We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at Finn Hotel”
Review of Hotelli Finn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotelli Finn
Ranked #20 of 66 Hotels in Helsinki
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Excellent location, spatious and yet cosy rooms, friendly service...yes, I will come back! It is also very nice with cosy family-driven hotel instead of standardized chain hotels. The stay will be more personal. The location is very food because you are very central yet in a quite silent place. Since the hotel is located in the 6th floor, you won't be disturbed by the traffic or restaurants on the streets.

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank Jarna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lauriker, Guest Relations Manager at Hotelli Finn, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

Thank you for your nice review! You're warmly welcome again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (635)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

260 - 266 of 635 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2014

This is a budget hotel so don't expect frills but my room has recently been decorated, the wet room is very modern, the place is secure and everywhere is really clean. The wifi is excellent too, as is the free 'designer' tea in the hotel lobby (6 different flavours of loose tea). The guys on reception though are what makes this place special. They're friendly and nothing is too much trouble, including teaching me Suomi. They also have a breakfast deal with a restaurant a couple of doors away, which is really good value at €6 per person.

The entrance is the main downside as you need to take a small lift (with no inside door) up to the 6th floor. The entrance and lift is very basic and it made me a bit apprehensive until I reached the reception.

All in all, I've been very comfortable here.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

If you are looking for 4-5 star hotel's romantic and luxorious experience then you might not want to stay at Hotel Finn. However, if you are looking for a simple, efficient, cheap and clean place in the heart of Helsinki this is the perfect hotel for you: Helsinki is expensive and Hotel Finn is a pleasant surprise with its superb location 5 minutes away from the railway station, next to Stockmann's department store. Perfect for 1-3 night's stay.

Rooms, beds and showers are small as in Europe in general in low-budget hotels. There are no vending machines or other commodities - hence they manage to keep room prices low. The hotel is located on 5th and 6th floors on a normal apartment building hence it lacks a beautiful entrance - for me these are not important factors in a budget friendly place so I had a great stay! We had a room for two and it was quiet, clean and had everything one needs for short stay. Staff is friendly and helpful, rooms are light, warm, clean and safe.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristiina_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We randomly picked Hotel Finn based on location and price. Nothing is cheap in Helsinki but Hotel Finn provides clean, basic accomodations for a very reasonable price. Our room was spotless, beds comfortable and location allowed for walking everywhere. They offer a deal of 6 euros for a nearby restaurant breakfast buffet that is exceptionally tasty, offering many options for even the pickiest eaters. That price would hardly buy two coffees anywhere else. Fill up for the day and save the cost of lunch

Staff is very friendly and the 24 hour offering of make-it-yourself tea is a very nice touch, and a rare delight in hotels. I rate it excellent for the price--don't expect five star for this price.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank kayaky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Do not expect anything special, but for Helsinki the Hotel Finn is a very good deal. For a good price you get a perfectly located accommodation in a newly renovated building. Rooms are cosy, the staff is friendly (but the reception closes at about 20:00 and after that time there is only a telephone number for emergencies) and tea is available for free for the guests. Weak point: the bathroom, terribly small. But fully furnished, also with some sort of bidet. The hotel has a deal with a neighboring restaurant for the breakfast.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Imissucico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

To my mind, the people that have reviewed this hotel are fixated on its proximity to the center of the city and nothing else. The reviews on this place run the full gamut and while “location, location, location” is the theme relative to buying real estate I expect more when booking a hotel but location is all I received at the Finn.

Momma said “always try to say something nice,” so here goes: The staff was friendly and the Internet superfast. Now that I have heeded Momma’s admonition let me give you the real skinny: If you can get this hotel for seventy-five U.S. Dollars or less and all of the hotels appear overpriced, and you are a dude travelling alone book it, otherwise avoid this place like the bubonic plague.

The entryway is dirty and you should use extreme caution when exiting using this door because you can hurt your fingers very easily. At night all of the smokers from the adjacent bar congregate outside to puff away so when you leave hold your breath. It only gets worse.

I got a single room and the bed was as small as a bed gets. The bedding fit the exact size of the small bed, which is ludicrous. Bring the toiletries you stashed away from the better hotels you have frequented because the mini mouthwash sized bottles of body wash did not cut it. The towels were old, ugly worn and cheap. The shower was ridiculous. They merely installed a pipe that wrapped around the interior of the wall, put a drain in the floor and presto a shower was made. The shower is so close to the toilet that when at rest the curtain touched the toilet. I would definitely treat this shower as a locker room shower and wear shower shoes.

The closet was old, the furniture was old and the couch was ugly and old. There is a flat screen television made by LG that some idiot mounted right next to the window. The window curtains covered ten percent of the television screen notwithstanding the fact that there was plenty of baron wall space. There were not enough wall outlets so there was an extension cord on the floor if you needed to plug in the table lamp. Finally, there was no ice machine, vending or snack machines, I heard dogs barking occasionally, and you will never find thinner walls anywhere.

Ladies, if you husband or boyfriend is on a budget and suggests this hotel skip a couple of happy hours so you can put away a little extra coin and find another place to stay. I have no idea what some of these other reviewers saw but take it from the Chocoolate one: don’t stay here!

Room Tip: Don't Do It
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CHOCOOLATE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Very good hotel. It is pretty close to the railway station, with free tea for 24 hours. Despite excellent location the price is extremely friendly. I can recommend the hotel to everyone who is not ready to spend a lot of money but who wants to stay in the city centre in a very neat rooms

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maxim449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
Scandic Grand Marina
Scandic Grand Marina
#23 of 66 in Helsinki
2,437 reviews
Vironniemi
Hotel Katajanokka
Hotel Katajanokka
#4 of 66 in Helsinki
1,868 reviews
Hotel Helka
#14 of 66 in Helsinki
1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Scandic Paasi
#9 of 66 in Helsinki
1,375 reviews
Hotel Rantapuisto
#30 of 66 in Helsinki
252 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotelli Finn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotelli Finn

Address: Kalevankatu 3 B, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Helsinki
#19 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#25 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range: $87 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotelli Finn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotelli Finn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotelli Finn Helsinki
Hotelli Finn Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing