We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good Choice! Gret position!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki
Ranked #25 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Catania, Italy
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Choice! Gret position!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

The Hotel has an enviable position in the city centre; infact it is a crosspiece of the “Aleksanterinkatu” (the main shopping street in Helsinki), near the departmentstore Stockmann, the Kauppatori and the Central Station. In front of the Hotel there are many restaurants (also a Mc Donald’s), shops and the tram stop. The area is very safe and quiet, even if the building in front of our room had a big fan that worked for all the night and so it was a little noisy. I and my husband stayed here for 4 night in August 2010 and we booked a double room on the hotel website; when we arrived at the hotel they gave us a beautiful room at the 8th floor with a great view on the cathedral! We had breakfast in the hotel: the food was good and with a fairly good choice. The room furniture was discreet, bathroom wasn’t too small with bathtube. Moreover the hotel has a free wifi connection for guests, with a different key access every day, and a business room with a computer and a printer. The nearest supermarket is near the centralstation (5 minutes on foot from the hotel), inside the Sokos Vaakuna centre (very good and cheep); an other supermarket is inside the Kamppi center (3 minutes far from Sokos Vaakuna centre).
Finally I really suggest this hotel to stay in Helsinki because of its position, the price (isn’t too expensive) and staff is very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CristinaPneum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    365
    179
    32
    7
See reviews for
128
164
82
238
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
165 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

I stayed at Sokos Helsinki for two nights during business trip. The room was nicely decorated, spacious and clean with a comfortable bed. The bathroom was fantastic - I was surprised by a number of transparent walls The location of the hotel is also excellent with a short distance away from anything in the city center.

All staff were extremely friendly and professional from the moment we arrived.

Sokos is one of the nicest places I have ever stayed. I recommend it to anyone and hopefully will return someday.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grover_pl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
133 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010

Fair hotel, fair breakfast with a variety of fresh fruits, very good and efficient service at the reception. Rooms are larger than usual, be aware to take with you soap, shampoo and bath stuff as the hotel is providing only shower gel.
The location is excellent, with 5 minutes walk to the Market place (place to leave by boat in any direction), 5-10 minutes walk to center and 2 minutes walk to the main shopping street. Public transportation is also at 2-5 minutes to walk. The hotel is surrounded by clubs and bars.
It s a very good choice for a tourist.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana_Romania_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kempele, Finland
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

Sokos Hotel Helsinki is always the hotel in which we stay when we're in Helsinki. The location is absolutely fantastic - it's close to everything. The Esplanadi park is just a minute's walk from the hotel, and so are the shopping streets and the department store Stockmann. There are lots of restaurants nearby.

The size of the rooms is good: we've stayed in a room for two and in two different size superior rooms. The hotel is clean and it's staff is friendly. If you're traveling by car the parking costs, as usual in Finland, but if you park to the right side of the car park you come back up to the ground right opposite to the hotel.

There's not really anything negative to say about this hotel, so I definitely recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NJeane-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

Stayed for a weekend, and loved it! Central location, great rooms and friendly staff. The breakfast is also great.

Everything you need.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller189934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2010

Planned to spend 2 nights here but due to volcanic ash, stayed 4 nights. The reception desk staff were always friendly & helpful, even when very busy. They rebooked rooms, moved our luggage, allowed us access to our room until 2pm on last day. When I advised reception that the shower head was loose, it was repaired within the hour. We had 3 different rooms,due to rebooking, all adequate, clean, warm & comfortable. Breakfast was plentiful & good quality.
The location is very central, we walked from the station with our cases, 10 mins, and the harbour/market area is about 5 mins away. Plenty of restaurants & coffee shops near by.
Happy with our stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank waznjules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

i visit helsinki realy often for weekends and i think this hotel is the place i prefer to stay from now. good comformity of quality and price and of course a great location! right in the center of everything. room is modern and minimalistic but comfortable and has everything i need for a weekend trip.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mishka007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna
Kampinmalmi
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
#15 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 824 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki

Property: Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki
Address: Kluuvikatu 8, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki 3.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern and cosy Sokos Hotel Helsinki is located in the heart of Helsinki, between Ateneum (the Museum of Finnish Art), and the Senate Square. The hotel is located next to the major shopping streets and it is only 300 meters from Helsinki Central Station. All the hotel rooms are designed with fresh, Scandinavian style and have hardwood floors, air conditioning, free Wi-Fi and flat-screen TV. Some rooms have a private sauna. There is a complimentary internet point with three computers in the lobby area. The hotel also houses two great restaurants: Fransmanni and Memphis. Fransmanni offers French-inspired cuisine and the hotel’s rich breakfast buffet is served there every morning. Memphis is a more upbeat restaurant with tasty burgers and cool drinks. The hotel is also a great venue for small-scale meetings, and offers two meeting rooms for a maximum of 30 persons. The sauna department is located at the top floor and can also be rented for private use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helsinki Sokos Hotel
Sokos Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing