We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Price, Nice Hotel, Good Location.”
Review of Hotel Helka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Helka
Ranked #13 of 66 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 13, 2013

This hotel is very nice and it has good location. It is near bus station, train station, ferry port and airport bus stop, city center, bars, restaurants, national museum, stone church and other historical and tourist places. Rooms are good, large and clean. Breakfast is good. Personel are helpful. Nice price, nice hotel good location. Free sauna is very good.

Room Tip: Ön cephe ve yukarıdaki odalar daha iyi, ara odalar güneş görmüyor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ilhan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris K, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Helka, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2013

Dear Ilhan E,

Thank you for your review. It is good to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Helka. Hopefully you will visit us again!

Best regards
Hotel Helka
Chris Kruusvee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,170)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

481 - 487 of 1,170 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2013

Nice bar, good restaurant & breakfasts, very comfortable rooms.........all in all a great choice for business or leisure when visiting Helsinki. Some restaurants & bars nearby, many more within 10 minutes walk.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mijb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris K, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Helka, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2013

Dear mijb,

Thank you for your kind review and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Helka. Have a nice summer and welcome again!

Best regards
Hotel Helka
Chris Kruusvee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed at the Helka hotel for 3 nights. We greatly enjoyed it.
We weren't that convinced when we first saw the outside: the hotel housed inside a grey, dull tower. However, the reception area is clean and tidy. The gentleman who checked us in was friendly and efficient. In fact, all staff were extremely helpful and nothing was ever too much trouble. The bedroom was very well appointed. We couldn't tell that the refurbishment happend a few years ago. Breakfast was adequate and value for money.
We had dinner one evening in the restaurant, which took us by suprise with its superb quality in food and service.
The only negative was the twin bed. We had booked a double room but were given a twin, with the two beds simply pushed together. I'd recommend getting matresses that can be zipped togethed. Working in a hotel myself, we use these. Whilst they aren't perfect, they at least prevent the two beds from sliding apart.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrERichter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris K, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Helka, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2013

Dear MrERichter,

Thank you for your review and nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I will tell your regards also to the restaurant staff.
We are planning to make some changes to hotel entrance in the near future, hopefully soon.
In Hotel Helka we have only twin rooms with two beds. Mattresses are very good idea, thank you! We will definitely take this idea forward!

Have a nice summer and we hope to see you again!

Best regards
Hotel Helka
Chris Kruusvee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We've passed a great stay in Helka Hotel. It's very good located in the Helsinki center. Single rooms are quite small but good designed. The general atmosphere is calm with good breakfast, good cleanliness and very kind service!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
1  Thank Roger L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris K, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Helka, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2013

Dear Roger L,

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Helka.
Have a nice summer and we hope to see you again here at Helka!

Best regards
Hotel Helka
Chris Kruusvee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Located in central Helsinki, easy to get anywhere yet somehow you get a nice secluded feeling. My first time staying in Helka, and I will be going back. Men's and women's sauna is always available on the top floor, but we were able to rent the penthouse sauna one evening with the hot tub, which was delightful. After sauna, we went to eat downstairs in Helka's Kitchen. The food was superb, great flavor and properly done. An excellent vacation at very good value! The breakfast and lunch were both tasty as well. The staff overall did a wonderful job!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tiiaandbella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris K, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Helka, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Dear tiiaandbella,

Thank you for you review and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Helka. I will tell your greetings also to the reception and restaurant.
Have a nice spring and welcome again!

Best regards
Hotel Helka
Chris Kruusvee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

The position of the hotel is excellent near station. Our the room was clean and big, service at desk and bar was very good. Breakfast was good but in my opinion with too little bakery (croissant , cakes)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
1  Thank Giuseppe V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris K, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Helka, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Dear Giuseppe V,

Thank you for your review and nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We have Finnish karelian pies and some days homemade bread but we will discuss with the restaurant if it would be possible to add more pastries to the breakfast selection.

Hope to see you and your family again at Helka!

Best regards
Hotel Helka
Chris Kruusvee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We used the Helka as our Helsinki base during our March Border To Border ski adventure and after a follow-up trip to Spain. The staff were fluent in English and extremely helpful providing accurate information on transportation, dining, and any other questions we had. The breakfast buffet was excellent as was the sauna. The lobby computer was highly useful in getting email updates sent back to friends at home. All facilities were very clean and well-kept. All in all, a great place to come back to after adventures outside of Helsinki.

Room Tip: The sauna is on the 6th floor making it very convenient for all the rooms on that floor. I think th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 176maxg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris K, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Helka, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Dear Boise,

Thank you for your review. It is good to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Helka. You are very welcome to visit us again!

Best regards
Hotel Helka
Chris Kruusvee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
Scandic Grand Marina
Scandic Grand Marina
#21 of 66 in Helsinki
2,537 reviews
Vironniemi
Hotel Katajanokka
Hotel Katajanokka
#4 of 66 in Helsinki
1,951 reviews
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 66 in Helsinki
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Kampinmalmi
Hotelli Finn
Hotelli Finn
#20 of 66 in Helsinki
641 reviews
GLO Hotel Art
#24 of 66 in Helsinki
1,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Helka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Helka

Address: Pohjoinen Rautatiekatu 23, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#11 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#13 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#20 Business Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range: $100 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Helka 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual Elegance inspired by Finnish Design and Nature! Only 250 meters from Kamppi Metro Station, privately owned Hotel Helka offers 150 functional rooms, fine dining and a cozy street bar. All the rooms have design furniture and a strong sense of Finnish nature. All of the rooms have air-cooling system, minibars and flat-screen TVs. Breakfast buffet, use of Sauna and WiFi connection are complimentary for all guests. Hotel Helka is housed in a refurbished 1920s building. The bright rooms feature decor by Artek and other well-known Finnish design brands and designers. Guests can enjoy drinks and snacks in Helka’s trendy Lobby Bar. Helka’s central location provides easy access to shopping, dining and culture. Helsinki Central Station is 10 minute walk away. Welcome to the Heart of Helsinki! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Helka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helka Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing