We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great spot to relax”

Sibelius Park & Monument
Book In Advance
More Info
$104.41*
and up
Shore Excursion: Panoramic Helsinki and Seurasaari Open-Air Museum
More Info
$59.32*
and up
Shore Excursion: Helsinki Panoramic Sightseeing Tour
More Info
$308.48*
and up
Half-Day Helsinki City Sightseeing Tour by Minivan
Ranked #21 of 284 things to do in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A great spot to relax”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

A short tram ride from the centre of Helsinki you'll find Sibelius park and monument, it's a quiet oasis of calm over looking the sea. It was deserted when we arrived, but soon we were joined by a coach trip who spent a few minutes at the monument before boarding their bus and heading off. The next visitors were a school party who had used the park for their lunch stop and once again didn't linger long. Overall we spent an hour or so there enjoying the sunshine,watching the birds and the boats out in the national, and mostly we did have the place to ourselves. The monument is interesting although not too sure about the face (which by all accounts was an after thought).Overall a great way to while away an hour or so.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nowthensister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

972 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    305
    415
    205
    39
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

You can't go to Helsinki and miss this. The area is just lovely, right by the sea, the monument is amazing - make sure to get a close look! And Cafe Regatta close by is the loveliest cafe I have ever been to (I've been four times and everyone I've taken there loves it) You must try their cinnamon buns!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lumienkeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Southern Finland, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best picnic spot in Helsinki”
Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

We planned for picnic in Seurasaari, went there stayed some time but decided to go back for picnic to Sibelius park. Nice place to sit and be amazed by Sibelius monument.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Impressive monument”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

The steel pipes form an impressive sculpture mounted atop a rock base. The additional metal sculpture of Sibelius' face complements it nicely. The entire monument is in a wooded park like area. It would be a nice place for a picnic on a nice spring or summer day. One of the nicer sights in Helsinki.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“GLOBUS NORTHERN CAPITALS TOUR MEMBERS. Beware. We just completed this tour. This will be n shown to you after you disembark f”
Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

We had just finished an 8 hour overnight ferry ride. And a long bus ride in to Helsinki. And had to start our guided tour right away with our local guide.
By 2 pm we finally reached this portion of the tour.
We had not eaten, or had a break by this
So exhausted we couldn't appreciate what the artist was attempting.
This was a quick picture stop.
Nice to be briefly in a park. After so many days in a city.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Riorouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sibelius Park & Monument also viewed

 

Been to Sibelius Park & Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing