We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“good night's sleep but little more” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cumulus Kallio Helsinki

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cumulus Kallio Helsinki
Ranked #47 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“good night's sleep but little more”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This hotel is well situated, clean and provides a good breakfast every morning but the we found the reception staff were surly and unfriendly.

When we arrived at the hotel we discovered that there was no ventilation in our room and the windows were bolted shut. When we brought this up with the man on reception it felt as though he had little time for us. Before we had finished explaining he dismissed us and told us to use the small desk fan.

The shower flooded the bathroom whenever we used it. When we brought this to the attention of the staff their solution was to roll a towel and place it on the floor.

This hotel could have easily been a 4 or 5 if only the service we received was to higher standard and we were made to feel welcome.

Room Tip: Don't take the 2nd floor - it is the only floor where the windows don't open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Philip N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    42
    52
    13
    3
See reviews for
12
27
25
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ostrava
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Visited this place during a business tour for four days. My stay was very relaxing and I never felt away from home. Stunning décor of the building was very impressive and the moment I entered the place I was left surprised. I have not expected this much. Food, rooms, services of the staff all were really beyond my expectations. I will definitely recommend this place to my other friends.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Madchen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vantaa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I have just returned from this amazing hotel and can't wait to share my views about this wonderful property. From the moment I entered the building, I was treated like a royal guest. The level of luxury, services and sheer perfection they offer is unbelievable. Entire property is very clean and every corner is properly utilized. Rooms are gracefully decorated and well-equipped with things of need. All meals were good, but breakfast was my favorite. I will definitely come here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kreeta V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Petersburg, Saint Petersburg City, Russia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

It was my first trip to Helsinki and honestly I booked everything last moment and decided to spend more on entertainment thus choosing a bugdet place. Generally the staff was friendly, the check-in was fast, there were sufficient choice of tourist brochures in the lobby, but their elevator is thrilling. Activation with your room key is really safe but the construction is weird with the number of doors to lock it and to start it. The room was small but I am not complaining. The walls are really-really thin and I understood it when my neighbours put the TV volume at maximum and left the room earlier to have breakfast) The shower is not convenient with water splashed all over the floor when you get out of it. The breakfast offers good and decent selection of foods. Did not use the Irish restaurant inside - I only noticed it after check-out.

All in all it is an okay place. BIG PLUS is convenient tram stops around. However what scared me most is the surrounding. It was NOT ONCE that I saw bums, beggars and some dirty drunkards around the hotel and the stadium nearby!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LFtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
306 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Hotel is located in Kallio-area, so there are lot of cheap bars and restaurants nearby. Two trams stop just by the hotel, so getting into city center of Helsinki is easy; tram ride takes 10-15 minutes. Parking places near hotel are quite easy to find.
Rooms are clean and modern and quiet. Staff is friendly and there are plenty of free maps and brochures of Helsinki available in the lobby.
For breakfast you get a lot of choice (from meatballs and sausages to cereals, cake and berries). Breakfast is served until 11 am on Sundays and until 10 am other days.
I will stay here for sure again, when I visit Helsinki.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kuusimaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
165 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We would stay again. Hotel staff were helpful, spoke English, and the hotel was located across the street from a tram which provided a short ride to city center, the wharf or wherever. Although the room was small, the TV provided access to a wide variety of channels and the breakfast buffet was excellent. The hotel seemed to be frequented by locals primarily. Hotel Cumulus Olympia was so much less expensive than the other hotels in Helsinki like the Radisson.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, Middlesex
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This hotel is a long walk from the centre of the city, but good value if like me you love walking. I had a twin room to myself, very comfortable, not a great view but very bright. Breakfast was a little limited, but quite good. What really surprised me was the sauna, great for unwinding after a long day. I had a great time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dragonmaster79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Park Hotel Kapyla
#45 of 64 in Helsinki
3.5 of 5 stars 73 reviews
Cumulus Hakaniemi
#37 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 276 reviews
Arthur Hotel
#41 of 64 in Helsinki
3.5 of 5 stars 837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ava Hotel
#43 of 64 in Helsinki
3.5 of 5 stars 134 reviews
Vironniemi
Hellsten Helsinki Senate
Hellsten Helsinki Senate
#30 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 306 reviews
Cumulus Meilahti
#44 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cumulus Kallio Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumulus Kallio Helsinki

Property: Cumulus Kallio Helsinki
Address: Laentinen Brahenkatu 2, Helsinki 00510, Finland (Formerly Cumulus Olympia)
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cumulus Kallio Helsinki 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Cumulus Kallio Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumulus Olympia Helsinki
Cumulus Olympia Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing