We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, staff, breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna
Ranked #20 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level Contributor
111 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great location, staff, breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2007

3 days in late August at a great rate. Superior location, directly across from the train station in central Helsinki within walking distance to the port. (Because of our luggage (10 day trip), we took a taxi to the port for our ferry to Tallinn, around 11 Euros, but you could easily walk.) Several shopping centers within 3 blocks and plenty of restaurants.
Superior, friendly and knowledgeable staff at front desk, could not have been more helpful. Free internet access in the lobby, but you have to stand up and they only want you to use it for a short time. Breakfast on 10th floor is unbelievable - the best selection and presentation of the hotels on our trip. Really spoiled us early in the vacation!!
Room and bathroom are large and very clean. Wall mounted soap and "all over" shampoo/gel dispensers - no separate bottles - but you do get the prized sewing kit which seems to be a very rare ammenity these days.
We tried to get this hotel again on our return to Helsinki for a couple of days in September, but the rates were almost 3 times what we paid in late August.

  • Liked — Location and cleanliness
  • Disliked — Small lobby - often very crowded
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kcl491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,791 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    922
    339
    64
    17
See reviews for
364
432
203
505
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
123 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2007

This hotel almost defines the "centre" of Helsinki. Across the street from main Railway Station and FinnAir airpot bus stop. Central location to all city facilities.

Excellent locaion. All the main restaurants and Stores and Malls within 200yds walk. (Forum, Kampii, Stockman etc) Supermarket in basement and Sokos department store in floors 1-5 was super convenient.

My room was very modern, typical finnish design, excellent pillows, very clean, LCD TV, Mini Bar, Free Wifi etc. Everyhting you need and expect in a hotel these days

Breakfast on 10th floor restauarnt was fine, masses of choice but very busy and often difficult to find a free table - no problem to share of course. Particuarly good selection of muesli's, dried fruit selection, fresh fruits, yoghurt selections and cereal selections - recommended.

Everything you want in a hotel.
Fair price and Free Wifi that works - Highly recommended.

NOTE
Finnair bus is EU5.50 each way, and stops/starts just outside the station - approx 100m walk from front door, and better than the EU33 Taxi fare I paid on arrival. Runs every 20mins.

(Strangest thing I discovered whilst wondering around Helsinki one night was there were at least 4 McDonalds Burger joints within 250m of hotel, including one built into the hotel block itself.)

  • Liked — location, excellent value
Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
8 Thank Tripper21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biloela, Queensland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2007

Stayed here for 2 nights in Feb 2007. This was our first visit to Finland so were not quite sure what to expect.
Location of hotel is very good being right near the railway station and Finnair airport bus, and attached to a department store.
Also I had taken my ice skates on the journey from Australia and was able to skate on the open air ice rink right near the rail station.
We did not try the hotel's ground floor restaurant as we did not want to sit amongst the cigarette smoke.
Breakfast in the upstairs restaurant had a good range to choose from.
In the immediate vicinity there are a few restaurants including Macdonalds. Also a number of shopping malls.
Check in staff friendly and efficient.
Would stay here again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Locks on lifts
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Qldaussiegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2007

Great location next to the station, particularly if you have to take the early train to St Petersburg the next day. Also close to city centre. Nice, clean room, though a bit on the small side. Direct access to Sokos Department store is a bonus.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank clemchu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2007

Top location near the railway station. And direct indoor entrance to the Sokos-store is very good especially in winter!

Stayed in a not so big single room, clean and fresh, but enough for on person. The location on high floor was superb! Views of the beautiful railway station and a HUGH private balcony was a big plus! When it was located high up you aren't at all disturbed of the noice from traffic.

Breakfast buffet was good, though missed some small details like fresh newly baked/warmed rolls and the coffee could have been nicer! The staff could be a bit more polite at breakfast... A "good morning"-greeting would be expected...

Overall my favourite hotel in Helsinki! Right before Scandic Simonkenttä. The only thing that makes Vaakuna nr 1 to me is the location in the same building as the second largest store Sokos in Helsinki.

  • Liked — The location, the direct entrance to Sokos, the McDonalds close by
  • Disliked — -
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank maritaFinland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2006

Superb location right next to the Central station, in the very heart of Helsinki.
Rooms are large and clean. The breakfast room on the top floor (10th) gives a great view over the city. Staff great and free wireless internet cards available at the reception.
I recommend to take the Finnair shuttle to and from the airport, it stops right in front of the hotel and costs only EURO 5.20 one way. It takes a little over 30 minutes. In case you need a taxi in peak hours, book one hour in advance at the reception, the queus for the taxis will otherwise frustrate you.

  • Liked — Location and good quality
  • Disliked — Due to the airco, the windows cannot open.
  • Tips/Secrets — Book taxis in advance
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank arne68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA, USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2006

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights while on part-leisure (him) part-business (me). Everything about it was perfect. Our view of the gloriously designed train station was magnificent, absolutely our favorite part of our stay. The room was spatious and well-designed. The breakfast was hearty with ample variety. The lobby was comforting to come into from the snowy, snowy cold dark winter! When my husband lost his gloves, we were able to pop into the adjoining upscale mall to buy a new pair before we went back out into the cold--perfect. Great central location, easy to pick up cabs or public transporation, although we walked almost everywhere. Enjoy your stay here-- we will always book here on a return trip!

  • Stayed January 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Kampinmalmi
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
#14 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki
#32 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna

Property: Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna
Address: Asema-aukio 2, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#10 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#14 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#19 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna 3.5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beautiful functionalist Sokos Hotel Vaakuna is located on the best spot in town, in the centre of everything, with all of central Helsinki within easy reach. The hotel comprises 270 rooms for non-smokers with sound-insulated windows and individual room cooling system. From the balconies of the rooms on floor 9, you see Helsinki in all its glory. The hotel also has 6 comfortable meeting rooms. The present ambiance of the hotel, completed in 1952, is a splendid show of Finnish design traditions. The hotel is protected by the National Board of Antiquities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokos Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing