We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice stay in Helsinki” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of GLO Hotel Art

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
GLO Hotel Art
Ranked #18 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
NY USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice stay in Helsinki”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Glo Art. Nice location, very accessible and safe. Helsinki is a pretty compact city, so everything is close and many things are within easy walking distance. Desk staff speaks perfect English and was very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast is a nice basic spread, above average for a hotel breakfast but nothing special. We'd certainly stay here again, but not on the 6th floor. The rooms there are very nice, quiet, and isolated, but you have to take a circuitous path involving two different elevators to get to them !

Room Tip: Skip the 6th floor, it's quiet and isolated, but hard to get to !!!
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank NYUSA_travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    475
    615
    199
    59
    21
See reviews for
157
587
126
249
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Down in the quieter, cooler, but easy to reach and enjoy "design district", this landmark Deco mini-palace has been converted into a medium-sized hotel by annexing the non-descript modern block next door. The rooms can only be described as "bijou", the decor as highly practical, and the curious roomkey-driven "airlock" system that copes with guest security and Helsinki's winter climate takes a day or so of getting used to. If what you want is generic and plastic, book somewhere else. If what you'd like is a comfortable, convenient and reasonable bolt-hole right in the heart of the primo knick-knack shopping area, several idyllic parks, the occasional theatre and museum and just a couple of hundred steps from the "6" tram, try it for size. Staff fine, breakfast ok, cleanliness good. Just to the left is an independent excellent bar with some of the finest bar food I've ever eaten, equally excellent music and primo beer. And the harbour is just 5 mins walk down the road.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed at GLO Hotel Art while on a weekend break to Helsinki and loved it. It is quirky and original and made for an enjoyable and memorable trip. The staff were lovely and the room was very comfortable. I would definitely recommend it to my family and friends.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca7997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Glo Art hotel with 3 friends last weekend. It's a great hotel, fabulous decor in the old part of the building & fresh, clean, simplistic lines in the bedrooms. The location is wonderful for (very expensive) shopping & sight-seeing.
What wasn't so good was the lack of tea/coffee making facilities in the room - apparently, we were told on leaving(!), we could have had them if we'd asked (& at an extra charge of €5). Also the heating in the rooms could not be altered - but then again it wasn't very overheated.
Having said all that ... I'd stay there again!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank S-JPeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

The GLO Hotel Art is part of a chain in Helsinki, but this hotel has a style of it's own. The ambiance in the lobby is medieval, but the hotel is entirely modern. The rooms may be small, but the do not lack for any ammenities. Warning, breakfast is not included and what might sound a hefty addition for breakfast is really comperable to the going prices in Helsinki. Also, Helsinki is NOT an inexpensive city. Be prepared.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

We wanted to stay here because of its medieval architecture, but once we got inside, it was just another over-priced hotel. WITHOUT getting help with our luggage to our room which was a long walk and then elevator ride. We are retired women and could have used some help.
The location was horrible...nowhere decent to get a meal and not even a coffee shop to get coffee. The cost of coffee at the hotel was ridiculous and we had to pay 15 Euros to rent a kettle and get a few packages of plastic tea, coffee and milk. Nothing was convenient about this hotel. After staying in London, Berlin and Riga, this hotel and experience made us feel ripped of and reflected much of what Helsinki is....a waste of time and money.

Room Tip: Check the location of a hotel with a map and check out what amenities there are close by. Plus check...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jan v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moss Vale, Australia
Level Contributor
171 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Only the consumer can answer that. This is a tale of 2 very different rooms!

We booked a smart double room for 2 separate nights on the hotel website. Since it was a changeover for season (at least that is what I assume) there was a big price discepancy for the rooms. €145 the first time (30/09/2013), down to €105 (04/10/2013), both including breakfast.

The first time, (30/09/2013),we walked from the Tallink terminal and it took about 20 minutes not rushing. The train station (and Finnair bus) is about the same distance in the other direction, so we think this hotel is well located since we were using both. Tick!

The first time check in was fast,friendly and professional and we were allocated room 440 through keyed doors up a lift and along corridors.

What previous reviewers said is exactly right. The room and ensuite is too small for 2 adults with luggage. Basic toilettries, but lets face it, you normally have your own anyway.
So moving on from the smallness of the room;
Wifi is free and fast for both iPad and laptop. Tick
Everything was clean and in good working order. The room was very quiet. Tick
The bed was very comfortable. Tick.
The window could not be opened. Not so great for us. Air con was quiet.
Breakfast was in the area in the basement. Subdued lighting and food away from where we sat, in an alcove,which is a good thing. No frills, nothing exciting but good quality solid food. Tick
We were heading away for a few days and, since we were returning to this hotel, we asked if they could keep our larger luggage. They obliged, which we appreciated. Tick

When does minimalist and functional decor with a clever use of small spaces, become mean and miserable? That's what I am pondering. The smart double room and ensuite, no matter how cleverly designed ...... was too small.
The reception staff were outstanding and all my abovementioned ticks are important to us. For us, the room was not worth €145 but was ok for €105. At check out, we did not complain, because it was not their fault, just chalked it up to experience.

The second time we stayed here and again great service at check in. Our luggage was retrieved and we were able to arrange a late check out which we happily paid additional for. Again very agreeably handled by reception staff. They are gems.

But the interesting thing was the room. All I can say is Wow!! What a difference. And it all gets down to size! We had booked a smart double for the price of €105 including breakfast. We were not sure what we got, so asked, and were told it was a GLO room. Our second room was fantastic. For that price, it was great value for money.

We were allocated Room315 which is located in the area behind the lobby, so it had none of the 'shoe box feel' we had experienced a few days ago.
It was a lovely spacious room and ensuite. Everything is very clean and in good working order and nicely decorated. There is a window that opens, which we love. It overlooks the internal courtyard.
Wifi is free and fast.
Again, a very peaceful nights sleep.

For us, yes, size counts. It is just luck we got to experience the GLO room, so we know where we went wrong, and should we come back to Helsinki, we would stay here, but in a bigger room.

My stars reflect the Smart Double Room and the payment of €145 since that was what I booked.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbaraanne56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
Klaus K Hotel
#15 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampinmalmi
Hotel Indigo Helsinki - Boulevard
Scandic Paasi
#9 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
Vironniemi
Hotel Katajanokka
Hotel Katajanokka
#8 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GLO Hotel Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GLO Hotel Art

Property: GLO Hotel Art
Address: Loennrotinkatu 29, Helsinki 00180, Finland (Formerly Hotel Linna)
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#13 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#13 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#18 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — GLO Hotel Art 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GLO Hotel Art is an exclusive, charming lifestyle hotel built around a century-old Art Nouveau castle in the centre of Helsinki. A unique hotel has excellent meeting facilities. Surrounded by the vivid Design District, you can enjoy lunch in one of the areas cosy cafes, dine in one of the top restaurants in the area or take a stroll to the city center. Whether you are travelling for business or pleasure, you will definitely enjoy your stay here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone and Priceline so you can book your GLO Hotel Art reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linna Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing