We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, airy, comfortable & friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Helka

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Helka
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pohjoinen Rautatiekatu 23, Helsinki 00100, Finland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #13 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Clean, airy, comfortable & friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a couple of nights and was quite impressed. A very friendly and efficient check-in (it's worth mentioning that, contrary to other reviews, all the staff speak impeccable English). The room was an adequate size, extremely clean and very light and airy. The usual TV, mini-bar, tea and coffee making facilities, etc. And a comfortable bed. Small and somewhat institutional bathroom - and again very clean. Although the hotel is near to busy roads, the rooms are quiet, thanks to double glazing - but also nice that you can open the windows for some fresh air. Good breakfast, with a decent choice. And very fast, free wi-fi. The large pictures of Finnish nature hung on the ceiling over the bed were a nice, quirky touch. The Helka's location might not be fantastic for all destinations in Helsinki, but was close to the offices that I was visiting, so I found it convenient.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frequenttraveller63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris K, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Helka, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear frequenttraveller63

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Helka.
Have a nice summer and we hope to see you again here at Helka!

Best regards
Hotel Helka
Chris Kruusvee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    403
    130
    24
    7
See reviews for
81
232
214
172
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
france
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Being a sound sensitive person i was really unlucky to be in a room with what can only be described as a noisy generator next door/above?? - not sure if it was a ventilation shaft? but sufficiently loud to prevent me from being able to actually sleep.
however, the bar staff were excellent and made wonderful cups of tea...thanks to them for being so great :-)

Room Tip: make sure your room is quiet before unpacking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frankie261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris K, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Helka, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear frankie261

Thank you for your review. We are very sorry about the noise from the ventilation. Did you ask for a room change or was the hotel fully booked? Hopefully we see you again at Helka and you will have a good sleep and cup of tea on the house from the bar.

Best regards
Hotel Helka
Chris Kruusvee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

The hotel is nice, although nothing special.

It is located near enough to the train station to walk from there, and reception is open 24/7. the bar at the hotel itself is nice, and has a good smokers area, as well as a terrace where you get sun till the late evening (in summer, of course haha).
The rooms are good and spacious enough. Room service is very good, enough for you to notice their quality.

Breakfast is ok, but don't expect anything magnificent.
In any case, I would recommend it for a stay in Helsinki.

Room Tip: Take something in the first floors, they only have 1 elevator (and a cargo one) for all the floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maastricht_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris K, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Helka, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Maastricht_traveler,

Thank you for your reviw. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Helka. Hopefully all summer will be as sunny and warm as during your stay.
We have two elevators at the lobby to the guests. Second elevator may look a little bit like a cargo but both elevators are for the guests :)

Have a nice summer and welcome to visit us again!

Best regards
Hotel Helka
Chris Kruusve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I stayed at Helka for 2 nights. It was just a short 10 minute walk from the Central Railway Station (Rautatieasema) and though looks unassuming from the outside, was well kept and clean inside. The room was a good size for a city break with an interesting canvas depicting islands hanging from the ceiling.

The room had everything that I would want, including tea/coffee making facilities, mini bar, free WiFi (good signal) and English TV channels (mainly news). Liquid soap/shampoo/shower gel also included.

Breakfast buffet comprised cold meats/cheese/bread rolls, as well as hot options (sausages, meatballs, scrambled eggs, baked beans), chopped fruit/yoghurt, and the usual hot/cold breakfast drinks.

The sauna on the 6th floor was empty when I used it but a handy extra to have after a long day's exploration of the city.

The hotel is literally minutes' walk from Temppeliaukio Church (the underground church) which as it's located away from the main attractions could easily be otherwise missed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronnie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris K, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Helka, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Ronnie T,

Thank you for your kind review. Nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Helsinki and with us.
Welcome again!

Best regards
Hotel Helka
Chris Kruusvee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mersin, Icel, Turkey
Level Contributor
79 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This hotel is very nice and it has good location. It is near bus station, train station, ferry port and airport bus stop, city center, bars, restaurants, national museum, stone church and other historical and tourist places. Rooms are good, large and clean. Breakfast is good. Personel are helpful. Nice price, nice hotel good location. Free sauna is very good.

Room Tip: Ön cephe ve yukarıdaki odalar daha iyi, ara odalar güneş görmüyor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ilhan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris K, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Helka, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Ilhan E,

Thank you for your review. It is good to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Helka. Hopefully you will visit us again!

Best regards
Hotel Helka
Chris Kruusvee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Nice bar, good restaurant & breakfasts, very comfortable rooms.........all in all a great choice for business or leisure when visiting Helsinki. Some restaurants & bars nearby, many more within 10 minutes walk.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mijb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris K, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Helka, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear mijb,

Thank you for your kind review and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Helka. Have a nice summer and welcome again!

Best regards
Hotel Helka
Chris Kruusvee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed at the Helka hotel for 3 nights. We greatly enjoyed it.
We weren't that convinced when we first saw the outside: the hotel housed inside a grey, dull tower. However, the reception area is clean and tidy. The gentleman who checked us in was friendly and efficient. In fact, all staff were extremely helpful and nothing was ever too much trouble. The bedroom was very well appointed. We couldn't tell that the refurbishment happend a few years ago. Breakfast was adequate and value for money.
We had dinner one evening in the restaurant, which took us by suprise with its superb quality in food and service.
The only negative was the twin bed. We had booked a double room but were given a twin, with the two beds simply pushed together. I'd recommend getting matresses that can be zipped togethed. Working in a hotel myself, we use these. Whilst they aren't perfect, they at least prevent the two beds from sliding apart.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrERichter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris K, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Helka, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear MrERichter,

Thank you for your review and nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I will tell your regards also to the restaurant staff.
We are planning to make some changes to hotel entrance in the near future, hopefully soon.
In Hotel Helka we have only twin rooms with two beds. Mattresses are very good idea, thank you! We will definitely take this idea forward!

Have a nice summer and we hope to see you again!

Best regards
Hotel Helka
Chris Kruusvee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Scandic Paasi
#8 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 989 reviews
Fabian Hotel
#1 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampinmalmi
Hotel Indigo Helsinki - Boulevard
Klaus K Hotel
#14 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 1,012 reviews
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Helka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Helka

Property: Hotel Helka
Address: Pohjoinen Rautatiekatu 23, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#11 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#11 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#13 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#20 Business Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Helka 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual Elegance inspired by Finnish Design and Nature! Only 250 metres from Kamppi Metro Station, privately owned Hotel Helka offers 150 functional rooms, fine dining and a cozy street bar. All the rooms have design furniture and a strong sense of Finnish nature. All of the rooms have air-cooling system, minibars and flat-screen TVs. Breakfast buffet, use of Sauna and WiFi connection are complimentary for all guests. Hotel Helka is housed in a refurbished 1920s building. The bright rooms feature decor by Artek and other well-known Finnish design brands and designers. Helkan Keittio Restaurant serves Finnish cuisine based on fresh, locally sourced ingredients such as fish, game, mushrooms and berries. Guests can enjoy drinks and snacks in Helka’s trendy Lobby Bar, which also features a cigar room. Helka’s central location provides easy access to shopping, dining and culture. Helsinki Central Station is 10 minute walk away. Welcome to the Heart of Helsinki! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Helka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helka Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing