We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki
Ranked #24 of 65 Hotels in Helsinki
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
163 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Busy busy day (Tuska Open Air Festival that weekend) but was able to get to check in an hour early as the luggage storage room was full and I wasn't comfortable leaving my luggage unattended. Location couldn't be better, within walking distance of Central Railroad Station, Stockmans and Lutheran Cathedral. Small room (I had a single) but perfect for 1 to 2 people, very well laid out with everything you need. Bed was beyond comfortable ... I want to go to Ikea to buy a similar extra mattress on top that made it ooooh so comfy. Breakfast buffet was plentiful with delicious food. A couple good restaurants on site and several places near for tasty dishes. Will definitely stay again my next trip to Helsinki!!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,063 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    506
    245
    46
    8
See reviews for
179
248
103
337
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Very conventent to access, from the airport by bus to central station, and 5 Min walk.
Very helpful staff. Free Wifi!
When having just short time for a visit (during a business-stay) you can see the most interesing attractions just by walking around the area,
conference center is also in walking distance (12 Min), many restaurants and shopping area just in front of the door.
Breakfast plenty much, much not very tasteful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank margaret21_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vantaa
1 review
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I stayed in a standard single room up on the 8th floor and I was disappointed by a few things.

First of all, the bathroom is TINY and the only place to keep my stuff was on the edge of the sink. So, trying to balance my cosmetics/make up bag and hair straightener on the narrow edge was too difficult and I ended up keeping the bag on the floor or on the toilet seat cover. Not nice. Why wasn't there a single shelf or anything in the bathroom? Just adding a simple shelf under the mirror would make a customer's life so much easier.

Then, the tv was placed weirdly. It was in a sort of half wall between the desk and the bed, so that it could be rotated to face the bed or the desk/arm chair. That's okay if you want to watch tv sitting in the arm chair. But, I like to watch tv from bed. The tv was placed right above the HEAD of the bed, meaning I should have moved my pillows to the foot of the bed in order to watch tv. Since the room was small the foot of the bed was right under the window but there was about 15 - 20 cm gap between bed and the wall/window. So I couldn't move my pillows to the other end as they would've dropped to the gap between bed & radiator. I do understand that the building is old and it's not necessarily easy to decorate the rooms in the most practical way, but still...

Good things: well obviously the location is excellent. Very quiet, no noise. Bed comfortable. Breakfast is plentiful, altho why on week-end does breakfast start later than on weekdays? I'm hungry at the same time every morning.

Och på finska :-) Yhden hengen huoneen (8. kerros) kylppäri älyttömän pieni, ei yhtään laskutilaa. Lavuaarin seuralla ei paljon purkkeja mahdu säilyttämään. Miksi ei edes hyllyä peilin alapuolella?

TV oli oudosti aukossa sängyn ja pöydän välillä (sai käännettyä). Mutta kun telkkari oli suoraan sängyn pääpuolen yläpuolella, niin sängystä ei voinut sitä katsella. Kun sängyssä ei ole päätyä, en voinut ladata tyynyjä myöskään jalkopäähän, koska ne olisivat pudonneet 15 - 20 sentin rakoon sängyn jalkopään ja patterin/ikkunaseinän välillä. Toki ymmärrän, että vanhoihin seiniin on vaikea sisustaa moderneja huoneita, mutta tuo systeemi on aika pöljä.

Hyvää: huone hiljainen, ei melua, sänky mukava. Sijainti ei voisi olla parempi. Aamiainen monipuolinen, tosin jostain kumman syystä aamiainen alkaa viikonloppuisin myöhemmin kuin arkipäivinä. Mulla on ainakin nälkä viikonloppuisin samaan aikaan kuin viikolla, piti keksiä tunti tekemistä aamulla ennen kuin sai ruokaa.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank HofB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

If you are not lucky, you'll get a small, dark room with bathroom, where only small child feels comfortable, in terms of size. But worst of all is the room cleaning, which is almost non-existent. The breakfast are quite nice though, as well as the placement of hotel, really near the city center, bus and train stations.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ieva J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The location of the hotel is excellent for tourists, being only about two blocks from the cathedral and a short walk to the lively harbour area. Very close to many shops, shopping centre and restaurants.

My double room was a bit on the small side but then I had indicated that I would be alone. Bed was extremely comfortable. Room had good work desk and excellent reliable and quite fast internet connection. Bathroom was very good.

Staff were helpful. Good buffet breakfast with offerings that varied from day to day, spoiled only by poor quality coffee. The room was often rather busy, so tables were shared.

Value for mone? Not cheap but then what can you expect right in the center of a capital city?

Room Tip: Check on room size in relation to number in your party.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnOther_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

It is a nice hotel, clean and in a great location. What was a little disappointing was the lack of information on Helsinki, sights etc at the reception desk. For instance, simple things like a bus/metro map were not available in the hotel, it was necessary to visit the tourist information office. The hotel staff were courteous but did not seem to know much about what was going on in Helsinki.

A good example of this lack of information and a significant irritant was, having eaten in the restaurant for 3 nights (which whilst independent of the hotel is an integral part with access from inside the hotel), we went down on the Sunday evening to find the restaurant closed. It closed at 7.00pm. No one in the hotel thought to say anything or prepare a notice advising guests that the restaurant would close early. When mentioned at the desk, the response was 'it is mentioned on the hotel information page on the television'. It was these less than helpful issues that we found surprising for a hotel of this standard.

We ate in the restaurant attached to the hotel (all except Sunday), which was excellent and reasonably priced. My wife is coeliac and therefore requires glutton free food. The menu for her was extensive and apart from one or two items was the same as for all guests. After eating there on the first night we didn't consider looking elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaibachLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Best part of this hotel is its location. Breakfast is good for nordic visitors, a bit less so for asians. Rooms are quite small but thats Europe. Silent though. Problem big buses cannot come nearby. Staff friendly and helpful, pity in Europe it is no bellboy policy , asians are used to help with big luggages. But location, location, location - only Kamp is better, but that is another category..

Room Tip: Single standard is really for 1 person with not too much luggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minna_s_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna
Kampinmalmi
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
#14 of 65 in Helsinki
912 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Kampinmalmi
Hotelli Finn
Hotelli Finn
#20 of 65 in Helsinki
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki

Property: Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki
Address: Kluuvikatu 8, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki 3.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern and cosy Sokos Hotel Helsinki is located in the heart of Helsinki, between Ateneum (the Museum of Finnish Art), and the Senate Square. The hotel is located next to the major shopping streets and it is only 300 meters from Helsinki Central Station. All the hotel rooms are designed with fresh, Scandinavian style and have hardwood floors, air conditioning, free Wi-Fi and flat-screen TV. Some rooms have a private sauna. There is a complimentary internet point with three computers in the lobby area. The hotel also houses two great restaurants: Fransmanni and Memphis. Fransmanni offers French-inspired cuisine and the hotel’s rich breakfast buffet is served there every morning. Memphis is a more upbeat restaurant with tasty burgers and cool drinks. The hotel is also a great venue for small-scale meetings, and offers two meeting rooms for a maximum of 30 persons. The sauna department is located at the top floor and can also be rented for private use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helsinki Sokos Hotel
Sokos Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing