We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
Nearby Hotels
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$160
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$172
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Fabian(Helsinki)
$188
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$182
$157
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Helka(Helsinki)(Great Value!)
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$160
$150
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Scandic Paasi(Helsinki)
$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$177
$171
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Anna Hotel(Helsinki)(Great Value!)
$104
$101
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,012)
Filter reviews
1,012 results
Traveler rating
356
492
135
24
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
356
492
135
24
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop baramerican barart decotallest buildingtop floorjugend stylehistorical hotelcentral locationbeautiful roombig roomnice staybars and restaurantsthe heart of the citysingle roombreakfast was excellentbusiness tripmini bar
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
634 - 639 of 1,012 reviews
Reviewed May 18, 2009

Our tour of the Baltic states started with Helsinki as our gateway city. I booked the Sokos Torni on a whim not really knowing much about hotel options in Helsinki. Despite staying only one night here, it turned out to be quite a pleasant stay. Built in 1931, the hotel was the tallest structure in all of Finland at the time, and the tallest in Helsinki up until 1987.

The hotel is located within 15 minutes walking radius of the central train station, Kamppi shopping center, and the south harbor. It has a restaurant, two ground floor bars, and one fantastic rooftop bar providing the best views of the city. Free wifi access and baggage room are also offered.

For €99 per night, the double room is surprisingly spacious and bright with modern furnishings typical of Scandinavian style (think Ikea). Other room amenities include oversized windows, tv, phone, hair dryer, iron/board, electronic safe, and a spic-and-span bathroom (very important). Breakfast buffet is also included in the rate. Stay away from the scrambled eggs though, it's not real eggs and it didn't go down too well with me.

Upon completing our Baltic tour, we were back in Helsinki. We liked the hotel so much that despite having booked at another hotel, we were back at the rooftop bar for nightcaps. Aside from the fake eggs and lack of exhaust fan in the bathroom, the Torni is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheAnswer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2009

My clients raved about the Kämp and it looks impressive indeed. Apart from that, Torni is the best hotel experience I had in Helsinki. Perfect, central yet quiet location, large and well equipped rooms, wonderful huge and comfortable bed, great breakfast and generally good ambience and service. However the hotel can feel a bit crowded as capacity is limited in elevators and dining room. If you stay on a higher floor you can get quite a view of the city too.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mast01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2009

Torni has a long history, being Helsinki's first high-rise building (I hesitate to use the word skyscraper). It was built in the early '30's and was used by the Russians from 1944-1947. According to their literature the most recent refresh/remodel was in 2006.

The hotel has a bit of a cramped feeling, mostly due to it's very stolid architecture. This is very typical for older buildings in Scandinavia. It has touches of the period when it was built, and the reception desk has a very nice, Art Deco feel with a rounded ceiling and curved darkwood paneling.

My room was a single and had a very nice set of built-in cabinets in the entry, in place of a normal dresser. The bed was quite nice, although the two pillows were far too large and far too small--it made sleep a bit difficult because neither was comfortable. The bathoom was small and the shower door opened and closed awkwardly. There was also a flat panel TV, arm chair and writing desk, all very minimal and Scandic in their presentation. Free WiFi was available.

Cleanliness was a bit spotty, as the bathroom looked as though it could stand a really good scrubbing. Otherwise, the floors and other fixtures were very clean.

The breakfast was very nice and very convenient. The price was €11 and the quality and convenience made it well worth it.--you won't find anything comparable in the area. The downstairs American Bar and the top floor Ateljee Bar had nice drinks and the view from Ateljee is really nice. I kept trying to imagine drunken soldiers using the small winding staircases to get down from there and chuckled a bit at the thought.

As for other activities, there are several nice restaurants nearby, although the area is really better for it's daytime shopping (several nice Scandic design shops are within only a few blocks).

Claus K was strongly recommended by a co-worker but was fully booked. I'm quite happy with Torni and the price difference (€140 vs €200 for Claus K) also swings in its favor.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SaxSymbol73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2009

The first time I went to Helsinki, I passed the Hotel Torni on a stroll around town and thought, "if I ever come back here, that's where I'm staying" - just on the basis of its location and history alone. I liked Helsinki enough to return less than a year later (although I liked the city less second time round), and stuck to my plan of staying at the Torni.

Locationwise, it's hard to beat, with the railway station, shopping area and famous 3T tram virtually on the hotel's doorstep; Bulevardi, Esplanadi and the Design District a few minutes' walk away, and the harbour and Senate Square only slightly further.

But the first impression of the hotel inside is disappointing, with dirty red mats in the entrance indicative of a housekeeping team asleep at the wheel, a theme that was reinforced by more than a few hairs in the bathroom, and some noticeable dust on the desk, phone, TV etc. in the room. Throughout our stay the make-up of the room and cleaning of the public areas seemed lackadaisical at best.

Furthermore, I had understood that the hotel had a sauna (and indeed there is a sign in the hotel directing guests to one), but I was told upon enquiring about it that it was in fact merely a 'steam room' - i.e. not the real, full-heat Finnish deal.

It would be a shame to dwell on these negatives, though; overall we were very happy with our stay. Service at the reception was exemplary: friendly, welcoming and efficient. Our restaurant reservation requests were obliged with a minimum of fuss. The room was delightful, with evidence of recent refurbishment in a warm, contemporary colour palette complemented by a presumably original wooden floor. The bed was comfortable, and - a big thumbs up for this - the wi-fi was free. The bathroom was rather small and plain, but perfectly acceptable.

Breakfast was competent, with the usual array of cold and hot food (including the worst scrambled egg in the world, ever) plus some more unusal things like prunes in cinnamon syrup, Finnish rye bread rolls, small pancakes, local cheese and the world's blandest food: Karelian rice pasties. Slightly iffy filter coffee, too, but this isn't unusual in Finland.

Finally, if you've got your heart set on a true Finnish sauna experience then you can walk about five-to-ten minutes away to another Sokos hotel, the Albert (on Albertinkatu), and use theirs for free (bring your own towels, though). There are some bars very nearby that also have their own saunas but you have to book well in advance, and weekends are always busy.

Would I stay here again? I wouldn't be averse to it, although if my love of korvapuusti (Finnish cinnamon buns) happened to compel me to return to Helsinki again, I might be just as inclined to give somewhere else a try as I would to return to the Torni.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Acquiescent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2008

Stayed here for business travel. Very central location with everything you need to see easily accessible. Good value and good quality room, although a little small and a bit noisy. Great bar at the top with amazing views, even in the pouring rain! Recommended.

Stayed: October 2008
Thank Suki08London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews