We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“adorable”
Review of Cafe Vanille

Cafe Vanille
Ranked #119 of 1,511 Restaurants in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Scandinavian
Restaurant details
Goettingen, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“adorable”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Busy every time i've been there. They have fantastic pastries and their soup of the day is awsome, too. Most of all I like their tiny little room in the old building. It really isn't anything fancy, but it does the trick.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank math8ilda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    41
    7
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Small but cosy and characterful cafe”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Café Vanille is situated on the main walk up from the main ferry terminal, opposite the church. I liked it atmosphere, it's balcony (which was full so we went inside). They do lovely drinks and what looks to be great cakes of some size. The pizza slice went down well too!

My only criticism of this small but wonderfully cosy café is that maybe some customer service work needs to be undertaken by the lady who runs it; she has a tendency to be abrupt (we sat there and watched her dealings with other customers). This is because she was non stop making cakes, clearing up and so forth, obviously busy. The younger girls serving were far more polite and approachable! It gave us a couple of humorous moments watching her in action...

If eating outside on the grass be aware of the Gull Menace. I.e., it's fine to eat there, but don't turn your back and leave any food unattended.

Oh - and one final point - unlike nearly everywhere you go in Helsinki, there is no Wi-Fi here. They had an amusing sign which said something like "sorry, no wifi, you'll just have to talk to each other". Perfectly pitched, and absolutely right. Well done Café Vanille!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brother_Cadfael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
56 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice cafe in Suomenlinna”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

You will definitely see this as its the first cafe along the blue route if you take the HSL ferry.

It is a small little cafe, with inside sitting for 3 small groups of people. If the weather is nice and sunny, enjoy your hot drink and bun sitting outside. They have nice cinnamon bun.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank kidman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltash, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Good Choice”
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

For early season on this beautiful island we passed on the start to our walk, on our return it had the kerb appeal to entice us in! The balcony was the only area free but had fleece blankets and cushions for comfort. We only tried a standard coffee and a beer, the coffee was topped up free and I succumbed to a biscuit, which was spiced and just enough. Other customers did not have our willpower and enjoyed delicious looking chocolate cake and cheesecake..finishing every crumb.
We left a crumb or two for the small timid bird which came onto the floor and tidied up, but did not stay long enough for us to get a photo.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank cannytripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Coffee & Chocolate cake”
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

Went here when I visited the Island ,nice small cafe loved the decor .Only one staff member & it was busy ,she was pleasant and coped well under pressure .One problem was our drinks of cafe latte & hot chocolate were not very warm .The cake was brill .

Helpful?
Thank Carol I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Vanille also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Vanille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing