We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotelli Finn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotelli Finn
Ranked #21 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Spent two nights here and it's perfectly located for a stay in Helsinki. Only a 5/10 minute walk from the railway and bus stations, and you have plenty of shops, bars and restaurants right on it's doorstep! The Stockmann shopping centre is just across the road, along with Helsinki's Hard Rock Cafe. It's a pleasant 10 minute walk via the esplanade to the harbour where there is a market square/hall and a lot of ferry trips. There's a rock bar (Base) directly downstairs but I thought this was quite expensive, we paid just over €12 for a bottle of Sol and a half-pint of cider! Despite being so close to the heart of the city, I didn't find the hotel to be noisy at all. The only noise I experienced was some strange morning singing lessons or karaoke, seemingly from across the building!
The staff were lovely and helpful (and spoke fluent English), and there is a little station by reception that offers 24 hour tea and coffee along with a reasonably priced snack vending machine. The room was perhaps a bit small with no wardrobe space, but it was clean and modern with television and free (fast) Wifi. The location and value for money more than makes up for that tiny complaint anyway! I'd definitely stay again.

Room Tip: I stayed on the 5th floor, #513 I believe, and had minimal noise disruption. However our room was fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Duran J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    255
    112
    24
    7
See reviews for
57
150
118
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
104 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

As the sign says at the desk this is not a five star hotel but it is a very good little two star with an incredibly central location in the heart of Helsinki. It is close to the railways station and a quick tram ride to the ferry terminals and walking distance to all the sights in town. Great help from the front desk staff for things I wanted help with in the city.

Room Tip: Get a room in a corner to get cross ventilation. You will have to ask them for a key to open the wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westgate-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Spend a week in May in HotelliFinn, lovely little hotel, friendly, helpful and reassuring staff. The rooms are simple but perfect for a budget hotel. Lovely sized rooms, comfy beds and the bathroom although small is perfect for what you need to do, the showers are lovely. 24 hour tea is worth it :D and there is a vending machine in the reception for late night snacks. Would definitely use this hotel again, the location is AMAZING and the overall experience for a first time in Helsinki was wonderful.

Room Tip: The doors are soundproofed and the hotel is lovely and quiet whatever room you are in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linzy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

Good location, in the city center. As a guest you can have a breakfast in a coffee bar in the corner (Kinna) for 6€. Rooms are small and the receptionists were nice. Only one thing, the cleaning service. They practically didn't clean the room, only bedding and changed the towels

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Baelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

We stayed a night at Hotelli Finn at the end of April. The rooms are not huge but big enough. There is a lack of hooks and places to put backs. The decor is quite nice and the bathroom is a good size and is a 'wet' room like a lot of the bathrooms in Scandinavia.
It's only about 600 metres from the central station.
We also took advantage of the breakfast in the restaurant next door. It was delicious and excellent value for 6 euros.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PRAust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lauriker, Guest Relations Manager at Hotelli Finn, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear PRAust,

Thank you for your feedback - especially about the lack of hooks, we'll fix that!

You're warmly welcome again if you come back to Helsinki!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Hotel Finn occupies the 5th and 6th floor of the building. You use your keycard to open the downstairs door and also to open the upstairs door in the evening (when the reception is closed).
Decoration is modern and pleasant. The room (twin beds) was tiny. It was probably the smallest room I ve ever stayed in. There was no rack or bench to put luggage on to. We had to keep them on the floor, and then open them on top of the bed in order to get stuff.
TV was large and wall-mounted. Bathroom was tiny as well but with nice fittings. It does not have a shower base, so everything gets wet when you have a shower.
We had a view of the towering hotel torni right in front of us, which was nice I suppose.
Room was clean and looked modern, albeit really really tiny!

The location is ideal. Its a short walk to the esplanades. There are also many bars in the area.
Helsinki is a very expensive city. At 90 euros per night for a twin room, Hotel Finn was a relative bargain compared to what else was available.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Evan76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lauriker, Guest Relations Manager at Hotelli Finn, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Evan76,
Thank you for your review!

We agree that our rooms are a bit variable in size, as the building is an old one. We’ll soon divide our M (twin) rooms into two different categories, so that it will be easier for our guest to choose between a bit smaller and a bit more spacious twin rooms!

Best regards,
Lauri
Hotel Finn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

I stayed in Hotel Finn over April for two nights. It was a very nice and cheap hotel.

Customer Service: Lovely, very helpful, great skills of English, professional members of staff

Location: The best one, just 2 mins from the central train and bus station (very helpful for me, as a tourist

Room: Spacious, well-decorated, tidy, clean. No noise as the room was located on the 5th floor and I enjoyed some good sleep!

I am very happy with everything I had there :) Great work guys, keep it up!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gogoc389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Hotel Helka
#13 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 908 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Scandic Simonkentta
Scandic Simonkentta
#18 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 1,234 reviews
Vironniemi
Hellsten Helsinki Senate
Hellsten Helsinki Senate
#32 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampinmalmi
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
#14 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 815 reviews
Hotel Rivoli Jardin
#26 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 310 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Scandic Marski
Scandic Marski
#28 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotelli Finn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotelli Finn

Property: Hotelli Finn
Address: Kalevankatu 3 B, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Helsinki
#19 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#20 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#25 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotelli Finn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotelli Finn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotelli Finn Helsinki
Hotelli Finn Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing