We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel, uninformed staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hostel Domus Academica
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Great hostel, uninformed staff”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

An otherwise great stay marred by bad service - conflicting information from different staff members regarding sauna access, cab fares and, in particular, the outgoing ferries - not helped by the display of a completely incorrect ferry timetable on the wall. Some final bad advice saw us sent to a non-existent sailing, and therefore at the wrong terminal to get the next one, and our Helsinki stay ended with a four hour wait at the uninspiring ferry terminal. BUT the room, location and facilities were great - just use the available wifi to make your own ongoing plans!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank red_room_wr1ter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    147
    107
    21
    11
See reviews for
38
112
96
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

It's not a hostel, as we understand it,it'rather better! There are 2 beds In standard room, bathroom, Stowe,fridge. You can take kitchen ware on the first floor, in guest kitchen. Very friendly staff. Close to the railway stathion.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Екатерина Л
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed for one night in a twin room with private bathroom. This wasn't our first choice but everything else in Heksinki was booked however we were very surprised! The hostel is more like a hotel, close to the train station *15mins*. The room was spacious and although we had a twin room we were able to push them together. We stated at a different establishment the night before for twice the cost and I rate this hostel a lot higher. I would stay here again if we return to Helsinki.

Helpful?
3 Thank chris_melf
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lucknow
Level Contributor
101 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Had stayed some time ago during my Scandinavian leg of European travel. It was very easy to reach!! Guess it took me a short tram ride from railway station which dropped me near the hostel. Best of all, their luggage storage room is rather huge to accommodate even large suitecases and they are very friendly and there's no fuss. Kitchen is well equipped and I remember making all my food everyday with minimal problem.

The place is extremely safe and comfortable, even if a little bland by some measure.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank muditkag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

The hostel is ok for that kind of price. No breakfast options though, but the staff was kind to recommend us some places where we could eat. The location is OK, walking 10-15 mins from the centre, rooms were clean.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nataly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Clean rooms and friendly reception. Having a small kitchen with our room was excellent as prices in Helsinki can be really expensive. If you want somewhere to stay with a convenient location for a few days then I can recommend Hostel Academica.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yogyakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Hostel Domus Academica is centrally located, only 10-15 mins walk from the Central Railway Station (Rautatieasema), and within walking distance to several attractions (Rock Church, Natural History Museum, National Museum, just to name a few). I stayed in a 3-bed female dorm, and it was nice to find 3 normal beds rather than bunk beds for a change! The room was okay but it wasn't as clean as I would like it to be - there were crumbs on the table and the floor was a bit dusty, but they provide a broom and a dustpan so I did some cleaning myself. Each room has a kitchenette, a fridge included (which is a plus!), but not equipped with cookware nor dining ware (can be borrowed from the common kitchen, so no biggie). Breakfast is not included in the price, it costs 7 Euro. If you're on a tight budget, you can buy food from the supermarket across the street. Wifi is only available in the common room. The staff are friendly and helpful. I arrived in Helsinki early in the morning and asked if I could check in (check in time is at 3pm). Fortunately, there was an empty room available and they let me check in early!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 573ff1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Kampinmalmi
Hotelli Finn
Hotelli Finn
#20 of 65 in Helsinki
589 reviews
Hotel Helka
#13 of 65 in Helsinki
1,072 reviews
Hilton Helsinki Strand
#7 of 65 in Helsinki
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Lilla Roberts
#3 of 65 in Helsinki
411 reviews
Vironniemi
Eurohostel
Eurohostel
#1 of 27 in Helsinki
653 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Hostel Diana Park
Hostel Diana Park
#4 of 27 in Helsinki
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Domus Academica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Domus Academica

Property: Hostel Domus Academica
Address: Hietaniemenkatu 14, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Domus Academica 2*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOSTEL DOMUS ACADEMICA is located in the city center! All rooms with private facilities. Morning sauna is free of charge! THE ROOMS have a private toilet, shower and kitchenette with a fridge. Kitchen equipment can be borrowed. Bed linen and towels are included in the room price. There is a possibility for internet connection in the rooms. BREAKFAST is served daily and parking facilities are provided with extra cost. Safety boxes are available in the reception as well as a free luggage room. Free internet available in the common room. LOCATION is central; hostel is situated close to the beautiful Hietaniemi beach, Kamppi shopping mall, restaurants and sightseeing attractions. Tram and bus stops are around the corner, while the metro, train and bus stations are only a short walk away. HOSTEL DOMUS ACADEMICA IS THE HOSTEL OF THE YEAR 2016! Contest was organized by the Finnish Youth Hostel Federation. Read more about us on our website. Hostel Domus Academica welcomes you to stay with us and to enjoy the summer in Helsinki! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Hostel Domus Academica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Academica Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing