We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A castle right at the city center” 4 of 5 stars
Review of GLO Hotel Art

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
GLO Hotel Art
Ranked #15 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Pune
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A castle right at the city center”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Stayed at Hotel Glo Art for 6 days - it was a business trip - so the company paid all my expenses.
The Hotel tariff was around 600 Euros for 5 days and this included breakfast too.

The check-in process was easy and I got the access card in less than 5 minutes. The ladies at the reception will greet with you with a smile every time.
I was informed that the room might appear small and I have an option to upgrade to a bigger room by paying extra.
So, the first thing I noticed after opening the door of the room was - it was really small. The room is perhaps bigger than the rooms @ Hotel Rica in Stockholm, but since the Glo Art has a double bed it appears really small.
To get some perspective, the distance between the double bed side where you place your feet and the wall is just enough for you to walk across. But you will still scrape the bed in doing so and that is even if you are very slim in physique.
The good parts:
1. Very good bed which can be raised up using a remote (wow).
2. Laptop pillow which is very useful
3. A safe to keep your valuables.
4. Compact bathroom and toilet
5. Lights in the room (lot of options e.g. under the bed, side table, behind the pillow reading lamps etc.
I had a decent view of the road side 24x7 gym from my window to keep me some company.
6. The Hotel has a castle like building (some student center in the earlier days) and that part is really magnificent. The meeting rooms are also very good and take you back to the olden days.

7. Food: Lot of options for breakfast which is served between 7 and 10 AM. There is nothing missing there. I had lunch on three days and everytime the food was good. For a vegetarian, this is a bonus. 10/10 from my side here as well.
8. Location: This hotel is around 600 m away from Kammpi and perhaps the same distance from Stockmann. Lot of options to eat.


The not so good parts:
1. Real estate is a premium. Although this was a double room, I would not recommend this even for a couple. There is hardly any space to walk or keep your luggage.
For the same money Scandic Continental is much bigger.

2. Very slow Internet connection - wifi in room
256 kbps - in Helsinki city is atrociously slow. They have a 2 Mbps plan too, but they charge around 2 pounds for the same. Also note that wifi coverage is a little poor at the rooms facing the road (towards the 24x7 gym).


3. Nothing worth watching on TV.
Perhaps there are 10-15 channels, out of which there are around 3-4 which are full time English channels (BBC/ CNN/ Discovery/ Travel and maybe a couple more).
Everything else is at extra charge. I kept the TV off for 3 out of my 5 days since there is no movie channel included even at this price.
Disappointed with the offering in the Entertainment section. 20 Euros per 24 hours extra would enable all entertainment channels and movies, but I did not see it worth the money.


The Hotel rooms are as clean as you can expect in Helsinki - perhaps 10/10 on that one.

Room Tip: Choose a big one by paying more. The small ones are not recommended at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunil V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    443
    569
    181
    51
    20
See reviews for
141
542
118
225
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I stayed in this Hotel for one night with a large group.

We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. They gave good directions whenever we needed them and were very willing to help.

The rooms were very smart, clean and the showers were brilliant! I had a good nights sleep and the 12pm checkout allowed ample time for recovery!

We didn't take the breakfast there so can't comment.

I wouldn't hesitate to use the hotel again, in fact I hope to take my good lady there in the summer!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sidneysideboard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Booked a smart room, but paid for an upgrade as soon as I saw the room. It would be ok for one adult on a budget but there is no storage in this room if you are staying for a few days. The standard room was better I'd still small. Very clean and pristine, but still a lack of storage. Bathroom a little 'open' for my liking. You and your partner need to be very comfortable with each other, if you know what I mean! However the shower was outstanding. Never wanted to get out of the morning shower! Breakfast was good and the hotel very nice and quiet. 5-10 min walk from the city.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scott s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

I have booked a room with breakfast included. The hotel is huge and its front building looks like a Medieval castle. The reception is quite dark but receptionists were kind. The room had design furniture and many design lights; curtains are sunlight-proof. Unfortunately there was no wardrobe so I had to keep my stuff in my luggage. The bathroom was large and had heated floor: I loved it! The shower was super, with a transparent wall. The only thing is that the bathroom was a bit dark.
I think breakfast was very good. Cereals and fruits were fresh; croissants very buttery and freshly baked. There were also some good yoghurt and some chocolate eggs, as it was Easter time. Jam range was wide. I mainly had sweet food, but there were also miso soups, sausages, fish, cheese and good bread, and juices, tea and coffee.

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Fraintesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Original,modern,little but very confortable rooms, excellent breakfast, in 10 minutes on foot you're in the city centre!
People who work in the hotel are very friendly and give you every kinds of information

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mother Earth
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Really enjoyed staying at the hotel, It is about a 30 minute walk to the harbour but worth the trek. The hotel looks and feels like a castle, the breakfast is very good and I loved the biscuits they have at breakfast.

The rooms are modern, spacious and clean and the en suite is really nice and has a designer feel.The staff were always very friendly and helpful

Helsinki to Tallinn -

We used Linda Line hydrofoil and that costs 30 Euros. The journey takes 90 minutes and tickets can be bought online or at the harbour. Viking Line also run a regular, cheaper service toTallinn but it takes 3 hours.

Helsinki is not the prettiest city, it had the bravery to stand up to Russian Colonialism and did pay the price, the city was destroyed resulting in a very industrial looking european capital, though there are some stunning churches and the town square is great for people watching.

The open air food market at the harbour serves amazing fresh food and is a must (though watch out for the Seagulls).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank planetash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Fabian Hotel
#1 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 951 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Hotel Indigo Helsinki - Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Klaus K Hotel
#13 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 1,052 reviews
Scandic Paasi
#8 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 1,012 reviews
Vironniemi
Hotel Katajanokka
Hotel Katajanokka
#6 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GLO Hotel Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GLO Hotel Art

Property: GLO Hotel Art
Address: Loennrotinkatu 29, Helsinki 00180, Finland (Formerly Hotel Linna)
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#13 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#13 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#15 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — GLO Hotel Art 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GLO Hotel Art is an exclusive, charming lifestyle hotel built around a century-old Art Nouveau castle in the centre of Helsinki. A unique hotel has excellent meeting facilities. Surrounded by the vivid Design District, you can enjoy lunch in one of the areas cosy cafes, dine in one of the top restaurants in the area or take a stroll to the city center. Whether you are travelling for business or pleasure, you will definitely enjoy your stay here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your GLO Hotel Art reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linna Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing