We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel with great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of GLO Hotel Art

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
GLO Hotel Art
Ranked #18 of 63 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo
Level Contributor
130 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Great hotel with great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

I spent two nights at Glo Art Hotel as part of a trip with 40 colleagues. We were all very happy with the hotel's location and amenities. Rooms are small but well designed and equipped. A really comfortable bed with comfy duvets and pillows, super fresh towels and a big rainfall shower. Wifi connection is ok.

Breakfast was tasty and varied.

Was not too impressed with the service at check-in but all in all my stay at Glo Art was a good one and I can highly recommend it whether you're in Helsinki for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AuroraPolaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    493
    669
    213
    61
    22
See reviews for
169
634
133
259
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

had a great time staying for 4 nights , comfortable and clean room , breakfast filling , reception staff excellant and a special thanks to the young ladies at reception who helped me on my check out when i got in a bit of a mess while printing or shall i say TRYING to print my boarding pass for the flight home that day , i would definetly recommend it .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RICHIEGIBBOY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

First, GLO Hotel Art gains five stars purely for being the only hotel I have stayed at where I have had a menu of pillows to choose from! This is a great hotel with so many perks and extras that go above and beyond what I would have expected for the very reasonable price I paid. The exterior is striking and the lobby, bar and library/lounge inside the castle side of the hotel are wonderfully unique. The rooms are all very modern, clean and functional and it didn't really matter to me that the room was in the modern annex rather than the castle building - it provided a perfect base for a few days' work in Helsinki. The room that I had was the smallest type of room that they offer (and it is pretty small!) but as I was travelling by myself it wasn't a problem. If you are travelling as a couple I would recommend getting the next room size up.

A few hints and tips re. the room - the light for the bathroom is, confusingly, a circular dimmer switch on the left above the toilet and looks nothing like the other lights in the bedroom. It has a red illuminated ring around it, and looks a bit like a thermostat - I spent two days ignoring this in the belief that the light in the bathroom had gone... The controls for the motorised bed are on a remote which looks more like it's for the tv - again it was a while before I figured this out. Top tip: take advantage of the sleep menu!! I wasn't sure how this worked but a very friendly receptionist explained - you can get all the items from reception and they stay in your room for the duration of your stay; I recommend the astro pillow and shiatsu massager, which is great for reviving tired legs after a long flight. Wifi in the room is also easy to use and a decent connection/speed etc. Breakfast is good with a wide range of options, although I think it gets quite busy from around 8am onwards.

The location of the hotel is also good - at first it felt a bit away from the action, but once you get your bearings it is well-placed, and brings you straight out on the the main road running down from the area of the train station (around 15 minutes walk) and opposite the Esplanadi. I didn't have time to explore the Design District, but this is also nearby. Overall I would thoroughly recommend the hotel to anyone thinking of visiting Helsinki; it would be hard to find another hotel as unique, well-located and reasonably priced as this.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank eng5hw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Wow, the breakfast was excellent. Very cozy and quiet room. Appreciated the in safe. Staff was very helpful, and kept my luggages for 5 hours after I checked out and left to the airport. City center is reacheable by foot and there are nice unexpensive restaurants around. Room was sparkling clean and the bed was more than comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeroma43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

We booked an economy room for a 3-day weekend stay. Room was very small but functional and extremely clean and modern. The walk to the city center is 10-15 minutes tops and we found that we preferred to be away from the noise of the main tourist area.

The staff was helpful with the few questions we had. The breakfast is fine though dining area can get crowded at prime time.

The neighborhood has plenty of restaurants within walking distance and there is a grocery store/ATM on the corner.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AdeNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

We were surprised to learn that none of the rooms are located in the beautiful historic building as we had expected. None the less, the rooms were modern and very clean. The service was excellent (we felt bad to have asked them a number of questions).

We rented bikes for 20EUR each near the train station and later found that they are available for 5EUR at the hotel. I would HIGHLY recommend this as Helsinki couldn't be safer and easier to bike. Given that the hotel is about a 5-10 minute walk from the downtown, bikes would be excellent.

We paid just over $200CAD per night and thought it was a bit expensive but represented o.k. value. There is a grocery store around the street and market nearby where you can get a reasonable breakfast or lunch.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StevenWelker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
100 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

A quite lovely two-day stay in this very pleasant and slightly ‘different’ hotel. Located on a quiet street a relatively short distance from the city centre, I had a large room at the back with an extremely comfortable bed. The staff were super-friendly and helpful.

I did not mind the lack of a refrigerator in the room, and was perfectly happy with the Glo’s own brand of soap and shampoo (although some conditioner would have been welcome). Compared to one of the major international chain hotel’s I had stayed in the previous week, I much preferred the Glo Art. It would be my choice for any return visit to the city.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fountainhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Klaus K Hotel
#15 of 63 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampinmalmi
Hotel Indigo Helsinki - Boulevard
Vironniemi
Hotel Katajanokka
Hotel Katajanokka
#8 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,461 reviews
Hilton Helsinki Strand
#5 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GLO Hotel Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GLO Hotel Art

Property: GLO Hotel Art
Address: Loennrotinkatu 29, Helsinki 00180, Finland (Formerly Hotel Linna)
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#13 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#13 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#18 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — GLO Hotel Art 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GLO Hotel Art is an exclusive, charming lifestyle hotel built around a century-old Art Nouveau castle in the centre of Helsinki. A unique hotel has excellent meeting facilities. Surrounded by the vivid Design District, you can enjoy lunch in one of the areas cosy cafes, dine in one of the top restaurants in the area or take a stroll to the city center. Whether you are travelling for business or pleasure, you will definitely enjoy your stay here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your GLO Hotel Art reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linna Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing