We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great decor, great central location!”
Review of GLO Hotel Art

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
GLO Hotel Art
Ranked #21 of 66 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I stayed at the Glo Art hotel with 3 friends last weekend. It's a great hotel, fabulous decor in the old part of the building & fresh, clean, simplistic lines in the bedrooms. The location is wonderful for (very expensive) shopping & sight-seeing.
What wasn't so good was the lack of tea/coffee making facilities in the room - apparently, we were told on leaving(!), we could have had them if we'd asked (& at an extra charge of €5). Also the heating in the rooms could not be altered - but then again it wasn't very overheated.
Having said all that ... I'd stay there again!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank S-JPeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,673)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

713 - 719 of 1,673 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2013

The GLO Hotel Art is part of a chain in Helsinki, but this hotel has a style of it's own. The ambiance in the lobby is medieval, but the hotel is entirely modern. The rooms may be small, but the do not lack for any ammenities. Warning, breakfast is not included and what might sound a hefty addition for breakfast is really comperable to the going prices in Helsinki. Also, Helsinki is NOT an inexpensive city. Be prepared.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We wanted to stay here because of its medieval architecture, but once we got inside, it was just another over-priced hotel. WITHOUT getting help with our luggage to our room which was a long walk and then elevator ride. We are retired women and could have used some help.
The location was horrible...nowhere decent to get a meal and not even a coffee shop to get coffee. The cost of coffee at the hotel was ridiculous and we had to pay 15 Euros to rent a kettle and get a few packages of plastic tea, coffee and milk. Nothing was convenient about this hotel. After staying in London, Berlin and Riga, this hotel and experience made us feel ripped of and reflected much of what Helsinki is....a waste of time and money.

Room Tip: Check the location of a hotel with a map and check out what amenities there are close by. Plus check...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jan v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Only the consumer can answer that. This is a tale of 2 very different rooms!

We booked a smart double room for 2 separate nights on the hotel website. Since it was a changeover for season (at least that is what I assume) there was a big price discepancy for the rooms. €145 the first time (30/09/2013), down to €105 (04/10/2013), both including breakfast.

The first time, (30/09/2013),we walked from the Tallink terminal and it took about 20 minutes not rushing. The train station (and Finnair bus) is about the same distance in the other direction, so we think this hotel is well located since we were using both. Tick!

The first time check in was fast,friendly and professional and we were allocated room 440 through keyed doors up a lift and along corridors.

What previous reviewers said is exactly right. The room and ensuite is too small for 2 adults with luggage. Basic toilettries, but lets face it, you normally have your own anyway.
So moving on from the smallness of the room;
Wifi is free and fast for both iPad and laptop. Tick
Everything was clean and in good working order. The room was very quiet. Tick
The bed was very comfortable. Tick.
The window could not be opened. Not so great for us. Air con was quiet.
Breakfast was in the area in the basement. Subdued lighting and food away from where we sat, in an alcove,which is a good thing. No frills, nothing exciting but good quality solid food. Tick
We were heading away for a few days and, since we were returning to this hotel, we asked if they could keep our larger luggage. They obliged, which we appreciated. Tick

When does minimalist and functional decor with a clever use of small spaces, become mean and miserable? That's what I am pondering. The smart double room and ensuite, no matter how cleverly designed ...... was too small.
The reception staff were outstanding and all my abovementioned ticks are important to us. For us, the room was not worth €145 but was ok for €105. At check out, we did not complain, because it was not their fault, just chalked it up to experience.

The second time we stayed here and again great service at check in. Our luggage was retrieved and we were able to arrange a late check out which we happily paid additional for. Again very agreeably handled by reception staff. They are gems.

But the interesting thing was the room. All I can say is Wow!! What a difference. And it all gets down to size! We had booked a smart double for the price of €105 including breakfast. We were not sure what we got, so asked, and were told it was a GLO room. Our second room was fantastic. For that price, it was great value for money.

We were allocated Room315 which is located in the area behind the lobby, so it had none of the 'shoe box feel' we had experienced a few days ago.
It was a lovely spacious room and ensuite. Everything is very clean and in good working order and nicely decorated. There is a window that opens, which we love. It overlooks the internal courtyard.
Wifi is free and fast.
Again, a very peaceful nights sleep.

For us, yes, size counts. It is just luck we got to experience the GLO room, so we know where we went wrong, and should we come back to Helsinki, we would stay here, but in a bigger room.

My stars reflect the Smart Double Room and the payment of €145 since that was what I booked.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barbaraanne56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

The room was great. It was modern and clean. Loved the shower and the tv, which you could use to check the weather. Not in the best location as it was a bit of a walk to the main attractions, but not too far. The staff was also very nice - they made early coffee and croissants which was great when we caught an early ferry to Tallinn. The breakfast was also great.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mk1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This hotel is cool!
The room was by no means big, but it was billed as such. There was a very clever use of a small space and the room was spotless.
Quirky kind of place and a really amazing wet room for the en suite. The staff were really friendly and spoke perfect English, which was good as Finnish is a pretty hard language to get your tongue around. We were travelling further north for a wedding but returning to Helsinki after 2 nights in Oulu and the staff were kind enough to keep one of our cases for us at the hotel so we didn't have to lug everything with us. If I stay in another city with a Glo hotel,I would definitely check it out!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnieG_33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I spent one night at GLO Hotel Art . Clean room, convenient location in the design district downtown Helsinki. Very good breakfast with excellent choice. I also liked the room design - very different from dull Canadian and American hotels. Service folks at the reception desk were helpful and polite. Definitely will stay here again and recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kostya O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Klaus K Hotel
#16 of 66 in Helsinki
1,423 reviews
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 66 in Helsinki
1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampinmalmi
Hotel Indigo Helsinki - Boulevard
Hilton Helsinki Strand
#7 of 66 in Helsinki
731 reviews
Vironniemi
Hotel Katajanokka
Hotel Katajanokka
#4 of 66 in Helsinki
1,871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GLO Hotel Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GLO Hotel Art

Address: Loennrotinkatu 29, Helsinki 00180, Finland (Formerly Hotel Linna)
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#11 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#13 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#20 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range: $109 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — GLO Hotel Art 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GLO Hotel Art is an exclusive, charming lifestyle hotel built around a century-old Art Nouveau castle in the centre of Helsinki. A unique hotel has excellent meeting facilities. Surrounded by the vivid Design District, you can enjoy lunch in one of the areas cosy cafes, dine in one of the top restaurants in the area or take a stroll to the city center. Whether you are travelling for business or pleasure, you will definitely enjoy your stay here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your GLO Hotel Art reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linna Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing