We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not that flash”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki
Ranked #26 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Reviewed May 10, 2014

This hotel has seen better days. The rooms are a bit down at heal. Breakfast is a bit of a self service nordic bun fight - many people all service service. Nice bread and salmon if you are lucky and if has been replenished. The good thing is that it is very central and in a good location for seeing the sites. I wouldn't stay here again - stayed in the Hilton previously and it was much nicer (but further out).

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
Thank AlDearle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,170)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

511 - 517 of 1,170 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2014

I am staying at this hotel. From 6 to 10 May 14. Check in was quick and easy. Room is large and comfortable. Complete with fs tv, phone, ironing board and steam iron. Refridgerator, safe box and good bathroom with bath and shower, toilet and washbasin. Good mirror.hairdryer.
rooms cleaned daily

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank ISHKANDER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

Location is GREAT! The hotel is near everything, but not on the main roads. The main door is on the pedestrian street and you can access the Helsinki railway station (train, buss, tram, underground) by foot in few mins (even with luggage and a 3 yo walking).

We visited the hotel with our small kids and got, free of charge, a (bigger) room for disabled. The room was roomy even with baby cot and extra bed. And they being a potty with baby cot, which is awesome. As the room was located on the backyard, it was quiet on the Mayday eve, too. The room itself was nothing special - just another city hotel room (but bigger).

Also, free of charge, we were allowed to check in earlier than the usual 12 o'clock. That's possible if only they got free rooms... Ask the night before so they know to be ready for you if possible. All the staff we met (reception, cleaning, breakfast) was really friendly and helpful.

Breakfast was pretty standard. The room isn't too big, but it was kind of low season so everyone fitted well. The breakfast had only labels such as low lactose, non-lactose, so you didn't know what meat you had or cheese you took etc. We found that a bit weird. Ok, they would have needed space and it wouldn't have looked as good, but people have allergies and diets... I guess the personnel would have been happy to tell more about foods, but I actually think that no labels causes more garbage... But we loved that they had dark and light roast coffee and take away cups, too.

All in all:
Excellent location
Lovely staff
Room + brekkie ok, but nothing special

Didn't checked out their sauna which is supposed to have great view.

Tip: try Gastro Street Food on Bock's terrace next to Senate Square (opposite of the church, in courtyard)

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Katariina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

I had to choose a hotel in my hometown because my flat were being refurbished. Although my stay was short we spent plenty of time inside. The location cannot be better, the breakfast is gorgeous and the chambermaids are helpfull and very polite. Do not miss it while staying in Helsinki.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Timofson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Age for sure is visible in rooms where single room very small, even close to uk levels. Though location is perfect for city central. Good buffet breakfast and nice & helpful personnel. If arriving own car, parking hall door just in front. Note, only side street parking places available in city centre if to arrive after midnight.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank JRa70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

I spend one night in this traditional hotel. Room was twin room not in noisy street side. Room was spacious and clean. Bathroom was quite standard not special. Service was good. Location in the heart of Helsinki is very good. There is plenty of nice places around hotel. Breakfast was ok but area was too small compared to people having breakfast there. So beware of timing your breakfast. Parking of car was handy but expensive.

Room Tip: Take from non street side. There is noisy night club around hotel and can affect to your sleep quali...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RamiH-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

The location is one of the best in the area. You are not far from transportation where you need to get to the market square or anywhere else in Helsinki.

The room itself is clean, I love the shower and the modern feel of the living space. The reason I did not give this hotel five stars would be because of the noise factor. The individuals above us were quite loud until quite late and that makes it difficult if you are trying to catch up on sleep from traveling.

The hallway as well can be noisy at points, so you must get accustomed to that or be able to sleep quite heavy. All in all though, it was a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TessB812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna
Kampinmalmi
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
#15 of 64 in Helsinki
962 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki

Address: Kluuvikatu 8, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range: $139 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki 3.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern and cosy Sokos Hotel Helsinki is located in the heart of Helsinki, between Ateneum (the Museum of Finnish Art), and the Senate Square. The hotel is located next to the major shopping streets and it is only 300 meters from Helsinki Central Station. All the hotel rooms are designed with fresh, Scandinavian style and have hardwood floors, air conditioning, free Wi-Fi and flat-screen TV. Some rooms have a private sauna. There is a complimentary internet point with three computers in the lobby area. The hotel also houses two great restaurants: Fransmanni and Memphis. Fransmanni offers French-inspired cuisine and the hotel’s rich breakfast buffet is served there every morning. Memphis is a more upbeat restaurant with tasty burgers and cool drinks. The hotel is also a great venue for small-scale meetings, and offers two meeting rooms for a maximum of 30 persons. The sauna department is located at the top floor and can also be rented for private use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helsinki Sokos Hotel
Sokos Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing