We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Convenient Location, A/C not working super well” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki
Ranked #25 of 63 Hotels in Helsinki
Level Contributor
78 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Convenient Location, A/C not working super well”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

nice location, easy to get to everything. They had a nice breakfast available. the rooms air conditioning did not seem to be working too well. Overall though a good value for the money. It was very quiet & we slept well.

Room Tip: Lower level room may be cooler. Ours was high up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sheralynbennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi_Ruti, Johtaja at Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear sheralynbennett,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It might come as a suprise to some, that a hotel in the heart of the city might be this quet. But our hotel is located so that the traffic noise won't bother our guests.

Please accept my apologies for the AC not working super well. The heat wave was a long one, and some of the rooms were a little too warm. I hope you enjoyed the warm weather in Helsinki though!

Welcome back!

Best regards,

Heidi Ruti
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    432
    210
    36
    8
See reviews for
149
202
92
287
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampere
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

We upgraded to a superior room when arrived. In this hotel it means a little bit more room space, bathrobe, slippers and coffee/tea making equipment. Too bad that the extra space was not utilized in any way as the room only had one recliner even though there would have been space for at least three or four. So we felt the room was underfurnished. But this was something we could cope with. The problem was the temperature in the room. We found it odd that the hallway and other public areas were much better cooled than the actual room. This was a major setback because one of the main reasons we picked this hotel was that it was said that the rooms have AC (which they did but not powerful enough). Well the staff was very friendly and understanding and agreed to give us another room from the other side of the hotel. This room was little cooler but still so hot that sleeping was difficult. I understand that this kind of temperatures are rare in Finland, even in summer, but anyway the temperatures in the rooms should be controlled year through. If central AC can not cope it, I would suggest investing for portables. I would not stay here again during July.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are not propably worth the price. At least ask to see them first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MVehvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi_Ruti, Johtaja at Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear MVehvi,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel! I'm very sorry, that the temperatures were too warm during your stay. Finland had unusually hot weather this summer; it was the hottest summer in 50 years. I'm afraid some of our rooms were a little too warm; AC couldn't keep up with the heat coming through windows. I'm happy to hear that our staff was able to help with the matter and the room facing away from the sun was a bit cooler!

Best regards,

Heidi Ruti
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

We were booked in for 5 days but made it the full week as we had so many outings and activities. The hotel is well situated in Kluuvi district right next to a Metro station and close to the Esplanadi as well. Staff were helpful and efficient. Our room was comfortable. Breakfast was plentiful and a good selection of food. At peak times there were queues at breakfast so we learned to time our arrival. It's less than 5 minutes' walk from the Central Station.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from Kluuvikati as there is so much happening in this area that there is inev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi_Ruti, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Mark W,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It was a delight to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. At summertime the breakfast is often busiest at the last hour. But like you said, queing can be avoided by arriving a bit earlier.

I hope to see you again in the near future. Helsinki is amazing at winter time as well!

Kind regards,

Heidi Ruti
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff, great area, quite enjoyable overall. My only complaints were that it was hot (not necessarily the hotels fault since they were quick to open the windows when requested) and the breakfast was crowded and not well laid out for the flow of people. Oh, also the gym is an extra fee so if you're interested in that then that might be good to know.

Helpful?
1 Thank Monique D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Heidi_Ruti, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Monique D,

Thank you for your review of our hotel! I was happy to hear that overall your stay was enjoyable. The last few weeks have been very hot in Finland, but good to hear that opening the window helped a little.

It is true, that the last hour of the breakfast is often the busiest, especially at summer time. We try to inform our guest about this at the check in, so that it won't be a surprise in the morning.

Easy Fit Helsinki Club fitness center is not operated by us, so I'm afraid we can't offer it free of charge. At the moment it costs 8€/stay for our guests.

Welcome back to Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki next time you visit Helsinki!

Kind regards,

Heidi Ruti
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ca
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

Gracious Finns....we've fallen in love with this city and stayed in this lovely hotel located in the heart of it. The staff couldn't be nicer and the rooms are clean, spacious. The beds are comfortable. We had no problem obtaining an iron to press a few things. Dinner was very nice as well. We did look across the street at a McDonald's which was a little disconcerting but then, every city has one and I'm glad they are well received. Not our choice for a meal when there's so much great food available but that's another review.

Room Tip: A vacuum cleaner was being used in the room above ours from 11:30 to 2:00 am which was a bit disconc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Idame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi_Ruti, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Idame,

Thank you for your very kind words! I welcome you back to Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki next time you visit Helsinki!

Kind regards,

Heidi Ruti
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

Great location: 3 min. walking to the train station and airport buses; 5-10 min. - to the sightseeing places. Staff at the reception was very hospitable and helpful. The receptionist kindly organized early breakfast for us because we had to leave before the opening hours.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vilte L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi_Ruti, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Vilte L,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel! I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our staff very helpful. I'd like to think that our staff can tell you the best kept secrets of Helsinki!

We like to take good care of those who have to check out early. But early breakfast is not the same as our buffet breakfast, so I hope that next time you have time to enjoy full breakfast! Welcome back to Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki!

Best regards,

Heidi Ruti
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

Stayed here for two nights, really enjoyed it. It's in a brilliant area of the city, literally two minutes walk from the national gallery, train station and cathedral. The bedrooms decorated plainly but nice, the room had a bath and free wifi. No coffee making facilities in the room.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi_Ruti, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Andrew S,

Thank you for your review, great to hear that you find our location to be excellent. All the superior rooms and suites have coffee and tea making facilities even though standard rooms don't have those.

Welcome back to Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki next time you visit Helsinki!

Kind regards,

Heidi Ruti
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna
Kampinmalmi
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
#14 of 63 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampinmalmi
Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki
#30 of 63 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki

Property: Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki
Address: Kluuvikatu 8, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki 3.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern and cosy Sokos Hotel Helsinki is located in the heart of Helsinki, between Ateneum (the Museum of Finnish Art), and the Senate Square. The hotel is located next to the major shopping streets and it is only 300 meters from Helsinki Central Station. All the hotel rooms are designed with fresh, Scandinavian style and have hardwood floors, air conditioning, free Wi-Fi and flat-screen TV. Some rooms have a private sauna. There is a complimentary internet point with three computers in the lobby area. The hotel also houses two great restaurants: Fransmanni and Memphis. Fransmanni offers French-inspired cuisine and the hotel’s rich breakfast buffet is served there every morning. Memphis is a more upbeat restaurant with tasty burgers and cool drinks. The hotel is also a great venue for small-scale meetings, and offers two meeting rooms for a maximum of 30 persons. The sauna department is located at the top floor and can also be rented for private use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helsinki Sokos Hotel
Sokos Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing