We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conveniently located hotel”
Review of Hotel Helka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Helka
Ranked #13 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We stayed at the Helka Hotel 6 nights. It is centrally located, free wifi in the lobby, quiet rooms due to double glazing on the windows. Breakfast buffet food is diverse and bountiful. There are one or two bicycles for rent, tables outdoors along the sidewalk for an evening drink, free sauna on the top floor.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank organicprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,125)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

535 - 541 of 1,125 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2011

This 3-star jewel could very well be the best hotel I've ever stayed in. I've enjoyed here facilities that even some 4-star hotels didn't have - sauna, digital TV with internet, etc. The room I stayed in, despite overlooking a backyard, was very modern, fully-equipped and I simply loved the big poster of a mountain landscape on the ceiling! Everything was very clean, and breakfast was, I would say, far more than you would expect from a 3-star facility. As for location, the hotel is 10 minutes walking (at most) from the Central Station, so it's very convenient in that respect as well. Awesome establishment!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Andy17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

First of all, the location ist quite good. Close to everything...
The hotel itself looks a littlebit rundown, but the rooms have a nice style.
the bathroom was a bit tiny, the beds could be more comfortable and the breakfast was disappointing...
really nice alto furniture all over the place...
we stayed there for 5 nights. it was ok, but next time i would look for another one...

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luis7804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

The hotel is located in a renovated old building within a walking distance from the main railway station and not far away to other Helsinki's attractions: the cathedral, town square and Opera House. Both public areas and the rooms make a very good impression in terms of the quality and faciliites. Wireless Internet and car parking are available free of charge.
Beds were comfortable and despite having a room facing the street there was no noticeble noise. The choice of products for breakfast was quite OK.
I would definitely recommend Helka for all travellers seeking good value for a decent price.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xat9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

Excellent hotel for the money. The room was extremely comfortable and no more than two blocks away from a subway station. At the end of the day the on-site sauna provided a relaxing venue. I definitely would return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobzzmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

The hotel is close to the Kamppi metro sttaion/bus station/mall and the tram stop. The neighborhood looks a bit seedy, and so does the outside of the hotel and the interior corridors. However, my double room was a nice surprise - sofa and two chairs as well as a good sized bed.

The breakfast buffet was more than adequate, ad the wifi in my room woorked fine, as did the hot water and the hair dryer. However, I thought it was a bit pricey, even for Helsinki.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thursdaysd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Helka in August 2011 for 3 nights. I was staying in a room with my other half but we were on a trip with a few other friends.

The rooms at Helka are nice. They are a reasonable size but not huge and they seemed very clean and the beds comfortable.

The location was fine - the church in the rock is very close and all other main sites are only a short walk away - 10-20 minutes depending on what you are going to see. The main restaurants and bars etc are about 10-15 minutes away so very handy.

Staff were friendly and helpful.

Breakfast was fine - your usual selection of cereal, yoghurt, cold meats and cheese and some hot options - eggs, sausage, bacon etc. Nothing amazing but gives you a good start for the day.

All in all, can't complain. Had a good stay here and would recommend it to others!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KARDJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 64 in Helsinki
1,194 reviews
Hilton Helsinki Strand
#7 of 64 in Helsinki
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vironniemi
Hotel Katajanokka
Hotel Katajanokka
#4 of 64 in Helsinki
1,778 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Hotelli Finn
Hotelli Finn
#22 of 64 in Helsinki
623 reviews
GLO Hotel Art
#21 of 64 in Helsinki
1,643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Helka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Helka

Address: Pohjoinen Rautatiekatu 23, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#11 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#11 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#13 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#20 Business Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range: $106 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Helka 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual Elegance inspired by Finnish Design and Nature! Only 250 meters from Kamppi Metro Station, privately owned Hotel Helka offers 150 functional rooms, fine dining and a cozy street bar. All the rooms have design furniture and a strong sense of Finnish nature. All of the rooms have air-cooling system, minibars and flat-screen TVs. Breakfast buffet, use of Sauna and WiFi connection are complimentary for all guests. Hotel Helka is housed in a refurbished 1920s building. The bright rooms feature decor by Artek and other well-known Finnish design brands and designers. Guests can enjoy drinks and snacks in Helka’s trendy Lobby Bar. Helka’s central location provides easy access to shopping, dining and culture. Helsinki Central Station is 10 minute walk away. Welcome to the Heart of Helsinki! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Helka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helka Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing