We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Hotel Helka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Helka
Ranked #14 of 66 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Nice and cozy place to stay. Clean rooms and good breakfast. There is only few parking places but Kamppi parking hall is located near of hotel which costs 15€ per day. Almost centre of Helsinki. 10 minutes walking distance to railway station.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jarkkolainen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Helka, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Dear Jarkkolainen,

Thank you for your review! We are pleased to hear that also you found our hotel cozy.

As you mentioned we have only 8 parking places in our backyard and 4 in our small garage. That´s why we are offering the parking hall tickets to Forum parking hall (50 meters from Helka) at very reasonable price 15€/ 24h.

We wish you nice driving days for the spring and hope to see you soon again at Helka!

Raikkain terveisin
Thomas Högdahl
Hotelli Helka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,145)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

493 - 499 of 1,145 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2013

Good location, near the city center, bus station and railway station. Quiet, beautiful rooms. Really nice and many-sided breakfast! Beautiful wallpapers of Finnish nature all over the hotel. Helpful and friendly personnel.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnikkiToi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Helka, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Dear AnnikkiToi,

We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay and also the Helka atmosphere! Thank you very much for your review.

The wallpaper in the hotel room is called Linneus and it is available at least in Finland. The pictures on top of the beds and on the lift walls are custom made.

Happy Women´s Day on the 8th of March and Welcome again to Helka!

Lämpimin terveisin
Thomas Högdahl
Hotelli Helka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Hotel Helka is value for money. Rooms are clean, beautiful and cosy. Hotel is situated very close to main railway and shops.
sauna area is beautiful. Restaurant is high quality, food was very tasty.
Service was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kaisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Helka, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Dear Kaisa L,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It´s always a pleasure to read such nice reviews.

All the best for the spring and hope to see you soon again at Helka!

Aurinkoisin terveisin
Thomas Högdahl
Hotelli Helka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

hotel where you get more than expected!! free parking! nice breakfast with big coice of food ! kind and warm personel ready to help but speak only english (only Russian speakers may have difficulties.. but many tourists around will help with translation!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndreiLobuznov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Helka, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear AndreiLobuznov,

Thank you for your kind review! Nice to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
Few from our staff speaks also Russian but you are right that the rest of us could learn some more. Maybe next time when you arrive we´ll be able to serve you in Russian also...or at least greet!

Добро пожаловать!

Lämpimin terveisin
Thomas Högdahl
Hotelli Helka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I was in two minds whether to give this hotel three or four stars. In some ways you can not fault it. The service was friendly, the bed was very comfortable, the room was clean and quiet. However, having had stayed in many hotels in Helsinki I felt something was missing. The room was very small to a point where you could not open the mini bar door fully because it was too close to the bed. (However you could get the drinks out of the minibar easily). There was hardly any floor space and the bathroom was absolutely tiny. I only stayed one night, so this was all fine, but I have to say I probably would not stay any longer than that. The decor is minimalist, Finnish design which gives it a fresh look but the hotel itself is old. The combination of minimalist and some dark green colours (in my room) gave it a bit of a motel-like feel. The price was fair so I can't really complain. i had to leave before breakfast time so can not comment on that.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AcerLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Helka, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear AcerLeeds,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review! We are happy that you enjoyed our friendly and clean hotel.

Sorry to hear that you felt that something was missing from the experience. Our rooms are a bit different with sizes compared to each other. Some of them are rather compact as you mentioned, but still functional for a good quality stay.

However, we wish to see you someday again at Helka!

Ystävällisin terveisin
Thomas Högdahl
Hotelli Helka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I've stayed in some great hotels and a few ropey ones and I have to say this is one of the best I have stayed in and definitely one of the best value for money. It's pretty close to the main railway and bus stations, a metro (Kamppi) , 2 large department stores (Stockmann & Sokos), 2 art galleries (classical & contemporary), a couple of museums and an amazing church (Temppeliaukion kirkko); and that's before you even get inside. And let's just say that if the rest of Finland is like Helka, then the Finns just about have it all wrapped up. The staff are warm, welcoming, knowledgeable, polite & helpful, without exception. And, as with most Finns, they understand you will never get the hang of Suomi, so they even learn perfect English too.
The room we had (a twin) was just lovely; clean, spacious, quiet, warm, modern design (a little quirky perhaps, but that suited it perfectly), good bathroom, well heated & everything worked. Breakfast - oh gosh, where to begin - if this place fell down & they just served this breakfast it would still get 5 stars. I have NEVER stayed in a place that offered such a great range - and all delicious, and the woman who worked in the breakfast room clearing and serving gets a special mention, (as I imagine people like her rarely do) as the place was cleared and replenished effortlessly and with a smile and a 'good morning'. We ate in the restaurant one evening and the food was delicious too- Beetroot risotto with barley (I want the recipe Helka!). And finally, the sauna (6th Floor) - again spotless - is a great way to end your exhausting days outside in the sub-zero temperatures - though you probably won't find any Finns using it - we met them using the outside sauna near to the harbour before dipping themselves into the frozen sea! Mad!! Thank you Helka for such a wonderful experience; I was thinking about going to go to NYC in the summer for my 50th birthday but I reckon I'll be coming back here instead!

Room Tip: Like most Hotels a room at the back is probably a good choice, I said 5stars for pool & fitness...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PansyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Helka, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Dear PansyUK,

We are extremely happy for your review and that you have really enjoyed your stay with us. I am sure that this is one of the most flattering reviews we have ever received!

So we´ll be more than happy to share the Beetroot risotto recipe with you. We have a few variations from this recipe, but here are the main ingredients:

- barley
- beetroot
- cream
- soft cheese
- white wine
- beetroot juice
- vegetables

Cook barley and after that mix it with all other ingredients in a pan. Enjoy!

Please contact us when you are planning your birthday and we´ll make sure that Helsinki and Helka will be your destination for the special trip. Maybe we´ll have a new name then as you suggested =)

Thank you once again and hope to hear from you soon!

Lämpimin terveisin
Thomas Högdahl
Hotelli Helka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

I stayed (in fact, I still am staying!) at Helka Hotel for four nights on business in February 2013.

Helsinki as a whole isn't that welcoming at this time of year, with widespread ice and snow, and temperatures plummeting as far as -20 celsius overnight. The hotel is well placed for the central railway station (Rautatientori), but is a good 10-15 minute walk, and not easy in the snow and ice with a fully laden suitcase! Transit into town from the airport is also mainly by taxi (€50 approx) or the Finnair City Link bus service (€6.20). The hotel is also well priced at little over £100/night for a single room.

Check-in was efficient (although not that friendly), and the lobby appeared to be relatively modern. I had only booked a single room (as I was travelling alone and looking to keep costs down), and the room was of a reasonable size. Furnishings were somewhat spartan, and with wooden (rather than carpeted floors), the whole impression was a little utilitarian. Wi-fi is, however free, and widely available throughout the hotel - although slow and erratic at times.

The bathroom was somewhat bleak - being lit by a single fluorescent tube, and tiled floor to ceiling with a rather old toilet with a plastic seat. There was also no full length mirror in the room, which made it slightly difficult to check my appearance in the morning!

The room claims to have "climate control", but the thermostat seemed a little peculiar to operate. Indeed, whatever setting I made seemed to have little effect on the overall temperature of the room which remained a little too warm at all times - notably overnight, when it became uncomfortable. It was also not possible to open the (double glazed) window for some fresher, cooler air due to the noise from the street outside, and the inclement weather conditions.

I ate in the hotel restaurant on several occasions, which offered decent enough food, at reasonable prices (for Helsinki!). Even wine was not too expensive at around €6 a glass - almost unheard of in this city!

The hotel feels a little tired. Soft furnishings around the hotel were worn, and parts of my room could have done with maintenance, replacement and re-decoration.

Overall, a reasonably priced, central choice if money is an issue. Standards of cleanliness appeared OK, but attention needs to be given to detail, air conditioning, overall maintenance and the welcome given by reception staff if the hotel is to become better. I would certainly consider staying here again, but would perhaps upgrade to a better standard (twin) room.

Room Tip: Avoid single rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lexy1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Helka, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Dear Lexy1968,

Thank you for your detailed review. There was plenty of valuable information for us to improve our service and facilities!

We are sorry to hear that the first impression at check in wasn´t as friendly as it should have been. This shouldn´t be the case - not even during rush hour check in times. We´ll have discussion together on this matter.

Our rooms have cooling ventilation system so it is not actually a full climate control. The cooling is on during summer times and during winter time the heating comes from the radiators. You are right that the system control panel has been a bit confusing. For that reason we have placed this week instructions to all rooms referring the heating and ventilation system.

Thank you for pointing all these inconveniences out - including the need for maintenance in specific areas. We wish you a happy Valentine´s Day and a warm Welcome back to Helka!

Lämpimin terveisin
Thomas Högdahl
Hotelli Helka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
Scandic Grand Marina
Scandic Grand Marina
#23 of 66 in Helsinki
2,436 reviews
Vironniemi
Hotel Katajanokka
Hotel Katajanokka
#4 of 66 in Helsinki
1,867 reviews
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 66 in Helsinki
1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampinmalmi
Hotelli Finn
Hotelli Finn
#20 of 66 in Helsinki
635 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Helka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Helka

Address: Pohjoinen Rautatiekatu 23, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#11 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#14 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#20 Business Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range: $96 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Helka 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual Elegance inspired by Finnish Design and Nature! Only 250 meters from Kamppi Metro Station, privately owned Hotel Helka offers 150 functional rooms, fine dining and a cozy street bar. All the rooms have design furniture and a strong sense of Finnish nature. All of the rooms have air-cooling system, minibars and flat-screen TVs. Breakfast buffet, use of Sauna and WiFi connection are complimentary for all guests. Hotel Helka is housed in a refurbished 1920s building. The bright rooms feature decor by Artek and other well-known Finnish design brands and designers. Guests can enjoy drinks and snacks in Helka’s trendy Lobby Bar. Helka’s central location provides easy access to shopping, dining and culture. Helsinki Central Station is 10 minute walk away. Welcome to the Heart of Helsinki! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Helka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helka Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing