We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great room and helpful staff!”
Review of Hotelli Finn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotelli Finn
Ranked #20 of 66 Hotels in Helsinki
Reviewed December 26, 2013

The location is perfect! The staff was always very helpful. And the room was very nice and updated. For a European hotel I thought that the size was great. And above all great price! Will for sure stay there again my next visit to Helsinki! :)

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (634)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

272 - 278 of 634 reviews

Reviewed December 24, 2013

The location could not be better!!! Hotelli Finn is just off of Mannerheiminte, which is a major thoroughfare, that runs through the heart of City Center. It is very easy to navigate from the hotel and staff members are there to assist with questions and help with directions. There are maps and other info in the Lobby as well. A cheap and reliable breakfast can be had next door at the cafe, Killa. The rates are extremely affordable - rooms are simple (no phone in room), small, yet safe, efficient and very clean. The staff is lovely - they really helped to make sure that I was comfortable. All in all, it was an excellent choice for my first stay in the City.

Room Tip: You will definitely want to request a 'quiet room' which will insulate you from the noise of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nataschal67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

I spent one night here and I thought the room was a generous size by European standards and especially for the cost of the room. It was clean and the shower was nice and hot. I arrived early so my room wasn't ready when I got there but they have luggage lockers free of charge. Wifi worked well and the staff on reception were nice. I did wake up a little cold in the middle of the night and put my coat over the blankets (it had been snowing) so it might be nice to have an extra blanket in winter. The location was great, not far from the bus/train station, maybe 10 minute walk if that. It was also good as i came back late after attending the Depeche Mode concert and I felt comfortable walking back by myself. I could hear some music probably from a bar downstairs but it wasn't loud and didn't stop me from sleeping.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
Thank lbiscuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

It was my first trip to Europe and I loved this hotel. The experience begins with an amazing trip up in a tiny lift with no inner door so good fun watching the building zoom past. Reception is tiny but the staff are very helpful and friendly. The room was excellent. Not big but high ceilings and large windows made it seem much bigger. Bright and comfortable so I slept like a log. Small function bathroom. Excellent location in the heart of the city and perfectly placed for buses, trains and just wandering around this lovely city.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room as the huge windows make the small room seem much bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TokyoGeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Location is perfect. It is very close to downtown and next to the shopping mall and department stores. The hotel is alos close to the central station within walking distance. Simple and clean rooms. The reception provides all the assistance and fulfill the request with good attitude.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chattrebox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Front desk staff was super helpful. Room was on the smaller side but I knew that when I made the reservation. Breakfast was not included but I believe they had a 5 euro breakfast deal with a restaurant nearby.

Hotel is 5 ish minutes walk from where the bus/train station. Helsinki is a small city and 2 nights was the perfect amount of time.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bovi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

When I travel, I don't need deluxe accommodations, and if the accommodations aren't deluxe, I don't like paying a deluxe price! Helsinki is a bit notorious for its expensive hotels, so this was quite the find. It's located in the heart of the city's restaurant/club district, which is convenient as can be, but note that you will likely hear some noise from folks enjoying their drinks down below. My room was suprisingly large by European standards, with basic but sufficient furnishings.

The bathroom was the typical practical Finnish setup with a heated floor and all, but it was very small--almost like the head on a sailboat. If you are a larger person, showering may be difficult if all the rooms have the same setup. Be sure to ask before you book!

WiFi couldn't connect in my room, but once I went out to the hallway and connected, it worked fine in the room.

This is a small family hotel, so desk service closes at night. They sent me a message with access codes to get in in case I arrived late.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Nik G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
Scandic Grand Marina
Scandic Grand Marina
#23 of 66 in Helsinki
2,433 reviews
Vironniemi
Hotel Katajanokka
Hotel Katajanokka
#4 of 66 in Helsinki
1,865 reviews
Hotel Helka
#13 of 66 in Helsinki
1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Rantapuisto
#30 of 66 in Helsinki
252 reviews
Scandic Park Helsinki
#25 of 66 in Helsinki
2,004 reviews
Scandic Paasi
#9 of 66 in Helsinki
1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotelli Finn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotelli Finn

Address: Kalevankatu 3 B, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Helsinki
#19 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#20 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#25 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range: $87 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotelli Finn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotelli Finn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotelli Finn Helsinki
Hotelli Finn Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing