We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great with kids!”

National Museum of Finland
Book In Advance
More Info
$52.48*
and up
Helsinki Card
Ranked #23 of 279 things to do in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: National Museum illustrates Finnish history from medieval times to the 19th century. The museum's unique exhibits tells of the life from a period of over 1000 years. Temporary exhibitions on current themes and an interactive exhibition Vintti, where you can experience history by doing yourself.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great with kids!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

If your kids are bored with museums, take them to another museum! This museum has the top floor, "Vintti" made for kids. They can try to work in a factory, see what it is like in a old school or try to weave a rag rug with looms. Very Finnish, very home-made, but fun.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Terhikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    219
    89
    15
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“History lesson in real historic building”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

In case you are interested how Finns are and where they came from this is your place.
As a local this is always nice place to go as the collections are in constant update and fill follow you to the ones childhood.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank PariS67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fascinating insight into Finnish history”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Displays were excellent ... although a couple of video clips were lacking English translations. Learnt so much about Finland from the visit!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank keelawee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

Despite relatively short history of Finland, the museum vividly displays the lifestyle of the modern day Finland. I like the videos and the items of Finns' daily life in different times. Worth a visit.

Helpful?
Thank Harryip
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
544 reviews
210 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“Great Surprise! Well Worth the Visit”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We stumbled onto the museum while looking for the Rock Church and I'm very glad we did. For 8 euros, this was almost three hours well spent. I especially liked the prehistoric and early history section that talked about the basis of Finnish culture. The displays are all up to date and in four languages (Finnish, Swedish, English, and Russian). Probably my favorite indoor part of our visit to Helsinki in December.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SCalCanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to National Museum of Finland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing