We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YES!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Helka

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Helka
Ranked #13 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Helsinki
1 review
“YES!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

I highly recommend this hotel.


I highly recommend this hotel.


I highly recommend this hotel.


I highly recommend this hotel.


I highly recommend this hotel.


I highly recommend this hotel.


I highly recommend this hotel.


  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Petteri E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

970 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    446
    143
    26
    7
See reviews for
97
266
237
184
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
130 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

Very easy to be located, approx. 6 min walk from central station and 2 min walk from Kamppi shopping mall/ bus station. Good services from the staff. Very nice, modern and clean room with comfortable and spacious shower room. Breakfast was good with varieties. Worth the money!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

Bought two nights for my son and his family. I saw the welcoming smiles, felt the friendly atmosphere and enjoyed a wonderful breakfast with them. The room was quiet and clean, the hotel corridors had wallpapers minding of Finnish forest, trees, animals, birds…which my grandchild ( 1,5 years) enjoyed especially! So if anyone wants to stay in the middle of Helsinki, in a quiet and cosy hotel, I warmly recommend Hotel Helka for you! Welcome, Tervetuloa!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leena V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

We recently stayed at Helka for 2 nights with our one year old son, and the hotel gave us a spacious room and arranged the travel cot at a short notice, after I realised that the booking site I had used failed to mention about our need for the travel cot.

The location is central and the hotel is tidy and very reasonably priced.
Breakfast was good and I also enjoyed a lovely morning sauna (use of sauna was included in the room price). Staff were welcoming and helpful.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay and are likely to book another stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marjaberry81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights. Room was very nice and tidy, room and bathroom were cleaned every day. Breakfast is huge, with a variety of cold and warm dishes. Overall a very pleasant stay, highly recommended!

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Julia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

Had to stay one night. Pros: very good location, good wifi connection, very clean, polite staff, good breakfast, really enjoyed the sauna. Cons: the room is quite small, did not really like the bedding - the duvet is to think the pillow is small. However, it is still a very good value for the money I paid. I will definitely consider staying there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexei N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

basic hotel near kamppii. rooms are very small and hotel is far from the main shopping area and esplanadi. the staff is very friendly and helpful. good breakfast.
couldve been better if it was closer to the prime area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isha2512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
Scandic Paasi
#9 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
GLO Hotel Art
#18 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
Klaus K Hotel
#15 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
Vironniemi
Hotel Katajanokka
Hotel Katajanokka
#8 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Helka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Helka

Property: Hotel Helka
Address: Pohjoinen Rautatiekatu 23, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#10 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#11 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#13 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#20 Business Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Helka 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual Elegance inspired by Finnish Design and Nature! Only 250 metres from Kamppi Metro Station, privately owned Hotel Helka offers 150 functional rooms, fine dining and a cozy street bar. All the rooms have design furniture and a strong sense of Finnish nature. All of the rooms have air-cooling system, minibars and flat-screen TVs. Breakfast buffet, use of Sauna and WiFi connection are complimentary for all guests. Hotel Helka is housed in a refurbished 1920s building. The bright rooms feature decor by Artek and other well-known Finnish design brands and designers. Helkan Keittio Restaurant serves Finnish cuisine based on fresh, locally sourced ingredients such as fish, game, mushrooms and berries. Guests can enjoy drinks and snacks in Helka’s trendy Lobby Bar, which also features a cigar room. Helka’s central location provides easy access to shopping, dining and culture. Helsinki Central Station is 10 minute walk away. Welcome to the Heart of Helsinki! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Helka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helka Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing