We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An older hotel, in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna
Ranked #20 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Seabrook
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“An older hotel, in a great location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

Date of Stay: 2014-02-27

The hotel is an older one, and in need of a bit of a refresh. The checkin staff were more than helpful, especially when I need to print something (my employment contract!).

The rooms are clean and functional, which, after 30 hours of travelling was all we needed!

The lifts are quite small, and we did struggle a bit with luggage, but we managed.

There are two breakfast options, before 6:30am which is held in the lobby. It's very very simple, but enough to get you started. After 6:30 breakfast can be taken in the restraunt on the 9th floor.

The location is why we chose this particlular hotel. RIght next to the railway stataion (we had a trip to take at 7am the next morning). The Finnair bus from the airport will drop you off at the railway station. So for us, the location was perfect.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisGWarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaakuna, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review!

I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed our friendly service and found our location excellent. Our hotel was built for the Olympic Games in 1952 and the hotel is protected by the National Board of Antiquities. Refurbishment is always done at certain periods and I'm sure the same beautiful style will be preserved in the future too.

Welcome back to Vaakuna when next visiting Helsinki and have a nice week!

Best regards,
Hilkka Järvelä
Hotel manager
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, Helsinki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,792 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    922
    339
    64
    18
See reviews for
364
433
203
505
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
101 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

Stayed at Sokos Vaakuna for a night recently due to its central location. Upon check in the lady at front desk let a couple of people jump the line in front of me. She then, when it finally was my turn, continued to be quite rude which was a bit surprising and a quite bad start to our stay. Rest of staff encountered were friendlier fortunately. The elevators was another issue since they were so small that only 2 or 3 people could fit each time.

The room itself was decent enough and had a view over the Sokos mall which also is connected to the hotel. There was a flatscreen-TV, free wifi and a decent bed as well as a view over the mall.

The breakfast was not something to write home about, but was included, edible and featured for example Karelian pasties. Location is really good situated at the Railway Square and exactly where the Finnair Airport buses drops you off. And the hotel is also connected to the Sokos shopping mall from the lobby through a passage way. There is also a small door close to the elevators at the 10th floor where breakfast is served where you can go out and watch Helsinki from above. Great for pictures.

If it hadn't been for the surprisingly unfriendly check-in, Sokos Vaakuna had been fine, just not very impressive.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pakk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaakuna, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review!

It was nice to hear that you enjoyed our great views and the easy connection to department store!
I am however entirely disappointed to hear that at your check-in our staff was not friendly. It is entirely against our service policy. I would be really greatful if you would reach me at hilkka.jarvela@sok.fi so I could look into this. Also I welcome you back again, for I am sure we can improve your opinion of us!

Have a nice week and thanks again for your review!

Best regards,
Hilkka Järvelä
Hotel manager
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, Helsinki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rovaniemi, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

Room were very small but the view was nice. Staff was quite unkeen to make us feel welcome in to their hotel. Breakfast was rich and the staff in there was very kind to us. All in all, the experience would have been exellent if not for the poor welcoming from the receptionist. Now because of that it was only just nice.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jenni R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaakuna, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review! I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, breakfast and the great views over Helsinki city centre. However, I'm really disappointed by the service you experienced at check-in. Your experience does not meet our standards and I would be grateful if you reached out to me personally at hilkka.jarvela@sok.fi with your check in date and name/ confirmation number. With this information I can go through your review with the receptionist and ensure that our service is always friendly and welcoming.

Before booking your next stay please contact me personally so I can offer you something nice for your next visit!

Best regards,
Hilkka Järvelä
Hotel manager
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, Helsinki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seinajoki, Finland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

This hotel is my permanent abode in Helsinki, not because it is so wonderful but because it lies right next to the main railway station, as I normally travel to Helsinki by train. So I know the hotel well and it is quite adequate for my purposes.

This time the room had - judging by the design - been originally a single room and then been refitted to house two people. Thus, no reading lights for the bed, watching tv from bed awkward. These are small problems I can live with on a short stay. Previously I have been staying in other rooms, some of which have been very spacious and nice. You never know what you get, as the rooms seem to be of very different sizes.

This time - and so far only this time - the bed was so hard that in the morning my muscles ached for about thirty minutes before I could stretch them enough. My wife had the same problem. And the lampshade was broken, another first for this hotel.

All the other services were as per usual: a decent breakfast buffet, working lifts, friendly staff etc. And as we had discovered a really good price fof this stay, I guess we can say we got our money's worth.

I will stay hete in the future whenever I go to Helsinki, for the reasons mentioned earlier. But I do wish next time things will be a little bit better.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Suomimies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaakuna, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review! I'm happy to hear that you have stayed many times with us and plan to do so in the future too. I do apologise about the trouble you had on this last visit. If you would like to contact me directly on my e-mail hilkka.jarvela@sok.fi I would appreciate it. This way I could make sure that our maintenance will fix the problems in the room.

Wishing you a nice week and welcome back to Vaakuna when you are returning to Helsinki next time!

Best regards,
Hilkka Järvelä
Hotel manager
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, Helsinki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Great location for the station. Comfortable enough but the dinner was truly ghastly. If I had cooked pork as badly as that I would have beenembarrassedtogive it to the dog . Tough ,dry, horrid.
It wad a group meal bot no excuse for a professional chef.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jumble15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaakuna, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review! I am truly sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your meal. I will let our chef know about your feedback and I apologise that your meal did not meet our normal standards of excellent food quality. I hope your accomodation with us was otherwise nice and you had a good time here in Helsinki.

Wishing you a nice week and welcome back to Vaakuna!

Best regards,
Hilkka Järvelä
Hotel manager
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, Helsinki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

The breakfast buffet was amazing (and the view from the dining room was gorgeous). I have stayed twice and both rooms were very nice, the hotel is clean and the train station is right across the street. I didn't have a car the first trip and was surprised at how easy it was to walk everywhere from this hotel. It was super convenient to have a Sokos attached for those last minute travel essentials that I completely forgot to bring - easy to pick up with a door to the store from the lobby of the hotel! Wifi was great for video chat back home. Amenities in the room were as expected. I sampled the pool and sauna and they were nice too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 269SarahT269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaakuna, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your nice review! It is always nice to hear that we have succeeded in making our guests happy. Sokos department store really is easy to enjoy because it is under the same roof as our hotel and the views from the hotel are superb in my opinion too! Our guest saunas are warm in the morning and evening, but I'm afraid there is no pool. I will let the front desk staff know about your warm comments about them, thank you so much!

Wishing you a nice week and hope to see you here at Vaakuna again!

Best regards,
Hilkka Järvelä
Hotel manager
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, Helsinki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

I stayed here for a week before Christmas and a week after Christmas. Fantastic rooms that are spacious and the views are great. This is my third visit to Helsinki and each time I always stay at Sokos Vaakuna - the location is fabulous, the staff are amazing, the wifi is reliable and the breakfast is fabulous. Thanks for always making my stay fantastic.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bvont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaakuna, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind review! I am very glad to hear that you like our hotel and seem to always enjoy your stay with us!

Have a nice week and I hope to see you again here at Vaakuna when next travelling to Helsinki!

Best regards,
Hilkka Järvelä
Hotel manager
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, Helsinki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Kampinmalmi
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
#14 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki
#32 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna

Property: Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna
Address: Asema-aukio 2, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#10 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#14 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#19 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna 3.5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beautiful functionalist Sokos Hotel Vaakuna is located on the best spot in town, in the centre of everything, with all of central Helsinki within easy reach. The hotel comprises 270 rooms for non-smokers with sound-insulated windows and individual room cooling system. From the balconies of the rooms on floor 9, you see Helsinki in all its glory. The hotel also has 6 comfortable meeting rooms. The present ambiance of the hotel, completed in 1952, is a splendid show of Finnish design traditions. The hotel is protected by the National Board of Antiquities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokos Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing