We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice, but remote” 4 of 5 stars
Review of GLO Hotel Art

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
GLO Hotel Art
Ranked #15 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
358 reviews
251 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
“Nice, but remote”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

This Helsinki hotel is quite new, but we found that the rooms were too small for us. Not enough space for 2 luggages. If you have heavy stuff and arrive to the central station as many others, it is a challenge to walk up the hill approx. 20 mins to reach the hotel. Be sure you connected free internet option otherwise you could be charged 10 euros for the same but "more speed" (really?=) Staff is nice, it is Europe!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alexzhdanov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    571
    181
    51
    20
See reviews for
142
543
118
225
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
washington D.C.
Level Contributor
93 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

The hotel is pretty unique looking and the room was small but nice; Very modern type of room; the Breakfast was pretty good and the people were nice. The location was a few blocks away from the main street. Kind of a self-service type of hotel--not a lot of assistance from people for bags, etc., and no room service. Was real warm in the room too and needed the housekeeper to open the windows. A decent place all in all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank doberman32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights with business.

One of the better hotels that I have stayed in in Helsinki and would have got 5 out of 5 for not the constant 'extras' like better wifi / bottle of water in room / bacon at breakfast.

Having said that as long as you are savvy then no issues what so ever. Breakfast apart from the bacon was good and varied - proper orange juice which for me is always a test of how good a hotel is.

Good location within walking distance to some excellent cheap restaurants and cafes, and about 10 mins from the main Station - get the Finnair bus from the airport for only €6.30 and walk.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank srp973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

This hotel looked amazing from the outside. One of the best looking hotels I have ever seen. The staff spoke great English and were helpful. Unfortunately we took a taxi to the hotel from the airport and it cost so so much. We wouldn't do that again. It's in a pretty good location although a bit closer would have been nice! We are staying there 1 more night as a transfer later in our holiday and am pretty disappointed that they will not transfer the booking to their sister hotel which is at the airport. They said its because we didn't book directly. Our travel agent did. Not a good enough excuses. Inside the room it was lovely. Extremely extremely small but we didn't mind at all. It was very modern and lovely. Breakfast was underground it was awesome. Although I ended up eating toast with butter not a lot for my taste but my husband loved it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nikkibug1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaasa, Finland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

The hotel building is nice, old, obviously historical, made of stones. Art nouveau. Stylish lobby, restaurant furnished with good taste. The hotel rooms represent standard level and are comparable with any other hotel in Helsinki city.
The equipment in the room is basic, what I was missing, was a water boiler and possibility to make a cup of coffee/ tea in the room. Lightning in the room was poor, simply not enough light. Due to dark ceilings, the appearance was dark. No place for luggage. The service was in principle also average.
What we found strange was, that the personnel in the reception and breakfast room did not greet you. Nor did they smile. If greeteed, they greeted back, but no smile. That gave a pecualiar, even arrogant, impression.
Breakfast, slightly below average, nothing special, same breads, sausages and cheesees as in any hotel. Perhaps a lilttle bit more limited than in other Helsinki city hotels.
As a summary, this hotel was ok, but I think I have no reason to come back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iiro S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Campania, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

I spent only one night in the hotel, in the end of October. The building is beautiful but the room was small. There was dust (not a lot, but still) around the room. However the sheets were soft, fresh and of great quality. We didn't eat at the restaurant of the hotel but we had a breakfast, the food was good and abundant. Staff people are polite and kind. The price is usual for hotel in Helsinki, the position of the hotel is central and not far from the central station (approximately 500m).

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We had four lovely nights at the Glo Art during a recent visit to Helsinki. We wanted convenience, a bit of funk, a good price and comfort - we got it at Glo Art. The hotel is quite central, an easy walk to the main attractions and central city area, a supermarket is across the street and there are numerous restaurants if you want them. Our room was small (but we knew it would be - that's what we booked) but it had everything we need, except a kettle (but you could hire one). The room, and most of the hotel was a "Glo - ing" expression of Finnish design, modern and funky and cited in a castle. We would defiantly stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank bandc1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Fabian Hotel
#1 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 952 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Hotel Indigo Helsinki - Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Klaus K Hotel
#12 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 1,052 reviews
Scandic Paasi
#8 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 1,013 reviews
Vironniemi
Hotel Katajanokka
Hotel Katajanokka
#6 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GLO Hotel Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GLO Hotel Art

Property: GLO Hotel Art
Address: Loennrotinkatu 29, Helsinki 00180, Finland (Formerly Hotel Linna)
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#13 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#13 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#15 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — GLO Hotel Art 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GLO Hotel Art is an exclusive, charming lifestyle hotel built around a century-old Art Nouveau castle in the centre of Helsinki. A unique hotel has excellent meeting facilities. Surrounded by the vivid Design District, you can enjoy lunch in one of the areas cosy cafes, dine in one of the top restaurants in the area or take a stroll to the city center. Whether you are travelling for business or pleasure, you will definitely enjoy your stay here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your GLO Hotel Art reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linna Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing