We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Helka

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Helka
Ranked #13 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Darwin, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We stayed at Hleka for two nights while passing through Helsinki. We found our room a decent size with good WIFI and bathroom. The downside was that whilst we loved our two massive windows the curtains were tiny and did a very poor job at cutting out the light (travelled in June when the daylight went from 4am til 11pm). The positives were that it's in a good location where you can easily walk to most attractions as well as to the bus station to catch a bus to the airport. It's also close to the big Kamppi shopping centre which we found convenient for the supermarket etc.
One of the nicest things was that we had to check out early in the morning, before breakfast, so they packed a takeaway breakfast for us to eat later. I would happily stay here again on another trip.

Room Tip: Room 216 has tiny curtains!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jojosh6970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    405
    130
    24
    7
See reviews for
81
233
214
172
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Whilst holidaying in Scandavia, visited Finland and spent 2 days there before visiting Tallinn and then off to see bears in the wild. I stayed at Hotel Helka in Helsinki and found it very good. The staff were very helpful, the location good; you are close to No. 9 tram that takes you to the port for the Tallink ferry to Tallin, and it takes ~10 min of walking before you are in the centre of town. For us Australians the shower was a trifle enclosed, otherwise a money for value hotel in Helsinki.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NJA56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kotka, Finland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

This time I tried the standard single room. Room was quite tiny, as I was informed while I booked it, but compact and suitable for me this time. (I stayed only for one night but if I stayed a longer time, I would consider the premium room.) The bathroom seemed a pretty new one. The room was very clean. The bed was somewhat too soft for me but still got a good night sleep. The room was really peaceful, facing the inner courtyard. The room had a wall-to-wall carpet, which still looked nice but in the years to come might be a bit challenging.

The young woman at the front desk was really nice and welcoming and everything went really smoothly during the check-in and the check-out.

Breakfast was okay, nothing to complain about but nothing to praise about either. Rooms are really pricey in Finland nowadays (and seem to go higher) and I wish that hotels really invested in great breakfasts. (This is not just about Helka but about every hotel.)

To summarize my stay: still like the hotel a lot, will visit again and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pillow2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oulu, Finland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Helsinki city centre hotels are generally pretty expensive but this one is very good value. The reception staff were extremely helpful. I needed to check in early - without warning them - and was given a room I could access immediately if I wanted. Service was professional and friendly. The room was clean, practical and quiet - not bad at all for a central, busy location. The curtains blocked out light well - believe me in midsummer in Finland that can be an issue!

Breakfast was the best spread I have seen from a Finnish hotel - I have had many!

I recommend this hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KCParker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We booked this hotel through British Airways along with our flights and the rate was really cheap! The hotel is really well located, 5-10mins walking from the railway station and 5mins from Temppeliaukio Kirkko (Rock Church). Our double room was quite nice, decent size, bed quite comfortable and with the cool feature of a big photo in the ceiling, not something you see everywhere. If there's something negative I can say would be the shower size but not really a deal-breaker. Breakfast was decent, a few different options and more than enough for you to have a decent morning meal. Wifi connection was also stable and fast. There is also a sauna in the 6th floor that we didn't use but it's available.
All in all, I would have no doubts in staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pedro F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris K, Asiakassuhdepäällikkö at Hotel Helka, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Dear Pedro F,

Thank you for your kind review and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Helka.

Best regards
Hotel Helka
Chris Kruusvee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rauma, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We wre staying only one night. Room was very comfortable with pine photo ceiling lamp. Breakfast very good with some Finnish specialities. Whole hotel was very clean. Personnell was very friendly. If You are coming with a car there is a garage in basement and some free parking places in the yard. Route to yard is very narrow. The situatoin is excellent for strolling around in the city.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ari-ja-Krisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris K, Asiakassuhdepäällikkö at Hotel Helka, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Dear Ari-ja-Krisse,

Thank you for your kind review. You are very welcome to visit us again!

Best regards
Hotel Helka
Chris Kruusvee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

When travelling on solo, Hotel Helka offers lower rates than the other hotels in Helsinki city centre. Simply because they have smaller rooms with sinlge beds and not just double rooms with single occupancy. My brother had stayed at Helka in 2012 and as he said it was good value for money I didn't hesitate to book a night at this hotel. I was actually on a business trip and had booked another hotel for my stay but I decided to arrive to Helsinki a day earlier than planned. The other hotel was already sold out so I came to Helka.
The design of the hotel is very Finnish and it was spotlessly clean anywhere. Not a change I could have forgotten I'm in my home country and I really enjoyed it for a change. The service was neutral, efficient but friendly.
The location of the hotel is excellent both sightseeing, shopping, dining and nightlife. I took a nap, planning to go out in the evening. But I slept too well and woke up at 3.30 am. Basically all clubs in Finland close at 4 am at the latest. However, right next to Helka there is a club that holds afterparties at 5.00 - 12.00 am during the weekends so I went there. I've been told that the crowd at this place is suspicious but the dance floor was good and I did not notice anything strange. It is worth noting that Helsinki is very safe.
I didn't have breakfast as I slept too late and left the hotel in a hurry. I could not find my passport. In the next hotel I unpacked and still could not find my passport. I called Helka to enquire if it had been found. The receptionist said that the housekeeping had not reported any passports but she promised to what she could and call me back later. However, I was so anxious I went back to the hotel and asked for permission to go and search the room once again as I was told that it was unoccupied at the moment. The friendly receptionist gave me a key card to the room. The passport was found under the New Testament... We laughed together at my weird idea to hide my passport there (without remebering anything about it).
It is not a five star hotel but I give five stars for my general experience, and the athmosphere of the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TroubledAditi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris K, Asiakassuhdepäällikkö at Hotel Helka, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Dear TroubledAditi,

Thank you for your kind review and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Helka.
Hope to see you again at Helka!

Best regards
Hotel Helka
Chris Kruusvee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Scandic Paasi
#8 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 989 reviews
Fabian Hotel
#1 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampinmalmi
Hotel Indigo Helsinki - Boulevard
Klaus K Hotel
#14 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 1,014 reviews
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Helka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Helka

Property: Hotel Helka
Address: Pohjoinen Rautatiekatu 23, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#11 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#11 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#13 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#20 Business Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Helka 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual Elegance inspired by Finnish Design and Nature! Only 250 metres from Kamppi Metro Station, privately owned Hotel Helka offers 150 functional rooms, fine dining and a cozy street bar. All the rooms have design furniture and a strong sense of Finnish nature. All of the rooms have air-cooling system, minibars and flat-screen TVs. Breakfast buffet, use of Sauna and WiFi connection are complimentary for all guests. Hotel Helka is housed in a refurbished 1920s building. The bright rooms feature decor by Artek and other well-known Finnish design brands and designers. Helkan Keittio Restaurant serves Finnish cuisine based on fresh, locally sourced ingredients such as fish, game, mushrooms and berries. Guests can enjoy drinks and snacks in Helka’s trendy Lobby Bar, which also features a cigar room. Helka’s central location provides easy access to shopping, dining and culture. Helsinki Central Station is 10 minute walk away. Welcome to the Heart of Helsinki! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Helka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helka Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing