We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honest accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki
Ranked #25 of 65 Hotels in Helsinki
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
372 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Honest accommodation”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

The hotel is conveniently located about 4 blocks from the market square without any views. it is not large and doesn't offer such niceties as porters but is well presented and maintained. We were in a junior suite, a large room with an excellent shower and separate spa bath, 2 large sofas, a large and good flat screen TV and a small but adequate fridge. The king bed was immensely comfortable without the irritating split bed seen so often in Scandinavia. Wifi connection was immediate and fast without drop outs. The upper floors are well served by the three modern lifts. Reception is well tuned and efficient and helpful, even without porterage. The room was relatively inexpensive for its size and amenity.

Room Tip: Junior Suites have everything you could want and are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnR63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    514
    251
    46
    10
See reviews for
184
256
106
340
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

I stayed a week on business and although I asked for a room on the inner courtyard I was initially given a room overlooking the street.
I then paid extra for a superior room on the courtyard but was continually disturbed by clonking noises, I think from the lift mechnisms, although the entrance to the lift was a way away.
The hotel is, however, central and convenient, and the desk staff were helpful and courteous.
I agree with previous reviewers about the chaotic breakfast arrangements though the food is ok. Need to get there early to avoid the rush.
A pity there is nowhere to sit when using the pcs in the lounge to check emails etc.
OK but not for a long stay. I found the decor and rooms slightly depressing, although the superior room was large. Nor were milk, sugar, towels etc replenished daily and I had to ask for these.
The standard room did not have any shampoo or extras like bath oil. Soap is dispensed from machines on the wall with other people's finger prints on them, even in the superior room.

Room Tip: Ask for inner courtyard away from lift and lift mechanisms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmwUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

The shower in this hotel was treacherous - situated in a very narrow, slippery bath, with no non-slip mat. Just stepping in and out of the shower was dangerous!
Bed was okay, but pillows were awful - possibly filled with crumbed foam rubber - 1950s stuff.
The breakfast room is currently in a very bad state - goodness knows what's going on, but there are entire areas in the dark, and wires hanging from the ceiling where lights used to be. Accessing the food tables is a nightmare, there is food everywhere, in no particular order, people constantly circling, circling, trying to put food on their plates. No defined paths, and staff driving trolleys through to replenish supplies add to the chaos. Food is quite good, but the dining room chaos is very off-putting.
The position of the hotel is very good, and is actually on the top few floors of a shopping centre, and very close to the railway station.
Paid wifi is available - something like 8 euros per 24 hours.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank aleith2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietarsaari, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I keep coming back to good old (80 years) Sokos Hotel Helsinki every once in a while, and always, I am reminded of the fact that I should come more often. It is not as big and flashy as the chains big guns, Vaakuna and Presidentti in downtown Helsinki, but offers great value.

+ peace and quiet, even if you live in the thick of a noisy city. There is no traffic on the street in front of the hotel, and if you get a room facing the courtyard you will sleep like a baby. I know I did.
+ you are within walking distance from everything - the buss to the airport is two blocks away, the big boats leave from two blocks in the other direction, and the poshest shopping in town is basically right at your feet
+ clean and tidy, in a nordic sort of way, no extra fuzz, just pure quality
+ free and fast wifi, tasty breakfast with friendly staff to put a smile on your face, swift checkin and a warm and welcoming, relaxed feel to the place
- small rooms, but concidering the location, who would want to bunk up in the room anyway?

Room Tip: The have a pleatora of different rooms, we once were given a junior suite as a fun surprise, and als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aacuz78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiina T, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
We are glad to hear that you are enjoying your stays at Sokos Hotel Helsinki.
Welcome again and happy Easter!

Sokos Hotel Helsinki staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, WA
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

The hotel was OK - getting to our room was quite a hike and it was very small for 3 people, even thiugh it was advertised as a family room. The breakfast was quite nice the next morning and the staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ErinLeary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Finland, Finland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Good location in the city center. If you're in town to shop definately a good choice of location. The room I stayed in was rather big however a bit gloomy. Only a small window to Kluuvikatu. It's an old hotel but has been quite recently renovated so it's quite clean. I stayed here in the middle of the week and it was peaceful thought I've heard party goers like to stay here during weekends. Liked the breakfast.
Might not recommend this hotel for a couples weekend...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank unlovedgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This is the hotel where I have been staying lately when I'm travelling to Helsinki.

I normally take the basic room and they are usually the same: clean, big enough for one person, a little bit cold for me and sometimes noisy if you are at 5th floor and in the inner side. There is some kind of air ventilation system that is quite noisy. So try to get the room to the outer side of the hotel.

Breakfast is normal Sokos hotel standard. There is not everyday bacon. There is one man with long dark hair serving and if you see him that morning be careful. He is friendly but very fast when he moves. I have had many close crashes with him in the mornings so I have learned my lesson.

As a summary I recommend this hotel, basic, a little bit boring but everything works. And the location is perfect.

Room Tip: Try to get the room from outer side of the hotel. Inner side can be noisy sometimes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PauliM945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna
Kampinmalmi
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
#14 of 65 in Helsinki
928 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki

Property: Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki
Address: Kluuvikatu 8, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki 3.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern and cosy Sokos Hotel Helsinki is located in the heart of Helsinki, between Ateneum (the Museum of Finnish Art), and the Senate Square. The hotel is located next to the major shopping streets and it is only 300 meters from Helsinki Central Station. All the hotel rooms are designed with fresh, Scandinavian style and have hardwood floors, air conditioning, free Wi-Fi and flat-screen TV. Some rooms have a private sauna. There is a complimentary internet point with three computers in the lobby area. The hotel also houses two great restaurants: Fransmanni and Memphis. Fransmanni offers French-inspired cuisine and the hotel’s rich breakfast buffet is served there every morning. Memphis is a more upbeat restaurant with tasty burgers and cool drinks. The hotel is also a great venue for small-scale meetings, and offers two meeting rooms for a maximum of 30 persons. The sauna department is located at the top floor and can also be rented for private use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helsinki Sokos Hotel
Sokos Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing