We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central, helpful, and a great base for the tourist”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna
Ranked #23 of 66 Hotels in Helsinki
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We found the receptionist on arrival an absolute gem in customer service terms. We were too early to check in, having arrived on the morning ferry from Tallinn, soagreed to return after leaving our luggage. We came back at the appointed time to be remembered from earlier, offered a hotel brolly as it was raining, given a map of the city and offered any further help, then an explanation of the hotel facilities. We had requested - and got - a room facing an inner courtyard as we were concerned about traffic and rail noise, and this was ideal as we heard neither.
Breakfast was a pleasure - plenty of choice, 10th floor restaurant with city views, and no time pressures.
When we reported a minor issue to reception (toilet seat loose) it was addressed immediately, and as it couldn't be fixed (Sunday p.m.) we were offered "Fix it tomorrow or we will happily offer you another room" - that's service.

Room Tip: We requested a quiet room, and overlooked an inner building - therefore no city view, but we could h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,022)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,026 - 1,032 of 2,022 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2012

The heading says it all. This is one of my favourit hotels in Helsinki. I used to stay there a lot in the good old day. It is still the same, and I loved it.

The good points are;
+location (close to railway station and absolutely dead-centre)
+architecture and style
+usually nice priced
+ok food upstairs on the 10th floor, and a tapas kind of alternative downstairs

There are however some buts;
-a bit tired rooms (I stayed in a junior suite and although it was big enough a bit rusty and not too happy room) Maybe the heavy raining outside did not help either....
-poor swedish langauge service..... it used to be better
-small elevators

All in all a very comfortable stay but cant get 5 star from me this time. I was eating on top floor and had a very good dinner and breakfast, and without any hesitation I can reccommed this place.

Welcome to Helsinki!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GoZanzibar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I spent 3 nights in this hotel. Everything was fine: staff, breakfast, location, price, free wi-fi etc. The only disapointment was a room view to the internal side of the building and no possibility to open the windows. The curtains should be closed the whole time.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maraquan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

The best impression was the friendly greeting at the check-in counter, as well as the great location across from the train station, since we arrived by train from Russia (on a beautiful, modern Finnish train). There is a room to store luggage which is very helpful for the variety of train and ferry schedules. The room itself is average. Unfortunately we had a room on the inside with a view of other walls. The unpleasant part is the bathroom. There is almost no counter space. The shower has no barrier on the floor between the shower and the rest of the room, so the bathroom floor becomes a pool with a soggy bath mat. Cleanliness is an issue. My husband had to clean a mat of hair out of the sink drain before it would drain water. We hope that is not usual. The breakfast has a wide variety so you will find something good to eat, just avoid the scrambled eggs. The location is within walking distance of most of the major attractions, and many restaurants. There is also a food market underneath the hotel. Helsinki is a wonderful place to visit, but we would try a different hotel next time.

Room Tip: Choose an outside room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Betty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We had a lay over in Helsinki on our back home from honeymoon. So, maybe my opinion is slightly biased because we traveled a lot for 2 weeks and had been in 4 other unique hotels on the sea, so possible the hotel appeared to us too dull because of the previous stays in those places.

The hotel based in great location - that is probably the biggest advantage - 2 min walking to the train station; 1 min from the bus stop where you take the bus to the airport, so in the middle of everything.

In my opinion, the hotel need some refurbishment and looks outdated.

It is good for a night or two if you planning to spend the day outside of the hotel. Good for comfortable sleep. The room is clean, free WiFi, comfy bed.

The breakfast is fine. The restaurant looks very spacious and bright because of the large windows. Food is ok (breakfast). There were some many fruits, which looked great, however, tasted like "paper" - no taste to it at all.

The staff is polite and friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lunaticana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

For those who do not like the design of the 1950s this hotel must look very old fashion. I liked it. The room (single) was not large but had a nice terrace where it was very pleasant to sit in the sun. As it faced the railway station, however, it was a bit noisy.
Breakfast was very good.
The first time I went to the sauna it was full of young scandinavians shouting, drinking beer and throwing vodka onto the stones. The next time I was alone.
Staff was efficient but not friendly.

Room Tip: Many rooms on the 9th floor have a terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jccpaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

A very good hotel in the center of Helsinki - the location could not be better. Everything starting from the reservation to leaving went very smoothly. We asked for a quiet room and got one from the 7th floor facing inner yard - not much of a view but very silent location. The breakfast is ok, and when we asked if we could keep the room a little longer than the usual noon (we left on sunday), there was no problem with that - excellent. Not a big or extraordinary experience, but it has everything that a good hotel needs. Will recommend.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank flygirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Kampinmalmi
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
#16 of 66 in Helsinki
970 reviews
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki
#37 of 66 in Helsinki
635 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna

Address: Asema-aukio 2, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#10 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#14 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#19 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range: $146 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna 3.5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beautiful functionalist Sokos Hotel Vaakuna is located on the best spot in town, in the centre of everything, with all of central Helsinki within easy reach. The hotel comprises 270 rooms for non-smokers with sound-insulated windows and individual room cooling system. From the balconies of the rooms on floor 9, you see Helsinki in all its glory. The hotel also has 6 comfortable meeting rooms. The present ambiance of the hotel, completed in 1952, is a splendid show of Finnish design traditions. The hotel is protected by the National Board of Antiquities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokos Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing