We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting place”

Sibelius Park & Monument
Book In Advance
More Info
$288.15*
and up
Half-Day Helsinki City Sightseeing Tour by Minivan
Ranked #21 of 278 things to do in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Interesting place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

This monument was built in the 1960s, following the death of Danish composer Jean Sibelius.
It is shaped like many vertical organ pipes, and is a beautiful modern sculpture,set in a peaceful parkland setting, near a lake.
There is also a sculpted head of Sibelius behind the monument.
A cultural must-see for Helsinki, in a lovely place.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank paulinehall33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    275
    372
    187
    34
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice park and Monument”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stopped by here as part of the hop on-hop off tour we were on. As it was one of the 10 or places the bus stopped along the way we decided to go see the monument. The park was nice and it was a pleasant walk to the monument. The monument was worth going to see if, for no other reason than to see what the fuss was about. There were a lot of people trying to get pictures of the monument which made the experience slightly annoying but we were patient and got some decent photos of the kids with the monument. Overall it was worth the hour or so we spent there walking around the park and along the shore. I think the high point of the visit from the kids point of view was getting ice cream from the truck parked near the monument.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
713 reviews
400 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 369 helpful votes
“Urban Park with Impressive Monument”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

An urban park with an impressive stainless steel monument with 600 steel pipes and not much else. We walked there along the waterway which was nice then into the park. If you are going to take a picture and don't want a 1,000 people in the photo then your photo will have to be of the top half of the monument. Again impressive monument to the great Finnish composer but not much else.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mi-Dan20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
797 reviews
513 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 395 helpful votes
“An interesting sculpture”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

As noted in the other reviews, it is an interesting monument to a well known Finn. It is a longish walk from the Rock Church (or a couple of stops on the bus) so it is worth the time to take a look while in the area. The tourist buses disgorge the groups of Chinese/Japanese/Americans who mass together for a photograph and then back on the bus for the next place - without taking the time to admire the sculpture and the monument to the man. The park that surrounds the monument needs some work, but it is relaxing surroundings nonetheless.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank AntarcticBound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turi, Estonia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful monument”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Just as I read from the other reviews, the monument is pretty much what you can see on the photos. It is beautiful and unique but that is it. I don`t know it going there specially to see it is worth the while but if happening to have some extra time and walking by the shore and getting there then why not take a closer look.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lumeingel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sibelius Park & Monument also viewed

 

Been to Sibelius Park & Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing