We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Small, silent @ Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki
Ranked #25 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Pietarsaari, Finland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Small, silent @ Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I keep coming back to good old (80 years) Sokos Hotel Helsinki every once in a while, and always, I am reminded of the fact that I should come more often. It is not as big and flashy as the chains big guns, Vaakuna and Presidentti in downtown Helsinki, but offers great value.

+ peace and quiet, even if you live in the thick of a noisy city. There is no traffic on the street in front of the hotel, and if you get a room facing the courtyard you will sleep like a baby. I know I did.
+ you are within walking distance from everything - the buss to the airport is two blocks away, the big boats leave from two blocks in the other direction, and the poshest shopping in town is basically right at your feet
+ clean and tidy, in a nordic sort of way, no extra fuzz, just pure quality
+ free and fast wifi, tasty breakfast with friendly staff to put a smile on your face, swift checkin and a warm and welcoming, relaxed feel to the place
- small rooms, but concidering the location, who would want to bunk up in the room anyway?

Room Tip: The have a pleatora of different rooms, we once were given a junior suite as a fun surprise, and als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aacuz78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiina T, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
We are glad to hear that you are enjoying your stays at Sokos Hotel Helsinki.
Welcome again and happy Easter!

Sokos Hotel Helsinki staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    365
    179
    32
    7
See reviews for
128
164
82
238
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkland, WA
Level Contributor
145 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The hotel was OK - getting to our room was quite a hike and it was very small for 3 people, even thiugh it was advertised as a family room. The breakfast was quite nice the next morning and the staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ErinLeary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riihimäki, Southern Finland, Finland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Good location in the city center. If you're in town to shop definately a good choice of location. The room I stayed in was rather big however a bit gloomy. Only a small window to Kluuvikatu. It's an old hotel but has been quite recently renovated so it's quite clean. I stayed here in the middle of the week and it was peaceful thought I've heard party goers like to stay here during weekends. Liked the breakfast.
Might not recommend this hotel for a couples weekend...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank unlovedgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This is the hotel where I have been staying lately when I'm travelling to Helsinki.

I normally take the basic room and they are usually the same: clean, big enough for one person, a little bit cold for me and sometimes noisy if you are at 5th floor and in the inner side. There is some kind of air ventilation system that is quite noisy. So try to get the room to the outer side of the hotel.

Breakfast is normal Sokos hotel standard. There is not everyday bacon. There is one man with long dark hair serving and if you see him that morning be careful. He is friendly but very fast when he moves. I have had many close crashes with him in the mornings so I have learned my lesson.

As a summary I recommend this hotel, basic, a little bit boring but everything works. And the location is perfect.

Room Tip: Try to get the room from outer side of the hotel. Inner side can be noisy sometimes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PauliM945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
303 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Very good location - close to the train station and to the shopping street. Our room was a corner room on the second floor, quite a spacious one, nicely furnished. The windows faced the street and the bright neon signs of the shopping mall across the road, but the heavy curtains helped to block the light for the most part. So I think it would've been better to book a room facing the inner yard. However, I stayed in December, and it was very cold in the room.
Very good breakfast, wifi was working perfectly. Helpful front desk. I will stay there again, but not in winter.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Schu333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
83 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

a 3* hotel. Pretty old and with shopping mall windows right 10 meters away from your room window - thus no privacy.
It was chilly in the room with no option to heat it up.
Hard to find a free table during the breakfast.
As positive - location it excellent though there are a lot of hotels around this area.
As for me Scandic nearby the railway station is the best choice for this budget.

Wifi is free of charge with login/pw available at the reception.

Room Tip: pick one with rooms windows to the backyard...if there is an option
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IOPAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

In the heart of Helsinki - perfect location! There are two or three reataurants as well.
I recommend to book a superior room with better amenities and you get yourself to the 7th floor. The single rooms are not that nice - they are small and missing the coffee maker / tea boiler etc.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank millacilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna
Kampinmalmi
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
#15 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 824 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki

Property: Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki
Address: Kluuvikatu 8, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki 3.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern and cosy Sokos Hotel Helsinki is located in the heart of Helsinki, between Ateneum (the Museum of Finnish Art), and the Senate Square. The hotel is located next to the major shopping streets and it is only 300 meters from Helsinki Central Station. All the hotel rooms are designed with fresh, Scandinavian style and have hardwood floors, air conditioning, free Wi-Fi and flat-screen TV. Some rooms have a private sauna. There is a complimentary internet point with three computers in the lobby area. The hotel also houses two great restaurants: Fransmanni and Memphis. Fransmanni offers French-inspired cuisine and the hotel’s rich breakfast buffet is served there every morning. Memphis is a more upbeat restaurant with tasty burgers and cool drinks. The hotel is also a great venue for small-scale meetings, and offers two meeting rooms for a maximum of 30 persons. The sauna department is located at the top floor and can also be rented for private use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helsinki Sokos Hotel
Sokos Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing