We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An oasis in Helsinki” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Botanical Gardens

Botanical Gardens
Ranked #81 of 277 things to do in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“An oasis in Helsinki”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

We discovered the gardens whilst walking- they are very close to city apartments. My young children loved exploring in there, and saw a "real" bumblebee ( in Australia they are not fat and furry)! The giant Lilly pads are amazing. June was a great time to see everything at its best.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank blueeyez26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    20
    9
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kangasala, Finland
Level Contributor
150 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Next time with a little more time...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

I had just a quick visit there, while having a business trip to Helsinki and having 10 minutes extra time before the train left. This is very near the main railway station. There was also some kind of renovation of the garden going on, so it wasn´t on its best view at the moment. But still impressed me, since I am a kind of a "gardenholic". I should visit this one on the spring with at least 1,5 hours time!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MarikaR73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turi, Estonia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Plan when to visit.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

We had extra time while visiting Helskinki so we thought to see the Botanical Gardens as well as it is free (outside garden that is, going to the greenhouse needs a ticket). I understand if going there at a better time, perhaps early summer there is a bit more to see, flowers and such. But we visited in August, on a very rainy day.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lumeingel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“An Oasis”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Within the city and easy walking from the main sea front (the open air market area) the gardens are free and extensive. The large greenhouses were closed during our visit but still a tranquil and interesting visit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank MalvernMoneyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hidden but close by!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

All the locals know about the Botanic Garden of Helsinki but not so many tourists find their way there. The garden is discreet - that's part of its charm - but at the same time it's at only 10 minutes' walking distance from the railway station or Market Place / Senate Square. The garden is Finland's oldest botanical garden and consists of a handsome main building, greenhouses and an outdoor garden, which is splendid during the growing season. You can stroll around, study the plants, sit down on one of the many benches, read a book, relax, reflect. An equally pleasant experience is Café Viola, located at the edge of the garden.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Lilema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Botanical Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Botanical Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing