We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of very informative displays”

National Museum of Finland
Book In Advance
More Info
$52.39*
and up
Helsinki Card
Ranked #23 of 283 things to do in Helsinki
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: National Museum illustrates Finnish history from medieval times to the 19th century. The museum's unique exhibits tells of the life from a period of over 1000 years. Temporary exhibitions on current themes and an interactive exhibition Vintti, where you can experience history by doing yourself.
Riverside, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lots of very informative displays”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We spent a few hours at the National Museum of Finland, learning about the origins of the people and the changes in their daily life. There were items from archaeological digs, clothing and textiles, jewelry, weapons, and lots of other displays.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Debra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    223
    92
    15
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“just what I was looking for”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I spent a nice afternoon by myself exploring the National Museum of Finland. I enjoyed the pre-historical artifacts as well as more modern ones, Since my mother came from Finland, I was particularly interested in anything I could learn. I loved the peasant clothing displays, and other articles used in every day day life by the common people.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank barbaracy247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A good history of Finland”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

This is a great place to visit if you want to understand more about the complex history of Finland, how it's different from other scandinavian countries, and why they Finns have the national personality that they do. It's easy to navigate, but much of the museum is not interactive and some of the displays are a bit wordy.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover, Germany
Level Contributor
141 reviews
86 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Not very well laid out”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

My friend and I didn't like this museum. There was just a massive pile of artifacts and little history. They also barely mentioned the indigenous peoples in a small corner near the end of the museum. They seemed like an after-thought.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank mike100274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
290 reviews
128 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“From Prehistory to Moomins”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

A great sweep of Finnish history, and excellent archive film of Saami people. Wonderful surprises like the eccentric clocks, and the very fine mosaic ceiling with kaalevala myths. And the building itself is part of history with bullet holes in the main doors from the turbulent early years of the 20th Century. Vital for gaining an overview of Finland and its developments.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Helen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Museum of Finland also viewed

 

Been to National Museum of Finland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing