We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
Nearby Hotels
$224
$162
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$162
$152
Trip.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Fabian(Helsinki)
$190
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$224
$212
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$195
$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Scandic Paasi(Helsinki)
$176
$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
GLO Hotel Art(Helsinki)
$111
$106
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$185
$178
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$177
$172
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
$190
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,012)
Filter reviews
1,012 results
Traveler rating
356
492
135
24
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
356
492
135
24
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop baramerican barart decotallest buildingtop floorjugend stylehistorical hotelcentral locationbeautiful roombig roomnice staybars and restaurantsthe heart of the citysingle roombreakfast was excellentbusiness tripmini bar
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
488 - 493 of 1,012 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2013

This is still the number one in Helsinki hotels when it comes to character. Great "old" (early 20th century) building, the first "skyscraper" style house (14 floors I think) in this city. Great history within, good present and future as well. Great bars all three of them, decent hot buffet breakfast, sizeable double rooms, good bathrooms except for the water flooding from the shower to the main bathroom floor even at the most minimal dribble of water power and frequency. That bit needs sorting, always been the same issue here (please!).
For Helsinki prices, this is average and for the characterful different experience, and it is different compared to the bigger corporates in central Helsinki, it's worth the money.

Room Tip: The traditional style rooms are more homely than the Art Deco modernist ones in our view! You get a choice of style when you check in.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeenaSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

OK let's start with the fact that this review is as always as per my personal expectations which are obviously different to other reviewers and that's always good and I have given a very good rating. To start with this is an imposing building from the outside and once inside its very Art Deco and I like that look. We were late in the evening to check in, 10pm, no queues and staff were smiling and friendly. We were given our codes to access the free wifi along with the key cards and it was off to our floor. On exiting on the 8th it was all still very Art Deco but I was no ready for the room....well I hated it from the moment I walked in, purely a personal thing and great if you like that 'modern clinical' look, but it wasn't me I'm afraid and the design of the glass toilet and shower which allows your room mate to get a view of everything (if they so wish, it's not difficult) no privacy whatsoever. View from the windows was good though and you get a pod coffee machine in the room too, that was a nice touch. That's enough about the room now onto the 12th floor bar, ateljee. Wow, fantastic 360 views over the city, spectacular at night. You can even see planes landing at Vantaa in the distance but beware, if you want a drink in the clouds its not cheap a gin and tonic and Jack and coke cost just over €22 or £19. You pays your money and makes your choice. Breakfast was OK, all the usual items, cereals, breads, fruit, meat etc and cooked items including meatballs. It was busy in the breakfast room at nine in the morning and staff appeared somewhat overwhelmed we had to go and ask for our coffee. Other than that alright. Enquired with reception about the possibility of keeping our room a little later, no problem at all and kept it until 2pm, excellent service again. If I styled here again I would probably enquire as to what type of room I was getting as there are Art Deco themed ones on certain floors. Location is central to everything in Helsinki and about ten minutes walk from the railway station and airport bus drop off. Beware streets are not good for cases with wheels.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveRuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

When checking in to hotel Torni we were told that our room was with a view, and oh boy, was the receptionist right! We had a rather nice city view and also a nearly unobstructed view to the bathroom/toilet! The glass walls and doors revealed nearly everything and a even the toilet part was totally visible from the desk side of the room (801). Our room was obviously one of the modern ones, otherwise quite nice and comfy, but the bathroom/toilet was a minor shocker. If you wanted to pay a visit to the loo middle of the night you had to do it without the lights on, as otherwise the whole room would have been lit. Another problem was the lack of air conditioning. We tried to sleep with the windows open, but there was too much noise from the other buildings nearby.
To be fair the room was otherwise quite alright, with many mod-cons, the bed was comfy with lots of pillows and free Wi-Fi is always nice. And I fancied the pebble shaped toiletries.
The location is absolutely perfect, staff is friendly (extended our stay to 14.00) and breakfast wasn't too bad either. I would recommend this hotel for the adventurous ones - if not feeling like an exhibitionist you might want to check beforehand what kind of room you are getting.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank muija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

The very nice hotel. We spent the very romantic night in this hotel. Very beaitifull foods and smilest personnel. Near hotel are railwaystation, metro and central square and cathedral church. Near hotel the seaport from visitors to the boats.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElisKharkiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

This hotel was very good. Very helpful staff. Location - superb. In the very heart of he town. All the points of interest is within walking distance. Great department stores also nearby. From the nearby harbour you can take trips to nearby zoo Island or fort or take a roundtrip by small ship.
You can also make one day trip to Tallin which is about 2,5 h from Helsinki.
Breakfast in this hotel is also very good.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherine354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews