We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food & Service”
Review of Kolo Restaurant - CLOSED

Kolo Restaurant
Cuisines: European, Mediterranean
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent Food & Service”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Such a lovely little cozy place with wonderful food and the best service I've probably ever experienced. From the moment we walked in we were welcomed by Chef Rony himself who read us the menu in English and catered the dishes to our taste. I can't say enough about the service he and his staff provided. Rony's passion for his food and what he does is quite obvious as he entertained us throughout our meal telling us about the food, the ingredients, and even giving us tips about the city. And the food was heaven. It's not the cheapest place, but well worth the splurge.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lattestone77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    5
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Food disappointed”
Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Our expectations were high. We visited the restaurant earlier and thought it was the best in Helsinki. This time the ambience and the service was tops, but the food was not up to the usual standard. Our grilled tuna starter was very salt and my wifes main course - a grilled white fish was under cooked. However, the desert was very good. The under cooked fish was deducted from the bill. Wine is now served by the glass to complement the food. Very fine, but the bill gets out of control.
Rony, shape up!

Helpful?
1 Thank Torben V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful dinner”
Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

Checking out their website I expected a reasonable good restaurant, but already the first amuse-bouche was a delicious heart opening experience and a wonderful overture to a delicious evening that made me dream. The starter and the main course were wonderfully rich in tastes and each ingredient perfectly prepared to get the best of their taste, for my capacities the overall composition was a little too complex though: each bite a new combination of tastes. In between each course came a simple and tasteful amuse-bouche to balance these complexities. And then a dessert that reflected the finesse, the inventive richness and tastefulness of all that had come first.
Looking forward to repeat this experience.

Helpful?
Thank Pierre S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful restauarant”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Went there for a business dinner and i can't say enough about the great service and the great food they have there. This place is also ideal if you search for vegetarian food as it has a LOT of options to choose!!! Really value for money!!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellis_Martha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
104 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“An intimate experience”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our birthdays here (again) and we were (again) pampered by the host Rony by his attentiveness as well as the delightful food and wines:

1. main course: tender moose
2. wine: exquisite dessert wine

Note: I would have continued raving about this restaurant if not for my husband's insistence that I should stop. So, it is best for you to experience it yourself.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JCPY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kolo Restaurant also viewed

 
Helsinki, Uusimaa
Helsinki, Uusimaa
 
Helsinki, Uusimaa
Helsinki, Uusimaa
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing