheese with Gamay from Beaujolais. Second and third courses were both with scallop, other with cucumber the other with truffles matched with Riesling from Rheingau and Sancerre SB. Next course was smoky lamb and vendace roe served with Italian Gewurstraminer; this course was quite appealing also to your sense of smell. First warm dish was turbot and pea and the glass was filled with Italian Greco di Tufo. Meat course was nice, very tastefull beef and sweetbread matched with 2003 AOC Haute-Médoc. Before desserts, there was one small plate to prepare your mouth towards the sweets. First was rowanberry and bitter choco and second lingonberry and apple where the lingon milk was poured at the table. Sweets were served with liquoreux AOC Monbazillac.

Some of the latter courses were partly prepared at the table and presented by the sous-chef. Each wine was shortly presented at the time of pouring, although not every member of our party did not hear those presentations loud and clear.

As we had some additional plans, we did not finish the dinner with coffees and avecs. At the time of settling the bill, we were given the menu of courses eaten. Also the list of wines was printedafter requesting separately such a document.

Overall, I think G.W.Sundsman is making good progress. With just some extra focus on the service, also this part of the experience would get full points.

Sincere thanks for the G.W.Sundsman team.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jari-Pekka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finlande
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A nice gourmet surprise”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I went here with my colleagues and since we didn't quite know what to expect we were first surprised that there wasn't a typical menu to choose from. However, we made our choises based on what the Majeur d'homme proposed, and then followed a cavalcade of tiny but delicious amuse-bouches, tasty first courses, fabulously beautiful maincourses, in-between-courses and finally the dessert. Everything was really good! The service was impeccable - we had 3 people waiting on the 3 of us, and that felt exceptional. We chose our wine from an iPad - a first for us - and were not dissapointed. Also the choise of Grappa was quite impressing. All and all it was a very good experience, but I'm glad that I didn't have to pick up the bill. My boss who prefers more down-to-earth kind of restaurants didn't enjoy it as much, but then again this is the kind of restaurant that I would probably just visit a few times as a total, or then only for really special occations.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Juliina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Living in past glory”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Last night was my second or third visit to the famous GW Sundmans....the fact I cannot remember was it second or third visit tells you something.
The restaurant has a fantastic location and the interior decor has an old world charm. The conceirge is very good. We had reserved the place for a business dinner for 10..! As soon as we were seated, the downhill journey started...the waiter insisted on speaking in Finnish although the reservation was clearly not made in the name of a Finn...Restuarants of this kind, you'd expect the waiters to know the menu and a smattering of french; ours insisted on serving us Fooey Grass( foie gras)..neither did he combine the wines well.
The food was very average and quantities were really meant to be picked on..:-) The bill was the final nail in the coffin....outrageous !

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cic92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed G.W. Sundmans also viewed

Helsinki, Uusimaa
Helsinki, Uusimaa
 
Helsinki, Uusimaa
Helsinki, Uusimaa
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing