We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Well Located Art Deco Gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Solo Sokos Hotel Torni

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Solo Sokos Hotel Torni to your Saves list
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Yrjonkatu 26, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Kampinmalmi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
342 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Well Located Art Deco Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Located just behind the Forum shopping centre and only only a 5 minute walk from the railway station and Finnair airport shuttle terminus this really is a lovely old art deco hotel. We found the hotel staff were very helpful and when we discovered that the air con in our room wasn't working, on what was one of Helsinki's hottest days, they happily moved us to another, bigger and cooler room.

The real draw of the hotel is the art deco design of the building and interior. Breakfast is included in the price of any stay at the hotel and there is a good selection of hot and cold breakfast options to choose from. There is complimentary wifi in the rooms. This is an old hotel which has, however, been maintained to a good standard whilst still retaining many of its original fittings and features - including a great old-fashioned lift.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nick w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torni-Management, Front Office Manager at Solo Sokos Hotel Torni, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Mr,

We want to thank you for this wonderful review!

We are happy to hear that you found the service helpful and a cooler room was arranged for you. We try our best to fulfill our guest’s needs.

Like you mentioned, the location is great. Sights and shopping possibilities all within a walking distance. Very convenient even for a short stay.

Have a nice summer and welcome back to Torni!


Best Regards,

Christina Skog
Solo Supervisor
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    382
    100
    19
    3
See reviews for
82
317
86
222
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

We booked a superior room ( about 30 square meters with balcony) for one night.
Location: perfect, the room (3rd floor) facing the street was quiet; still the cnetre was just one hundred meters away
Room: one should remember that the building itself is old, so rooms are not modern, actually a little bit shabby to be honest. Normally a superior room is better than this but on the other hand we got own balcony (without chairs, though) and the room was spacious.
Breakfast: excellent. Coffee served - quite rare in Finland these days!
Service: good. We got all the information needed.
All in all: in a scale from 1-5, I would give 4,5.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank millacilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torni-Management, Front Office Manager at Solo Sokos Hotel Torni, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Ms,

Thank you for your review!

I can't but agree with you about the location – in the heart of the city yet a quiet hotel.

Only some of the rooms have balconies, it’s a nice extra for some of the superior rooms. Glad you enjoyed it. I’m also very happy to hear you thought highly of the breakfast since we have invested in it after becoming a Solo hotel.

We hope to see you again in Torni!


Best Regards,

Christina Skog
Solo Supervisor
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

If you are in Helsinki, this is the place to stay.
Good value and decent sized rooms. The location is the most important to me ... perfect!
The loo has a view to die for ... and the bar is beautiful on either a cold (inside) or a warm night!
Would stay again!

Room Tip: High floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SharonForest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torni-Management, Front Office Manager at Solo Sokos Hotel Torni, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Ms,

Thank you for your nice review. We are happy to hear you had a good stay and find the location great for a stay in Helsinki. The view from the loo sure is special! ;)

We wish you a sunny summer and welcome you back to Torni in the future!


With best regards,

Christina Skog
Solo Supervisor
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

I fell in love with this hotel. It is in the heart of the city, and you can walk everywhere. The rooms are spacious and clean, beds are good, staff friendly and breakfast (included in price) was tasty. No street noise. Don't miss the rooftop bar! You'll get a spectacular view over Helsinki rooftops.

Room Tip: 2nd floor has a private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BodhiFi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torni-Management, Front Office Manager at Solo Sokos Hotel Torni, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Ms!

We are glad to hear that we got another "Torni lover"! :)
The hotel with its history and atmosphere has a lot or fans both inside and outside the hotel.

We hope to see you again soon in Torni!

With best regards,

Elina Salo
Solo Supervisor
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Level Contributor
68 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

We selected this city because of its proximity to the train station (we came in on the Allegro train from St. Petersburg and caught the Finnair bus from the train station to the airport). It's also well priced (because the Nordic countries are all pretty pricey).

We arrived early and our room was not ready. We completed check in and left our bags and returned later in the day after exploring the city. I found the staff at reception to be really welcoming and friendly and they provided us with maps and some suggested sights, as well as all the information about the hotel. We had a choice of rooms and went with the art-deco selection and it's a good sized room. It's clean and comfortable with nice linen. And there's plenty of room to hang clothing too. There is a safe, small fridge and tea and coffee facilities. Wifi is free and codes are provided for each device.

The most bizarre thing I found was that many of the pictures hanging in the hotel did not hang straight. I wanted to go around and fix them all up - but that's my bizarre mind at work!

The bathroom is small and that's not unexpected; it was totally adequate for our needs. I think they could provide robes for their guests (they don't seem to at the moment).

Helsinki is a great city and I'd love to come here again. Despite being May it was cool, so be prepared for any weather. Should we return in the future, I'd definitely stay here again. I see that they have earned a Travellers Choice Award from Trip Adviser this year and they are a good value hotel, so I'm not surprised.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torni-Management, Front Office Manager at Solo Sokos Hotel Torni, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Mr!

Thank you for taking the time and writing such a thorough review. We promise to do better with the paintings from now on! :D We have robes in our supreme rooms ans suites. We can also provide them into other rooms; you just have to ask.

Do come again during the summer, when it is really warm and lovely. The city is full of things to do then!

With best regards,

Elina Salo
Solo Supervisor
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrowford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

A great location in the city centre, near the train station. Also handy for the tourist, the Rock Church is just around the corner.
Very professional and helpful staff. Our room was very comfortable, clean.
You must go up to the roof top bar and enjoy the views over Helsinki at sunset.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Alanwickerjnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torni-Management, Front Office Manager at Solo Sokos Hotel Torni, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Mr!

So nice to hear that you found our hotel to be a good place to stay. The bar upstairs is a true legend; hope to see you there also in the summer!

With kind regards,

Elina Salo
Solo Supervisor
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

My wife and I were on a budget Scandinavian tour and Helsinki Finland was our first stop.
Great room and location for the price of less than 100Euro.
Good breakfast.
We liked the standard hotel format.
Great Location! Did I already mention this? and the bar upstairs has the best view in helsinki.
We arrived early as our flight had us in helsinki at midnight so we stuck around the airport till 6am to catch the bus to helsinki. arrived in the hotel around 7:30am - Reception couldnt check us in but had our luggage stored safely so we could get around the city and start our sightseeing.
Got back around 2PM and we were promptly checked in.
Probably the best hotel we stayed in Scandinavia better then the Scandic Edderkopen in Oslo Norway.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torni-Management, Front Office Manager at Solo Sokos Hotel Torni, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Mr!

We want to thank you for this wonderful review! Nice to hear that you were very happy with the hotel.

Welcome back! The summertime here in Helsinki is really lovely.

With best regards,

Elina Salo
Solo Supervisor
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Fabian Hotel
#1 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 927 reviews
Vironniemi
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Klaus K Hotel
#13 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 1,006 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Hotel Indigo Helsinki - Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solo Sokos Hotel Torni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solo Sokos Hotel Torni

Property: Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
Address: Yrjonkatu 26, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#10 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#12 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#12 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#15 Family Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Solo Sokos Hotel Torni 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sokos Hotel Torni is one of the most important landmarks in Helsinki, a classic with staying power in the heart of the city. Quiet location in Helsinki Design District, right next to the shopping and the entertainment area of Helsinki. We welcome you to experience the unique Torni spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Solo Sokos Hotel Torni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokos Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing