We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AMAZING DINNER EXPERIENCE!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chef & Sommelier

Chef & Sommelier
Ranked #54 of 1,453 Restaurants in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“AMAZING DINNER EXPERIENCE!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Not only was the food great, it was a fun evening! This was one of the best restaurants I have ever been to and we had just come from dining at a Michelin star restaurant in Copenhagen and thought this was way better! The Chef has a unique fun personality and took his time to explain each dish being offered. He did such a good job that we went for the entire 9 courses (72 Euros) and LOVED each one! Good portions too because we are both big eaters and we were full (I'm always worried about being hungry after fine dining places). He picks his ingredients fresh that day and will only use whatever is in season. The dishes came together in such a unique beautiful way too! He's extremely creative, fun, passionate and talented. The Sommelier was great too, he made good wine suggestions and he would also help serve the dishes. The restaurant is very small in a quaint residential part of town so the Chef and Sommelier do the serving and they have about 3 sous chefs helping in the kitchen. So the whole dining experience was very relaxed, unpretentious, full of personality and fun. Seriously, one of the best nights eating out that my friend and I have ever had and we eat out often! Book way in advance because their business has skyrocketed since the New York Times review came out! GO HERE IF YOU'RE IN HELSINKI!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PeanutTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    28
    8
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
KentUK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Splendid flavours, unusual”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

This small individualistic restaurant is located away from the bustle of the city centre.Reservation a must, the venue is tiny. The menu varies a lot day to day and will be explained to you by the chef. There are a number of dishes you can pick and pay accordingly. This is not cheap but truly interesting. The food was a revelation of taste. The wine, too, was excellent. This is a place for those who are interested in food. But - if you are hungry, have a sandwich before you go! The portions are miniscule. About 150E for two.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TMMarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic and memorable meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

My wife and I had one of the best and most memorable meals of our lives at Chef & Sommelier, heightened by the fantastic presentation and the friendly, unpretentious presence of Sasu and Johan, the owners (the chef and the sommelier). The food was creative and beautifully presented. The wine was perfectly matched to our meal. Can't wait to go back to Helsinki and eat at Chef & Sommelier again!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter85623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

Excellent food, wine and atmosphere. 4/5 for food because of a horrible platter of Finnish cheeses. Other than that miss the food is wonderful and the service immaculate.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 166Maggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Organic, original, local, fantastic dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

The food is truly deliciously catering all your senses. In everything the owners and the staff do and tell you can feel their love and passion for what they do and they definitely have every right to be proud of it. As a person who normally only eats healthy organic home made food, I usually have to put the health factor aside when eating in restaurants and of course the poor ingredients and lack of soul also affects the taste which usually is not as good as at home even in fine dining restaurants. But Chef & Sommelier is the one restaurant where I can trust that the quality of the food is at least as good and the taste is a million times better. I felt elevated and happy when I left the restaurant. Eating at C&S is at least as satisfying as great sex!

Their whole ideology and let me repeat once more, passion and enthusiasm, about what they do, makes it a very special, very holistic dining experience. This is what dining should always be like but so rarely is. My all time favorite in Helsinki, absolutely. There is absolutely nothing more I could have asked for even if I am very picky. For a fine dining place, the prices are not too unbearably high. And after the whole dining experience you definitely feel like your money was worth every cent. Must reserve a table well in advance.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank uneton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chef & Sommelier also viewed

Helsinki, Uusimaa
Helsinki, Uusimaa
 
Helsinki, Uusimaa
Helsinki, Uusimaa
 
Helsinki, Uusimaa
 

Been to Chef & Sommelier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing