We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel, would highly recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
Ranked #14 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, would highly recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

We arrived after a 12 hour flight and because it was just after 7am we assumed we would have to leave our bags in storage and check in later on in the afternoon, but were given a room straight away which was a huge relief.
The hotel dating from the 1920s has real character and is so much nicer than the plastic "chain hotel" experience.
Room was comfortable and nicely furnished
Breakfast was superb - good variety and high quality healthy food
Hotel location is central, when we arrived we walked to hotel from central railway location where the Finnair airport bus dropped us off. We also walked from hotel to port (for a day trip to Tallin). Stockmanns dept store is nearby as well as Forum shopping centre which has a lot of chain stores and heaps of other shops.
We had dinner in the hotel restaurant as well and it was very high quality.
The rooftop bar in the tower section of the hotel is a memorable experience also
Would definitely stay here again if in Helsinki

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderingkiwis2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

900 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    433
    118
    20
    3
See reviews for
90
354
94
257
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

This hotel is located in the heart of Helsinki resulting in most things that we wanted to see being within walking distance. A 10 minute amble and we were at the pick up point for the Helsinki audio tour (this tour takes you around the city and shows you the highlights including the Sibelius monument and the church hewn out of rock). A large dept store is about 4 min walk away and the whole area has masses of places to dine. Trams for getting around the city and the Railway station are also very convenient as are the cathedrals and the harbour.

The hotel itself is clean and comfortable and serves a very good breakfast. Rooms are a reasonable size. Just be aware that on Sunday nights the Irish pub restaurant on the premises is closed. However with so many other eating places to choose from this wasn't really a problem.

The staff were happy to store our luggage on check out day until our train left in the afternoon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for the second year running and we intend to return next year. Last year we had a lovely room in the old Jugend part of the hotel and really enjoyed its charm. This time we were given a room in the modern part of the hotel, which didn't appeal to us as much so we were given another wonderful room in the old part, which surpassed all our expectations. The staff at the hotel are friendly and professional. The location is great, close to an eclectic mix of shops, restaurants and cafes. The breakfast deserves a special mention, choice is abundant and it is all tasty. We really love Torni and plan to return every summer!

Room Tip: Old part of the hotel has more charm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oulu, Finland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

this hotel seems to have a good reputation. honestly, I don't quite understand why. Staying there as I write this - rooms are very basic and SMALL, no air conditioning. HOT. Hotel staff quite impolite. For the money you can do a lot better somewhere else. Location is the only real advantage. Still do not recommend.

Helpful?
1 Thank santtuharvio
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Norwich
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

I stayed here for two nights prior to a Baltic tour and found the staff very helpful and polite, the rooms very clean and well maintained with good facilities and an excellent shower and a very good breakfast each day. The hotel is a mere stones throw from the Railway Station and a pleasant walk to the market and harbour.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GregNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

First time visit to Hotel Torni. Overall experience was very good and compared to the price the value was excellent. We had a room with a beautiful view over Helsinki city area. Room was not too big but suitable for our needs. The room was clean and nicely decorated, but could be even better with a little bit maintenance (small painting jobs mainly). It was a really warm day, so the room was also quite warm, maybe a little bit too warm for our taste. The room price included non alcohol drinks from the minibar, which was a really nice surprise on a warm day like that. Also the room included a Cupsolo coffee machine, so it was possible to get some real coffee in your own room. Nice. Service was always excellent and really friendly. And best of all, the breakfast was fabulous. Best that I have ever had.

Room Tip: Rooms with view, actually have a nice view. There are only four rooms in the highest floors, so it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NNe196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

An excellent stay at the Solo Sokos Hotel Torni. Rooms are stylish and comfy. The location is perfect and I have to say: best bteskfast in town! Service at the reseption as well as at the restaurants - very good! No complaints.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Klaus K Hotel
#15 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel F6
#1 of 64 in Helsinki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,079 reviews
Vironniemi
Hotel Kamp
Hotel Kamp
#6 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solo Sokos Hotel Torni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solo Sokos Hotel Torni

Property: Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
Address: Yrjoenkatu 26, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#12 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#12 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#14 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#15 Family Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Solo Sokos Hotel Torni 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sokos Hotel Torni is one of the most important landmarks in Helsinki, a classic with staying power in the heart of the city. Quiet location in Helsinki Design District, right next to the shopping and the entertainment area of Helsinki. We welcome you to experience the unique Torni spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Solo Sokos Hotel Torni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokos Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing