We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time slip back to the 1960s” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna to your Saves list
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Asema-Aukio 2, Helsinki 60100, Finland (Vironniemi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 63 Hotels in Helsinki
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
237 reviews
213 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Time slip back to the 1960s”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2009

The outstanding feature about this hotel is the retro decor from the 1960s. But whereas the similar sytle hotels from the Yugoslavia period in the Adriatic, for example, aren't well maintained, this one is. The lobby is a classic of this genre and unforgettable. The location cannot be beat, just across from the train station and two blocks away from the main esplanade. I'd have to fault their service when they took unusually long to check us in. The breakfast was also super crowded to the point where we had to wait for a table to become free. There is free wireless.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoglets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,025 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Jacksonville
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2009

Customer service was very good. I was worried about my lack of native language. Everyone spoke English.
Breakfast buffet was very impressive.
I have been looking for coffee or tea for 2 days. The only place I can find it is in the restaurants.
I could really use a cup of coffee right now!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LepStewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2009

We stayed here for two nights, we opted for the delux / superior room and it was massive and really comfortable! Great views out to the train station and square. We stayed on the sixth floor and had no problems with street noise.

The breakfast was busy, and the lady on the reception did say that the last hour of the breakfast service can be on the busy side.

The hotel was very clean and the sauna was a fantastic place to unwind after a hard days sight seeing. I loved the decor, it was fantastically 1950's - and the chairs in receptions were suberb design.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin12Watford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

Sokos Hotel Vaakuna must be the best location to first-time travellers. Rooms are spacious, especially the one that we stayed (a superior room). The bathroom and toilet look dated and need a modern overhaul.The breakfast can be hectic though as no one seems to take note of whoever is getting up to the top floor restaurant and the best seats (with a view by the window) would all be occupied by eight o' clock in the morning.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AddSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, CA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

Business hotel by the main train station, modern art museum, theatre and restaurants. We were there for a conference my husband went to and I think we got the smallest double room because a guidebook said the rooms are huge and it wasn't. It was comfortable enough but there was no reading lights or end tables by the bed (a round table was on one side) and the bathroom was so narrow that anyone with longer legs would have a problem sitting down. Also the blackout curtain didn't quite cover the window and in the summer it's light almost all night. But otherwise the hotel was fine and certainly has everything. Saunas, a pool (didn't know about it until the night before I left), rooftop restaurant/bar where a huge breakfast buffet is served, "relaxation room" with massage chairs, and in the same building a tapas restaurant, a McDonald's, a coffee shop, and - no kidding - a JC Penney's-type department store with a full supermarket and liquor store in the basement. Very clean and well-staffed. Many families and tour groups were there.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hello2World
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overijssel
Level Contributor
84 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2009

The hotel is almost next to the railway station. When we first saw it from the outside, we were prejudiced: a big ugly Russian-style building, that can't be nothing.

The inside is much better, but nothing fancy. You can see the building has been renovated thoroughly, but it is still an old building. The room was very small and the bathroom was really like 2x1 m2. We were with four friends and the other room's bathroom was extremely large, nevertheless illogical designed with a big hall.

Pro's: Sauna, staff.

Con's: Breakfast, small rooms

Tips:

* For a few euros you can take the Finnair coach to the airport from the railway station.
* The Mc Donald next to the hotel (all the normal restaurants were already closed when we arrived) is the worst I have ever visited.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Kampinmalmi
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
#12 of 63 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 631 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna

Address: Asema-Aukio 2, Helsinki 60100, Finland
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#10 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#14 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#19 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna 3.5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beautiful functionalist Sokos Hotel Vaakuna is located on the best spot in town, in the centre of everything, with all of central Helsinki within easy reach. The hotel comprises 270 rooms for non-smokers with sound-insulated windows and individual room cooling system. From the balconies of the rooms on floor 9, you see Helsinki in all its glory. The hotel also has 6 comfortable meeting rooms. The present ambiance of the hotel, completed in 1952, is a splendid show of Finnish design traditions. The hotel is protected by the National Board of Antiquities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokos Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#