We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice, reasonably priced centrally located hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
Ranked #14 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very nice, reasonably priced centrally located hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

This hotel is perfectly located for exploring the city. You can get to all the main sights, the harbour, etc within 10 minutes. The staff were very polite and helpful at all times. The breakfasts are great and you can fill up here in the morning and quite easily skip lunch. Drinks in both bars are not cheap (as is the same for most bars in Helsinki) but the view from the rooftop bar is stunning and a great way to start your trip. You get free wifi access on more than one device. Standard rooms are not huge but are clean and perfectly adequate for a short break, although could do with better air conditioning as the room was a little stuffy at night. Overall a good hotel for the price and would recommend it to anyone on their first trip to Helsinki.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beetroothead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    434
    118
    20
    3
See reviews for
90
354
94
258
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, CT
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

The afternoon before we were due to arrive here, coming from the north, my husband broke his ankle. We went to a regional hospital (where we got very good care), but by the time we got out at 11 pm, with me at the wheel, our one priority was to get to Helsinki before dark. Luckily, this was possible since it was June 21, but it meant not stopping for dinner, which we we had missed the chance for earlier due to the accident. Well, when the front desk clerk Elissa saw my poor husband hobbling in on crutches, she sprang into action. She got us a room close to the elevator and she shanghaid the bartender, who had jiust come off duty, into helping us with our bags. We were distressed to find out that all their restaurants had closed, but the bartender managed to scrape up some sandwiches (which were delicious as well as filling) and with them Elissa sent up a bowl of fresh cherries. She offered us room service breakfast at no extra charge. We declined, but when I went down to fetch breakfast for my husband, all the staff knew who we were, and they ended up bringing up the breakfast on a trolley, as they call it, so we might as well have had room service. And the waitress refused a tip. This wonderful service continued for the next five days that we were there, as we had endless (but helpful!) dealings with the travel insurance company, and the hotel staff constantly and cheerfully helped us with phone calls, faxes, and other things: taxis, etc. The hotel truly became our home away from home and we cannot say enough good things about ALL the front desk and dining room staff.
The Finnish people in general were incredibly helpful and polite. A cab driver provided my husband with special help getting into the handicap entrance to a museum. When I offered him a tip (which is usually not expected), he declined, saying "That's not the Finnish style."

Room Tip: European hotel rooms tend to be small. Ours had enough furniture - cabinets, closets, bureau drawer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LEB123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Southern Finland, Finland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Best possible location in Helsinki.The room was really comfortable and quiet with a lovely view over the rooftops - the see-through bathroom walls were a bit surprising though. Be sure to have a drink in the bar on top of the hotel, especially nice around sunset. Breakfast was nice and the staff very helpful and friendly. This was a perfect choice for a romantic weekend.

Room Tip: Take a room with view, otherwise there's no difference with other Helsinki hotels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emilia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, GA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

I stayed for 7 nights in a deluxe double room which was quiet and clean with a comfortable bed and good air conditioning. The breakfast was outstanding. The location is near the train station and about a 15 minute walk from the pier.
A major trolly stop is a 3 minute walk from the hotel and a supermarket is located in the basement of the building next door. In addition the staff was very polite and helpful. All in all this hotel was an excellent choice for me.

Room Tip: choose the deluxe double room--it is worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank athensofga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

The hotel's location was perfect for accessibility to touristic places, and the rooms were comfortable. The staff were always warm, friendly and helpful. Left Helsinki with pleasurable memories. The only down side was that there wasn't any air conditioner in the room, we had to keep the window open, and in this case the music from the bars close by were interrupting when trying to sleep. But overall a great stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bgoknil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Wonderful place - very central. Great friendly reception staff. Yummy breakfast, clean rooms. Will stay again for sure! Walking distance to all attractions and chic shopping district and parks. Very funky bars right outside the hotel. Enjoy...

Room Tip: Ask for high floors for views or the old wong for art deco features.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

I stayed at Sokos Hotel Torni for two nights in mid June 2013. The hotel is very conveniently located in the city centre without being noisy. My room was spotlessly clean and very well equipped, including (among others) an iron which is helpful when you travel on business. I loved the heated floor on the bathroom, despite the fact that the latter was a bit small. Breakfast was nothing special but it was satisfactory. All in all, I had a pleasant stay at this hotel and I will prefer it again if I ever find myself in Helsinki.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OdysseusAthens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Klaus K Hotel
#15 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel F6
#1 of 64 in Helsinki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
Vironniemi
Hotel Kamp
Hotel Kamp
#6 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solo Sokos Hotel Torni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solo Sokos Hotel Torni

Property: Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
Address: Yrjoenkatu 26, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#12 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#12 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#14 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#15 Family Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Solo Sokos Hotel Torni 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sokos Hotel Torni is one of the most important landmarks in Helsinki, a classic with staying power in the heart of the city. Quiet location in Helsinki Design District, right next to the shopping and the entertainment area of Helsinki. We welcome you to experience the unique Torni spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Solo Sokos Hotel Torni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokos Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing