We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bar area and location of hotel”
Review of Hotel Helka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Helka
Ranked #13 of 65 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Kolding, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great bar area and location of hotel”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Great location. Friendly and efficient staff. Nice lounge-like bar. OK room - small but nicely refurbished. Old hotel with a nice make-up but everything worked fine. Free wifi in room which worked excellently.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,092 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    504
    157
    28
    8
See reviews for
104
295
272
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
auckland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

Hotel ok and breakfast fine... However room service should have been better... Stayed a number of nights and didn't refill coffee and powdered milk... Fridge did not work at all and this was my second room... Original room smelt due to inoperable fridge. No new shampoo and conditioner. All small things but after a long working day couldn't be bothered to say anything after I had already changed room once. Don't think I will stay again. Staff pleasant and helpful enough but just get the feeling of cutting corners...

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank kamus72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

I was spending a weekend with my wife in Helsinki and stayed at Helka Hotel. The location is very good and the service was professional and friendly.
We had a dinner at the hotel and it was excellent as was the Service. (I can recommend the Lady stake also for men, It was rather big and tasty). Also the Bar was cousy and relaxed with a good athmosphere.
The room was clean and silent though the hotel was full. We will definitely come back.
Juhani and Hannele

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Juhani R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Lake, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

I've stayed at Hotelli Helka twice and will return in the future. It's convenient to attractions, shopping, and the railway station. Rooms are comfortable and a good value, simply and traditionally furnished in a modern Finnish style. It's a typical Finnish hotel with sauna and breakfast included in the room rate. The breakfast offers a plentiful range of Finnish, continental, and American fare. Staff are professional end helpful. There was street noise from crazy drunks late at night, but that's not the hotel's fault. I turned on the room fan to help hide the noise. Next time I will ask for a room off the street for a quieter stay.

Room Tip: If you want a double bed, be sure to ask for one. I asked for a double room, but instead of a double...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 13, 2014

I've been in this hotel many times and always enjoyed my stay. I've stayed both in single and twin rooms both for business and leisure. The main reason for choosing the hotel over and over again is the location, which is perfect for almost any purposes. There are also shops and restaurants for late-night snacks when arriving late. Trams, subway and buses leave conveniently nearby and the Central Railway Station is in a walking distance.

Rooms are peaceful, so your night-sleep is well guaranteed after a long meeting or a busy day of sightseeing. The furniture is quite the basic, but suites well for my need. The small design elements make the room a bit more personal. I've always appreciate the cleanliness as well.

The breakfast is pretty much what you would expect in any hotel, but I won't complain as long as there is scrambled eggs and baked beans. Service in Helka has always been really friendly and helpful.

Thank you for the good experiences and see you again soon!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WanShani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We stayed at Hleka for two nights while passing through Helsinki. We found our room a decent size with good WIFI and bathroom. The downside was that whilst we loved our two massive windows the curtains were tiny and did a very poor job at cutting out the light (travelled in June when the daylight went from 4am til 11pm). The positives were that it's in a good location where you can easily walk to most attractions as well as to the bus station to catch a bus to the airport. It's also close to the big Kamppi shopping centre which we found convenient for the supermarket etc.
One of the nicest things was that we had to check out early in the morning, before breakfast, so they packed a takeaway breakfast for us to eat later. I would happily stay here again on another trip.

Room Tip: Room 216 has tiny curtains!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jojosh6970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Whilst holidaying in Scandavia, visited Finland and spent 2 days there before visiting Tallinn and then off to see bears in the wild. I stayed at Hotel Helka in Helsinki and found it very good. The staff were very helpful, the location good; you are close to No. 9 tram that takes you to the port for the Tallink ferry to Tallin, and it takes ~10 min of walking before you are in the centre of town. For us Australians the shower was a trifle enclosed, otherwise a money for value hotel in Helsinki.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJA56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Scandic Paasi
#9 of 65 in Helsinki
1,246 reviews
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 65 in Helsinki
1,144 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Hotelli Finn
Hotelli Finn
#21 of 65 in Helsinki
595 reviews
Hotel Lilla Roberts
#3 of 65 in Helsinki
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Helka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Helka

Property: Hotel Helka
Address: Pohjoinen Rautatiekatu 23, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#11 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#11 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#13 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#20 Business Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Helka 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual Elegance inspired by Finnish Design and Nature! Only 250 metres from Kamppi Metro Station, privately owned Hotel Helka offers 150 functional rooms, fine dining and a cozy street bar. All the rooms have design furniture and a strong sense of Finnish nature. All of the rooms have air-cooling system, minibars and flat-screen TVs. Breakfast buffet, use of Sauna and WiFi connection are complimentary for all guests. Hotel Helka is housed in a refurbished 1920s building. The bright rooms feature decor by Artek and other well-known Finnish design brands and designers. Helkan Keittio Restaurant serves Finnish cuisine based on fresh, locally sourced ingredients such as fish, game, mushrooms and berries. Guests can enjoy drinks and snacks in Helka’s trendy Lobby Bar, which also features a cigar room. Helka’s central location provides easy access to shopping, dining and culture. Helsinki Central Station is 10 minute walk away. Welcome to the Heart of Helsinki! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Helka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helka Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing