We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique building and good service”
Review of GLO Hotel Art

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
GLO Hotel Art
Ranked #22 of 66 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Hotel is conveniently located within 20 minute walk to/from the main railway station or ferry terminal. Rooms are on smaller side, but have comfy beds. Shower is small, but serves the purpose. Service at check in was very polite and friendly, reception staff is courteous - Leena was polite and knowledgeable. Breakfast is quite large, be there early to get the most for your $$$. Internet service sucks, very poor connection.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs are not as noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank houliganski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palacekamp, Guest Relations at GLO Hotel Art, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Dear Houliganski,

Thank you for your review and your kind words about our staff- I´ll make sure Leea gets your greetings. We appreciate your feedback around internet connection and your words will be definitely taken on account when planning our services in the future.

Greetings to Florida!

Behalf of GLO Staff,
Enni Viuhkonen
GLO Hotel Art

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,645)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

610 - 616 of 1,646 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2014

Before booking my stay, I was read some comments concerning the long distance between the front desk until the rooms. Indeed, it is not that short distance, you have to pass some corridor, a small external (but covered) space, another corridor, and you reach the elevators. So, it's true, but.... so what? I have very good properly functional arms and legs, so it's is not an issue for me.
I arrived in a Sunday evening and I realized that the lady who was supposed to attend me was making some coffee/tea for someone else. This fact kind of worried me, however in week days there was enough people to give me the attention I required.
The room was also okay, enough space and comfort for one people, clean, with very good LED TV (seems to be around 46 inches or so). Bathroom also clean and very functional (wow, you can watch TV while seated in the toilet sanitary, very useful during the World Cup, if you know what I meant).
The breakfast is between fair to low. The very same food every single day. Not much options of bread and no options of cakes.
Service in general was okay, no concerns.

Room Tip: All rooms are ok if you can walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ricardo_2772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina_Kaikkonen, Guest Relations at GLO Hotel Art, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Dear Sir,
Thank you for your comments about our property and our services, we highly appreciate all the feedback from our guests!
Thank you for giving brilliant example of how strong the first glance can be, I´m reliefed to found out that even though you got some concerns on your arrival, you later got convinced about our service at front desk. I´m thankful for your understanding approach! We truly also understand that the first time journey to our guestrooms can feel a bit long, especially if one´s dragging a heavy luggage and has several hours of travel behind. However, all the doors that are on our guests way (most of them motorized) are there only to make our guests stay a comfortable and secured. If one of our guest has difficulties on moving around, we do all we can to place his/hers rooms in a way that it is easy to reach from the reception.
Your constructive comment about our breakfast selection will be passed on to the people in charge of the food and beverage services.
Hope to see you here again in the near future!


With Best Regards,
Enni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

My party of four had two rooms and we felt the size was fine. Unsure why others felt it was small. The staff were most accommodating, (they allowed us to borrow their luggage scale which was most helpful at the end of a two week trip) and the architecture and furniture were all very modern. The distance to downtown is literally 5 minutes, and they are close to many great shops on Frederick street. They do charge for 'extras' like coffee, water. And the 3rd floor coffee/expresso machine was not great. The morning buffet breakfast ok, but had to pay extra for eggs of any type. The best thing though, were their comfy beds!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan_H_68_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Cozy hotel is a bit far from the city center. Medium-sized rooms, well-equipped.. Very friendly service. Suitable for urban traveler who wants to walk. The breakfast-room small but nice and the food varied.

Room Tip: Rooms on the backside are quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mart U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Slightly upscale hotel at a reasonable price. Well-appointed, comfortable, nice staff. Breakfast was fine. A little far from the center of town -- but walkable, and there's a tram stop only a block and a half away.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheNextHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

This hotel is in a good location and looks nice. The staff is very helpfull. Rooms in the adjourning building are small but comfortable. Breakfast is served in the basement with a well assorted choice.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maartenoonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Had a great experience with this hotel. Since we like to take a bath in the evening, and most Helsinki hotel rooms only have a shower, I called this hotel and asked for a room with a bath. We arrived to find that the only room with a bath was in the tower. We had a quiet room and the tower all to ourselves, at no extra cost.

Also, great breakfast buffet. Really enjoyed the pickled fish and other tasties.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KevinRiley-Osaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 66 in Helsinki
1,196 reviews
Klaus K Hotel
#16 of 66 in Helsinki
1,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vironniemi
Hotel Katajanokka
Hotel Katajanokka
#4 of 66 in Helsinki
1,783 reviews
Hilton Helsinki Strand
#7 of 66 in Helsinki
698 reviews
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GLO Hotel Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GLO Hotel Art

Address: Loennrotinkatu 29, Helsinki 00180, Finland (Formerly Hotel Linna)
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#13 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#13 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#21 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range: $125 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — GLO Hotel Art 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GLO Hotel Art is an exclusive, charming lifestyle hotel built around a century-old Art Nouveau castle in the centre of Helsinki. A unique hotel has excellent meeting facilities. Surrounded by the vivid Design District, you can enjoy lunch in one of the areas cosy cafes, dine in one of the top restaurants in the area or take a stroll to the city center. Whether you are travelling for business or pleasure, you will definitely enjoy your stay here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your GLO Hotel Art reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linna Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing