We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Refurb in progress” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scandic Park Helsinki

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Scandic Park Helsinki
Ranked #25 of 63 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Refurb in progress”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

We only stayed here for one night as were just on an overnight trip to Helsinki. As it is under renovation at the moment expect obviously some disruptions, but to be honest it didn't impact too much. No car park available was our main issue but parked close by instead.
Rooms are slightly outdated but still clean and public areas are decent and appear to be well maintained. Definitely more re-assuring on the inside than at the outside at the moment :-)
Top floor pool and sauna area are good, great view over helsinki from the sauna itself is nice and relaxing. Pool is cold though (refreshing!).
We found beds bit soft for us, but room was big enough (we had extra bed). Room was a little warm but that's nit-picking :-) Shower was pretty good.
Overall staff were pretty welcoming and friendly, not easiest to find in Finland :-) Felt welcome there.
We ate in the restaurant for the evening, wanted to try one or two of the places around the back of the hotel but with our bundle of joy with us hotel was easier. Service was friendly, a little slow but welcoming and there were efforts being made with some nice ideas (getting the kids to mix up the salads for you and an interesting chocolate trifle, for example). Food was ok, presentation was good and ingrediants are fresh and good quality, but overall flavours\taste was lacking a little something. But still felt like healthy and decent offering. Nice kids play area as well.
They respected earth hour in the hotel, dimming all lights and putting out candles, and you can see there's good eco side of the hotel overall.
Value for money for us was decent. Would stay again for a one nighter definitely, would go back to see the refurb too. Pictures looked decent at least. Would give this 3 and half stars if possible rather than 3.

Room Tip: Rooms at front hotel have nice view, especially high up but do get limited noise from the main road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Conor L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    739
    317
    93
    29
See reviews for
419
364
144
471
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

stayed here for 4 nights on a work trip. While it looks like the restaurant and reception area has had a refurb, the room I stayed in definately hadn't! It was very dated,seventies decor, with a tiny tv inside a huge tv cabinet. The bathroom had no proper shower just a tap attachment which could be moved to above the bath.There was also no safe in the room, which I think is a definate must in a Hotel room. The room which had been booked was a single, and the bed was actually very comfortable. With the weather being so bad, we ate in the Hotel every night and I must say,the food was very good, altho the service not 100%. The breakfast selection was also very good, even offering wheat/gluten free options.The Hotel was about 15min walk to the Kamppi metro station and there was a Crowne Plaza next door whose restaurants could be used.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank LexieLou_No9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

This hotel has been renewed and the new rooms are nice, clean and comfortable, too.
A good point for the the sauna in the hotel with nice views to the city.
Breakfast is as in all other Scandic hotels and it is really good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank piotr365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siikajoki, Finland
Level Contributor
129 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Hotel is now under renovation so hopefully after few months they have nice new rooms. Old rooms were not in best shape. They also have sauna and swimming pool. Restaurant downstairs is good but bit high prices. Breakfast is exactly the same as all other Scandic hotels. Good enough but nothing fancy in Finnish standards. There is nice park opposite of hotel. Easy to wald downtown (10 .. 15min) or you can use tram/bus.

Room Tip: Do not take room facing Mannerheimintie.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank plfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kotka, Finland
Level Contributor
88 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

I think I've heard this hotel is one of the biggest in Scandinavia. And it has served us for four decades now. I hope some bigger renovation is about to begin soon!

Our superior room had lot of space, it had nice decoration and it was clean. Some kind of international style with it's marble bathroom etc.

But common areas, room corridors, toilets etc. are in poor condition and in great need of renovation.

Brekfast is crowded and the restaurant is not very clean or welcoming when I felt like there's too many waiters missing.

Personnel at the front desk weren't very friendly either.

But the location of this hotel is great and price among the other hotels in Helsinki is quite reasonable so I will come again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Antti P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oulu, Finland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Scandic Continental was once the best hotel in Finland when it was operating under the name Hotel Inter-Continental Helsinki. Hotel was originally opened in 1972, and the exterior sport the typical concrete slab style of those days. I believe the interior has been updated a couple of times, but it is already a bit worn on the edges. Also the lobby and other premises (ballrooms etc.) on the ground floor seem too big for their present-day use.
The rooms are very 80's style, so they could be refurbished - at least the wall-to-wall carpets should be get rid of in the rooms and and general areas. I've stayed in this hotel a number of times and have had many different types of rooms. This time I had an economy single room, which was smaller than other rooms I've had, but perfectly enough for a single room. It seems that only the Club Ambassador rooms have new flat TVs while others have old CRT TV sets.
Hotel is located a few tram stops (lines 4, 7 and 10) or a 10-15 minute walk from the main shopping areas.
Breakfast is as good as in any other Scandic Hotel, a filling buffet with everything you could imagine from cold to hot foods, veggies, fruits, cereals, yoghurt etc.
This is an OK place, but the newer Scandics are, in my opinion, better (although they have slightly smaller rooms), but would not hesitate to stay here again when I have business in the tjat area of central Helsinki or the price is better than in other hotels (as it was this time around!).

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Mannerheimintie street and Töölönlahti bay have excellent views, especially from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zam72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tartu, Estonia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Room was clean and comfortable. Hotel offered complimentary internet. I liked the sauna in the hotel which had nice views to the city. I would recommend to join Scandic frequent quest programme to get more benefits in the hotel. I got complimentary voucher for food and drinks.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RST50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Scandic Paasi
#9 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
Vironniemi
Scandic Grand Marina
Scandic Grand Marina
#19 of 63 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Helsinki Strand
#5 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Scandic Marski
Scandic Marski
#30 of 63 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
Vironniemi
Hotel Katajanokka
Hotel Katajanokka
#8 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Park Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Park Helsinki

Property: Scandic Park Helsinki
Address: Mannerheimintie 46, Helsinki 00260, Finland (Formerly Scandic Hotel Continental Helsinki)
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 63 Hotels in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Park Helsinki 4*
Number of rooms: 523
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel is situated only a short walk from Helsinki city center and popular sights. Facilities include lobby area and hotel rooms, a restaurant, gym, sauna, indoor pool and excellent conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Scandic Park Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing