We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A modern castle in the city”
Review of GLO Hotel Art

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
GLO Hotel Art
Ranked #18 of 63 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A modern castle in the city”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Good location, superb breakfast, good and efficient service. The castle atmosphere is very nice, the rooms are clean and modern, beds comfortable, price affordable. Minus points for the small room and the long way from the reception to the room. Our room was on the 6th floor behind two separate lifts, several corridors, multiple doors that had to be opened with the key card... After the first time we got used to it but was a bit of a shock in the beginning. It was very quiet though on the 6th floor and it was easy to sleep without any kind of disturbance.

The see-through shower was not a problem as we were travelling as a couple but I can imagine that among friends or colleagues it could be quite uncomfortable. The breakfast was really worth it and unlike in Glo Kluuvi, in Glo Art they did not run out of stuff or at least they kept on bringing more food if something was temporarily finished. I would stay there again but maybe next time I would try to get a bit bigger room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nelzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    508
    698
    220
    63
    22
See reviews for
173
651
140
275
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Perhaps it was the hype of an edgy design hotel/castle that had me drawn to book. The walk from the Central Station to the hotel however, had me put off with the dusty road, surrounding construction and the lack of a visible castle. The facade of the castle extends only to the reception and the stairwell from I could gather, as my room was an attached building obviously an extension of the hotel that gave off a vibe of staying in an office building and not a hotel. Plus, there were so many doors to go through, you are essentially having to travel two buildings through and around the corner, so you are well out of the castle. The rooms are small, compact that you have to climb the bed to get around the other side. Rooms offer views into other buildings and office space. The staff not so friendly or welcoming neither upon arrival nor departure. The library is small, the lounge, I never saw open during my two night weekend stay and the restaurant not very appealing as it is the same place where you have breakfast and the dinner menu is a handful of dishes. Location is accessible to the Design District and most other attractions. The motorized bed and smart TV were cool, but would not bring me back to this place.

Room Tip: Maybe try the castle rooms, anything in the extensions are plain ordinary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Disturbia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yamba NSW Aust
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

A number of others have mentioned the smallness of the rooms as being a disadvantage but what I find the biggest problem is the stairs to the front door and the door itself. While it is a magnificent timber door complete with bolted hinges etc, it is a sel- closer (very necessary in such a climate) which is a problem when one is struggling to get two trundle cases up six or so steps from the footpath (sidewalk if you prefer).
Reception is in a vaulted bar area which looks as though it has been carved from the catacombs of Turkey and then decorated. The rooms are spread over two separate buildings with a lane to the courtyard between. We were in one building and the dispensing machines in the other and a quick (chilly) dash across was necessary just to get a coffee - so I would prefer to have a dispensing machine in both buildings. Folk in the other building may well say the same of the bar, reception and restaurant.
The rooms ARE small and the en-suites only just big enough to allow all of the facilities to fit but ours was spotlessly cleaned each day and completely adequate.
Breakfast was not included in the deal I got but was available @ 18 Euros each.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yambatrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Stayed at Hotel Glo Art for 6 days - it was a business trip - so the company paid all my expenses.
The Hotel tariff was around 600 Euros for 5 days and this included breakfast too.

The check-in process was easy and I got the access card in less than 5 minutes. The ladies at the reception will greet with you with a smile every time.
I was informed that the room might appear small and I have an option to upgrade to a bigger room by paying extra.
So, the first thing I noticed after opening the door of the room was - it was really small. The room is perhaps bigger than the rooms @ Hotel Rica in Stockholm, but since the Glo Art has a double bed it appears really small.
To get some perspective, the distance between the double bed side where you place your feet and the wall is just enough for you to walk across. But you will still scrape the bed in doing so and that is even if you are very slim in physique.
The good parts:
1. Very good bed which can be raised up using a remote (wow).
2. Laptop pillow which is very useful
3. A safe to keep your valuables.
4. Compact bathroom and toilet
5. Lights in the room (lot of options e.g. under the bed, side table, behind the pillow reading lamps etc.
I had a decent view of the road side 24x7 gym from my window to keep me some company.
6. The Hotel has a castle like building (some student center in the earlier days) and that part is really magnificent. The meeting rooms are also very good and take you back to the olden days.

7. Food: Lot of options for breakfast which is served between 7 and 10 AM. There is nothing missing there. I had lunch on three days and everytime the food was good. For a vegetarian, this is a bonus. 10/10 from my side here as well.
8. Location: This hotel is around 600 m away from Kammpi and perhaps the same distance from Stockmann. Lot of options to eat.


The not so good parts:
1. Real estate is a premium. Although this was a double room, I would not recommend this even for a couple. There is hardly any space to walk or keep your luggage.
For the same money Scandic Continental is much bigger.

2. Very slow Internet connection - wifi in room
256 kbps - in Helsinki city is atrociously slow. They have a 2 Mbps plan too, but they charge around 2 pounds for the same. Also note that wifi coverage is a little poor at the rooms facing the road (towards the 24x7 gym).


3. Nothing worth watching on TV.
Perhaps there are 10-15 channels, out of which there are around 3-4 which are full time English channels (BBC/ CNN/ Discovery/ Travel and maybe a couple more).
Everything else is at extra charge. I kept the TV off for 3 out of my 5 days since there is no movie channel included even at this price.
Disappointed with the offering in the Entertainment section. 20 Euros per 24 hours extra would enable all entertainment channels and movies, but I did not see it worth the money.


The Hotel rooms are as clean as you can expect in Helsinki - perhaps 10/10 on that one.

Room Tip: Choose a big one by paying more. The small ones are not recommended at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunil V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I stayed in this Hotel for one night with a large group.

We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. They gave good directions whenever we needed them and were very willing to help.

The rooms were very smart, clean and the showers were brilliant! I had a good nights sleep and the 12pm checkout allowed ample time for recovery!

We didn't take the breakfast there so can't comment.

I wouldn't hesitate to use the hotel again, in fact I hope to take my good lady there in the summer!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sidneysideboard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Booked a smart room, but paid for an upgrade as soon as I saw the room. It would be ok for one adult on a budget but there is no storage in this room if you are staying for a few days. The standard room was better I'd still small. Very clean and pristine, but still a lack of storage. Bathroom a little 'open' for my liking. You and your partner need to be very comfortable with each other, if you know what I mean! However the shower was outstanding. Never wanted to get out of the morning shower! Breakfast was good and the hotel very nice and quiet. 5-10 min walk from the city.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scott s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

I have booked a room with breakfast included. The hotel is huge and its front building looks like a Medieval castle. The reception is quite dark but receptionists were kind. The room had design furniture and many design lights; curtains are sunlight-proof. Unfortunately there was no wardrobe so I had to keep my stuff in my luggage. The bathroom was large and had heated floor: I loved it! The shower was super, with a transparent wall. The only thing is that the bathroom was a bit dark.
I think breakfast was very good. Cereals and fruits were fresh; croissants very buttery and freshly baked. There were also some good yoghurt and some chocolate eggs, as it was Easter time. Jam range was wide. I mainly had sweet food, but there were also miso soups, sausages, fish, cheese and good bread, and juices, tea and coffee.

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Fraintesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
Klaus K Hotel
#15 of 63 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampinmalmi
Hotel Indigo Helsinki - Boulevard
Hotel F6
#1 of 63 in Helsinki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Hotel Lilla Roberts
#3 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GLO Hotel Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GLO Hotel Art

Property: GLO Hotel Art
Address: Loennrotinkatu 29, Helsinki 00180, Finland (Formerly Hotel Linna)
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#13 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#13 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#18 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — GLO Hotel Art 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GLO Hotel Art is an exclusive, charming lifestyle hotel built around a century-old Art Nouveau castle in the centre of Helsinki. A unique hotel has excellent meeting facilities. Surrounded by the vivid Design District, you can enjoy lunch in one of the areas cosy cafes, dine in one of the top restaurants in the area or take a stroll to the city center. Whether you are travelling for business or pleasure, you will definitely enjoy your stay here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your GLO Hotel Art reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linna Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing