We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great city centre hotel”
Review of Hotel Helka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Helka
Ranked #13 of 66 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 28, 2011

The hotel is only a short walk from the main Helsinki Railway Station and close to the metro and tram for access to ferry terminals. The rooms (we were on the 9th floor) were nice and quiet, even with the windows open.
An efficiently run hotel; checking in and out took seconds.
Our suite had a private sauna which we used whenever we returned to the hotel. It was excellent.
The breakfast room was busy but the choice was good.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

558 - 564 of 1,136 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2011

Helka might be filled with Finnish design clichés, but it's still nicely different from all chain hotels. It's not luxurious, but it's a really refreshing choice with the beautiful furniture (Helmat lamps! Block lamps!) and quirky pictures on room ceilings. Things are getting a little worn out, but the place has a good vibe to it and the place has a bit of personality to it. The only thing I can complain about was the cleanliness of the room; floor was filled with shoe prints and there was something on the bathroom wall..didn't want to make my acquintance with it. I had an inner yard room, so I also got a glimpse to people's lives in Helsinki! Quiet room, not a beep to be heard from anywhere. Air conditioning, internet access, good closet space. The tv channels were awfully slow to change, never met a tv like that before!
Personnel at the reception was great, shame I can't say the same about restaurant staff though. I was dining alone, got an uncleaned table, indifferent service and not a single sorry or thank you or a smile. There had obviously been a lot of customers before I walked in, as most of the tables were a mess, but no one even tried to clean them up until I had finished eating. I noticed there were some clean tables available too, dunno why I got the one with bread crumbs, dirty glasses and knives... Still, the food was tasty, very fresh and value for your money! I also liked the breakfast, good variety of things and more was brought in constantly.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsPeppa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

This is a nice 3 star hotel in expensive Helsinki. So this seemed to be a good choice, fair price and close to the center and transport. We stayed in room 213 for 3 nights. Nice room, quiet to the back and everything well functioning. However, the management confuses soft beds with old, laid-through beds, where the matresses has not been turned every 3-6 month depending on quality to avoid loopsidedness and changed maximum every 2 years and the underbed has not been changed when needed to avoid "the old french bed syndrom" of . And the people in reception knows. One told me, that all matresses and beds was changed when the hotel was "renovated" to socalled finnish design level. And this is some years ago. And nothing has been done since, it seems. So we might have been unfortunate to have one of the rooms that has been used every night for the last some years or ...
The reception people are competent and very helpful. f.i. made an appointment for me in the private medical center in 1 hour (and the service there was excellent, i got a painkiller for the back without any problem). Bravo.
For breakfast it can be a bit crowded, but it functions anyhow. The selection is good. Try the various types of delicious finnish bread and crispy.

Room Tip: The rooms to the back do not have the noise from the night club close to the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seniortraveller2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

We stayed here for four nights recently. The hotel is pretty easy to get to using the 3T tram - quick walk from Kamppi metro. The hotel itself is seems a little old that's been refurbished recently. The rooms are nicely sized. Breakfast was good, and Internet works well. Best part was the service - the frnt desk was super helpful in finding information (train timings etc), helping reserve shuttle to airport, and proactively offering to pack an early breakfast for us since we had an early flight to catch. Keep it up!
Minor annoyance was the lack if coffee/tea in the room but reception quickly offered us a water heater for tea since my husband had a sore throat. Overall, the building may not be fabulous, but the service and price more than makes up for it.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frugaltravelerdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

After a lot of research into hotels in Helsinki, I finally found this one and it was a treat. Price was great, especially if you book early on-line, as was the location near the train station. The people at the counter were friendly and helpful, room was on the small side, but very clean and very neat. Breakfast was fantastic. I'd certainly return to this hotel and we did for three nights on our way back through. Prices were higher because of last minute booking, but still very reasonable for the city and location.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jgl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2011

Having undertaken a lot of research into hotels in Helsinki for a Family stay, we chose The Helka Hotel for its very positive reviews and were not let down. The hotel is in an excellent location being a short walk from the main railway and bus stations with easy access to the shops and rest of the city.
The staff are very friendly, helpful and generous and able to offer advice and assistance for tourists visiting the city. Information given prior to booking and our advance booking was very speedy and efficient.
The restaurant serves excellent food. The choice available at breakfast is extensive and the quality of food served at lunch and dinner were as good as any restaurants we found in the city. The price was also very favourable too, which is not always the case with city centre hotels.
The bedrooms are very spacious and provide all the facilities you would wish for.
We were aware before our visit to Helsinki that prices generally are higher than the UK, but we were very pleasantly surprised with those charged at the Helka Hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charles_day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

Booked online via a third party and there are always concerns about the hotel actually receiving the booking, moving you to another hotel etc. There were no problems at all with this. A very reasonably priced hotel. Room was smaller than I might have thought for this level of charge, but it was clean and neat, which is always good! Once again, hotels in the Baltic seem to struggle with the concept of double beds and always seem to provide twins. Air con was great, and actually worked. Staff were helpful, breakfast was plentiful (but some of the options might not suit some Brits - pickled herring and meatballs!).

Room decor is...unusual...quirky, with huge posters of Finnish country scenes on the ceiling, unusual light bulbs encased in glass bedside lamps, free spa and a tv based internet access free of charge. The mini-bar fridge didn't work.

Well located, but on the cross-section of busy roads, which we never heard from the room.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZedAbdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
Hotel Katajanokka
Hotel Katajanokka
#4 of 66 in Helsinki
1,833 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Hotelli Finn
Hotelli Finn
#20 of 66 in Helsinki
631 reviews
Vironniemi
Scandic Grand Marina
Scandic Grand Marina
#22 of 66 in Helsinki
2,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Helsinki Strand
#7 of 66 in Helsinki
712 reviews
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 66 in Helsinki
1,209 reviews
GLO Hotel Art
#21 of 66 in Helsinki
1,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Helka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Helka

Address: Pohjoinen Rautatiekatu 23, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#11 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#11 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#13 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#20 Business Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range: $96 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Helka 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual Elegance inspired by Finnish Design and Nature! Only 250 meters from Kamppi Metro Station, privately owned Hotel Helka offers 150 functional rooms, fine dining and a cozy street bar. All the rooms have design furniture and a strong sense of Finnish nature. All of the rooms have air-cooling system, minibars and flat-screen TVs. Breakfast buffet, use of Sauna and WiFi connection are complimentary for all guests. Hotel Helka is housed in a refurbished 1920s building. The bright rooms feature decor by Artek and other well-known Finnish design brands and designers. Guests can enjoy drinks and snacks in Helka’s trendy Lobby Bar. Helka’s central location provides easy access to shopping, dining and culture. Helsinki Central Station is 10 minute walk away. Welcome to the Heart of Helsinki! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Helka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helka Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing