We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good, quiet location with rooms as promised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of GLO Hotel Art

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added GLO Hotel Art to your Saves list
GLO Hotel Art
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lonnrotinkatu 29, Helsinki 00180, Finland (Formerly Hotel Linna)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good, quiet location with rooms as promised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

I booked a small room without breakfast for a weekend break after a conference. The room had everything I needed but was - as promised - small. As I didn't plan on spending any time in the room except to sleep, the size was more than fine. There is a store diagonally across the street that is open - more or less - twenty four hours a day, so I was able to get anything I needed.

The staff are very friendly and helpful; the room was clean (but small - as advertised).

Although I had read some rather negative reviews of the hotel, I found the hotel "tells it as it is". Breakfast at a hotel is usually an expensive deal; hotel rooms in a city are not really for staying in (you've got an entire city out there waiting to be explored). The tiny bathrooms are prone to get wet if you shower but there is a floor mat to soak up most of the damp.

The only really negative point I have is that as the hotel covers most of a block of buildings, the rooms are rather far off. To get to them, one has to walk through at least three "check-points" where you swipe yourself through with your room key.

All in all, however, I can recommend the hotel: everything you need at a price one can afford if you are not looking for luxury at every corner.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tannenrauch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    546
    173
    49
    20
See reviews for
135
519
112
221
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

My friend and I stayed at the Glo Hotel Art over the last weekend in May. The hotel does have a lot to offer and overall we had a good stay. The breakfast was the same every day but good quality and plenty of items available providing you don't go down late. The rooms were ok although not as clean as I would have liked to have seen. We had a twin room and my mattress had the ability to slide off the bed during the night. There was no noise heard whilst in the room and the curtains did block out the sunlight. There is no shower curtain/sheid so the bathroom did seem to flood. A very safe hotel as need your room key to get through internal doors.

Room Tip: We were in the add on part of the hotel which was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

The initial impression is of a traditional old fashioned hotel but the actual experience belies that. My room was located in the modern wing and, once you had passed through the "airlock" you might as well have been in a different hotel. The rooms are not spacious. There is nowhere to store your case, the depth of the wardrobes isn't even the width of a pair of shoes. There is no working area if you want to sit at a laptop - they provide you with a cushion and you can adjust the bed to sit upright - not the most comfortable way to work on a laptop!
I was disappointed with the "cleaning" from one day to the next. The chambermaid must have just rearranged the bedclothes and replaced the towels. Nothing else was touched.
I took an evening meal at the restaurant. The service was slow and the menu very limited. The quality of the food was good but far from generously portioned.
The breakfast is adequate without being extensive. The staff were very friendly, welcoming and attentive. For the amount of money I paid, I expected a lot more. A few years ago I stayed at another Glo Hotel in Helsinki which was much more spacious and better value for money. Perhaps next time I should go back there.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nirinmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

I was excited to stay at such an "artsy" hotel. The facade and lobby were very inviting and the staff very pleasant..... however.... our room was in the new wing which was a loooooong hike from the lobby, around tight corners, down narrow corridors, thru glass doors, up a small elevator, thru another set of security doors with lots of luggage and no porter service. When we arrived in the room, it appeared lovely with modern furniture and a nice view. However, when I stepped into the bathroom, I discovered that the walls were made of clear glass with a band of frosted area at "tush" height. It might as well have been a totally open toilet and shower, especially at night when you need to turn on the bathroom light.
The room was also very hot due to the fact that the heat could not be adjusted (what??!!) and the windows did not open. The staff kindly brought us 2 fans which made the temperature just bearable.
The location of the hotel was superb within walking distance of the mall, movie theater and tons of fabulous restaurants and galleries.

Room Tip: Unless you love using the toilet and showering in front of your companion or kids, DO NOT get a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Millie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

Located an easy 10 min walk from the centre so surrounded by everything. Excellent staff, very comfortable room with an amazing shower. Just needs more clothes hangers for longer stays tho. Also has a relaxing reading/lounge area in foyer

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lee_A_B_1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlestown, Australia
Level Contributor
260 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We chose this hotel based mostly on the different looking façade - it definitely got our interest.

On arrival we were happy to see friendly staff and a great hotel!

The rooms are on the small side, but are very well maintained, clean and well appointed.

There is no in-room refrigerator, but that seems normal for this part of the world.

The staff are very helpful and friendly with very good English skills too.

The look that got us interested to start with is awesome, the main entry and building are look fantastic, but don't let the look fool you - the rooms are super clean and modern.

Free wifi, though it seemed to drop in and out regularly for us.



Overall this proved to be a great place and we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FiverACT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
122 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I was very pleased by the charming interior of this great art hotel in Helsinki. The reception, lounge and bar area is lovely with many original features.
My room was in the new wing and very modern and comfortable. There was even a really comfortable chair for relaxing or reading in. Great!
The ladies in the reception were very friendly too!

The only drawback with this hotel is the location. It is just a little buit too far away from the interesting parts of town!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sjurontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Fabian Hotel
#1 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 926 reviews
Scandic Paasi
#8 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampinmalmi
Hotel Indigo Helsinki - Boulevard
Klaus K Hotel
#13 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 1,004 reviews
Vironniemi
Hotel Katajanokka
Hotel Katajanokka
#6 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GLO Hotel Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GLO Hotel Art

Property: GLO Hotel Art
Address: Lonnrotinkatu 29, Helsinki 00180, Finland (Formerly Hotel Linna)
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#13 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#13 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#15 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — GLO Hotel Art 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GLO Hotel Art is an exclusive, charming lifestyle hotel built around a century-old Art Nouveau castle in the centre of Helsinki. A unique hotel has excellent meeting facilities. Surrounded by the vivid Design District, you can enjoy lunch in one of the areas cosy cafes, dine in one of the top restaurants in the area or take a stroll to the city center. Whether you are travelling for business or pleasure, you will definitely enjoy your stay here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your GLO Hotel Art reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linna Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing