We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good central hotel with very helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna
Ranked #20 of 65 Hotels in Helsinki
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
331 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Good central hotel with very helpful staff”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed two nights here prior to fly out to start our fortnight in Finland. Clean comfortable and the staff most helpful. The hotel is conveniently located close to the train station and close to the airport bus shuttle and walking distance to many sites.

We had to leave the hotel very early prior to the official start of breakfast so assumed we would be missing out on breakfast. But on checking out the staff member pointed out the light breakfast they provide for early departures - sandwiches, fruit, juice and tea or coffee - if only we'd known the night before we could have had something to drink but as it was we grabbed a sandwich and fruit each and rushed out into a snow storm to catch our shuttle bus to the airport. So a very lovely and considerate thought on the hotel's part to provide this light option for its guests.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobeTrotters4001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaakuna, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank You very much for Your review and rating. I am delighted that You
had a great experience during Your stay in our hotel!

I am sorry to hear that You were not aware of the possibility to have early breakfast, I will make sure that we will inform our guests better about this in the future.

Thank you again for this review and hope to see You again at our hotel!

Best regards,
Hilkka Järvelä
Hotel manager
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Helsinki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,893 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    970
    352
    69
    18
See reviews for
385
453
219
532
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Herndon, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed in this hotel on our first night in Finland and again on our last night. We had 2 completely different rooms. The first was OK but small with a very small bathroom. The room was clean and beds were comfortable. The second room was much larger with a shower and tub in the bathroom. Again, clean and the beds were comfortable.
The staff was very helpful when we had questions, the hotel is in a great location if you are going to explore the city and the breakfast is very good.
The sauna was nice but the hours were very limited.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaakuna, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear guest,

It was good to hear that Your stay with us has been nice! Thank you very much for Your review and rating, it is appreciated a lot.

Our room sizes vary from 20 square meters to 80 square meters depending on the room type. Some of the rooms have a balcony with great views and there are also rooms facing the inner court which guarantees sound sleep. Our saunas are open from 7 am to 10 am in the mornings and also from 5 pm to 9 pm in the evenings.

Thank You again for this review and I hope, that we can welcome You again to our hotel in the future.

Bests regards,
Hilkka Järvelä
Hotel manager
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Helsinki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietarsaari, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Every now and again, when it fits my work, I book a stay at Vaakuna. It always delivers that same old school cityhotel charm, without feeling outdated. The view from the last three floors is always a joy, no matter if your facing Kamppi or Eliel square. You have the buzz of Helsinki right at your feet.

The service is always really good and the staff tend to know Helsinki like the back of their hand and always offer friendly advice. The breakfast up at Loiste is a blast, in the summermonths you can enjoy it on the roof. Connections to both trains and the airportbuss is a minutes walk away and you basically live IN a departmentstore (Sokos).

Vaakuna is my favorite among the Sokos-chains hotels down town, and it has never let me down.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aacuz78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaakuna, Front Office Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for Your review and rating. I appreciate it a lot and I am very glad that You have had great experiences during Your stay in our hotel.

Thank you again for this review and hope to see You soon again!

Best regards,
Hilkka Järvelä
Hotel Manager
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Helsinki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Hotel Vaakuna has a totally central location in Helsinki, accross the railwaystation. The house is full of history, planned for the olympic games 1940 in Helsinki (cancelled because of the war). Location is perfect if you are coming by airport buss or train.
Outside it can be a little restless and noisy in the evenings, also not so clean. There can be drunken people specially weekend evenings and nights, Mc Donald beside is open until 5 o'clock in the morning!
Inside you can sit in a elegant armchair and admire the most beautiful lobby in Helsinki, style of 30ies! The personal is very polite and helpful.
The rooms are modern and well soundproofed. Rooms are clean and bed is comfortable. A single room is quite small.
The breakfast buffet is rich in scandinavian style. It seems that the main meaning can be quantity of different food and you can get easily saturated and will look after a more individual service. Less can be more beautiful. The hotel is big and that's why the restaurant can be crowded in the breakfast time.
Evenings it is nice to have dinner above the roofs. You have to reserve a window table and in the summer table on the nice terrasse. The restaurant is typical for big hotel, the food is ok but not a hit!

Room Tip: Ask a quiet room not far the lifts because the corridors are long.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ErikHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaakuna, Front Office Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Erik,

Thank you for your feedback! It was nice to hear that You've enjoyed Your stay with us and You were happy with the hotel as well as our staff members.

Wishing you a nice summer time and hope to see You again!

Best regards,
Hilkka Järvelä
Hotel Manager
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Helsinki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Waverley, Victoria, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

This hotel we have stayed at before numerous times and love the quirky, subtle features. This time we came with kids in tow. The location is fantastically convenient, especially that the Finnair airport bus is just across the road, and the hotel check in was easy, room was clean, well presented, and welcoming after a long day. The little touches too in the inclusive amenities was indeed appreciated, such as Lingonberry Bubble Bath. The mini bar was very well stocked with great variety, however there is an S-Market and an Alko in the basement so this always is a fair priced option should you need some alcohol or soft drinks. The chairs in the lobby are a sign that the hotel has kept a great interior theme that is reminiscent of an experience on the orient express, perhaps?

Views were great of the old Big Rex, and the breakfast was superb for a Finnish standards, with brilliant variety. Will stay again next time in Helsinki.

Room Tip: If you can get a room on the outer they are generally larger, however the interior rooms are still g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilkka J, Front Office Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Nathan,

Thank you very much for your review and your rating. I am very glad that you had an overall enjoyable experience in our hotel. The interior in the hotel is actually its origin and many parts of the building and the design are protected by the Finnish National Board of Antiquities.

Again, thank you for your review. I appreciate it very much and if one of your journeys is heading to Helsinki again, you are of course warmly welcome to our hotel again.


Best regards,

Nicolai Muhsal
Service Manager
Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Helsinki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

The last hotel I reviewed was a strong 3, this hotel is a weak 4.

The positives - location. Type in "Helsinki, Finland" into Google Maps and the pin will drop almost on top of this hotel. It is located across the street from the main train station and a 5 minute stroll from the main bus terminal. There is shopping and restaurants galore nearby.

The room itself has a great view and it is an okay size for a European hotel. My bed was a little creaky but comfortable, there was plenty of hot water and the Internet was free.

The negatives - the biggest negative is that there are three extremely small elevators, just enough for two people and luggage or four people without luggage, and they can be slow. Just behind them is another set of elevators that only goes to the top floor, but once when the queue was long I took one of those up, walked around to the main elevators, and then caught an empty one down to my floor. There didn't seem to be easy stair access, but then I was only here for two nights.

Parts of the hotel seem a little tired, but overall the place was clean and inviting. The fact that you could get free wireless Internet (it wasn't great but I've experience a lot worse) pushed this place into the "very good' for me.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sortova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilkka J, Front Office Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear Sortova,

Thank you very much for your review and rating. I appreciate it a lot. I am very glad, that you
had an overall good experience during your stay in our hotel.
The problem with the size of our elevator is acknowledged we have got several feedbacks about the same matter. Unfortunately we do not have any solution for this problem.

However, thank you again for this review and I sincerely hope, that we can welcome you again to our hotel in the future.

Best regards,

Nicolai Muhsal
Service Manager
Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Helsinki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

Centrally located near the main station, plenty of shops and restaurants around. Hotel itself was probably very grand in 1974 but could do with updating. Room was small with a single bed on the ninth floor and needed a refurb. It had a balcony, but with several inches of snow I didn't venture out. Couldn't get a table in the restaurant on the 10th floor at 6pm, it looked very busy so advisable to book. Overall, it is a perfectly adequate hotel so I rated it a 3.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank glyncoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilkka J, Front Office Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear glyncoy,

I like to warmly thank you for your review. I am very glad that you had an overall good experience in
our Hotel.
I completely agree with you, that the hotel rooms need an update. This is also acknowledged in the management and we are actually waiting to get a green light for renovation investment.
We are very much looking forward to that. As you also realized, the restaurant Loiste on the 10th floor is quite busy, because it has gained a good status over the years and got very popular. We highly recommend always to book a taple in advanced.

However, thank you again very much for your review and i sincerely hope, that we can welcome you again to our hotel some time.

Best regards,

Nicolai Muhsal
Service Manager
Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Helsinki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Kampinmalmi
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
#14 of 65 in Helsinki
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampinmalmi
Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti
Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki
#34 of 65 in Helsinki
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna

Property: Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna
Address: Asema-aukio 2, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#10 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#14 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#19 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna 3.5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beautiful functionalist Sokos Hotel Vaakuna is located on the best spot in town, in the centre of everything, with all of central Helsinki within easy reach. The hotel comprises 270 rooms for non-smokers with sound-insulated windows and individual room cooling system. From the balconies of the rooms on floor 9, you see Helsinki in all its glory. The hotel also has 6 comfortable meeting rooms. The present ambiance of the hotel, completed in 1952, is a splendid show of Finnish design traditions. The hotel is protected by the National Board of Antiquities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokos Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing